We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Barcelona City
Ranked #175 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank ManxRedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
H5560GM, Guest Experience at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 3,697 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights and it couldn't have been better. It is perfectly located for the hop on hop off bus and also the Glories Shopping Mall, literally across the road for both. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was fantastic making it a great start to the day. I would suggest trying to get it included in your stay as I have heard it is quite expensive if not. It has a fab area for kids to play in the lobby so perfect for families as well. It is also well located for the metro system so a great all rounder. I picked this hotel as it was just a little way out of the tourist area but close enough to get to. We had no problems with noise and had a view of the Tower Agbar at night which is beautifully lit up. Try and get a room higher up as the views of the city are fabulous. We had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5560GM, Guest Experience Department at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Julie,

We are grateful for receiving your feedback regarding your stay.

It is always pleasant to know that your experience did meet your expectations and that our location have allowed you to sightsee around Barcelona.

It is true that in Novotel,your children are our special guest and for that we have the Children Corner, an special area created for them.

Furthermore, they can also enjoy the rooftop terrace& pool and the panoramic views over the city.

We thank you again for sharing your comments and we hope to welcome you in the near future.

Best regards,

Laura N

Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

First great impression when you go into the Lobby area which has a very distinct nice and fresh smell and helpful multilingual staff. Breakfast was great with a choice of both traditional English cooked or continental whilst hotel's restaurant has a very good service, great selection and decently priced. Rooms are very clean and Housekeeping staff really go the extra mile.

Small improvements are needed when it comes to lifts (should not need your room key card to operate it) which then sends you to different floors unnecessarily and creates an overall bottleneck when its peak time for morning check out or afternoon check in. Also - Wifi in the room was very poor quality and we constantly needed to switch to our Sim's Data Roaming service for 2 mobiles and our tablet. Its true that its free but I suspect that the bandwidth is too low for all the guests to share simultaneously. If you cant use it then no point in being free :) Pool, terrace and the bar on the 19th floor are all very clean and the kids enjoyed the facilities. Location is 2 mins walk to Metro making it very easy to get around. Shopping Complex right across the road was a bonus. Overall, A clean and pleasant experience

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5560GM, Guest Experience Department at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Joe,

We thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your visit.

We are glad to know that you have had a nice time in Barcelona and you and your family have enjoyed our facilities.
Otherwise, we are sorry to hear that you had some incidents during your stay about the lifts at peak time and with the WIFI. First of all, I would like to point out that we are a safe hotel. The need of using the key to access to a room floor is because only guests can get into the rooms to ensure the safety to our guests.

Refering to the WIFI, we thank you for telling us about this incident. I can assure you that our tecnhical service is taking steps in order to improve the quality of the WIFI service.

We appreciate your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Laura N

Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Karhulanantti
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
H5560GM, Guest Experience Department at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 July 2014

had a 2 night stay in this hotel and staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
room service food was not very good though as we had arrived too late for the restaurant.
Good open plan bar in lobby with a kids section that had plenty for my 2 year old to do.
There is also a good roof
Food in the restaurant was very good and not too expensive and staff could not do enough for us.
Hotel is close to main road for buses and also within walking distance of the Holy Family Cathedral and has a good shopping centre with plenty of different shops and cafes.
will definitely use this hotel again when I next visit the city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IanMacF1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5560GM, Guest Experience Department at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Ian,

We appreciate your comments regarding your visit.

It is pleasant to know that you have had a great time in Barcelona and your stay did meet your expectations.
We are glad to hear that you and your family have enjoyed from all services of the hotel and your children had fun in our Childre Corner.

Regarding the location, I agree with you talking about the easy way to get to the city center. It is true that our hotel is located close to the proximity to the metro, bus and tramway station and is in walking distance from Sagrada Familia and also from the beach.

We thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your family in your next visit.

Kind regards,

Laura N

Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is listed as a 4 star hotel, but that must be on paper. Have a pool and other facilities, but..... The elevator system is poor and you have to expect a long wait in the morning and afternoon. The breakfast was surved in a conferance room in the basement. Paper cups and low quality on the food. The pool area was nice and the top floor bar looked good. Only problem that both days we stayed here there was a private arrangement at the bar. How is this possible when there are only two bars at the hotel and the worldcup is on - big disapointment. Free wifi but the quality was poor..... Heavy road construction in the big roundbout made it very hard to actually drive to the hotel ( one way streets did not help) On the good side - clean rooms....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gjert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5560GM, Guest Experience Department at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Gjert,

We thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

We are sorry to hear that you have had some incidents in our hotel during your stay and I can assure you that we work day by day to provide the best quality service and hearing your comments it is a good way to improve our quality.

On the one hand, I can assure you that we have three elevators to be used by our guests but unfortunately, sometimes the guest must wait a long time due to the high occupancy, even if the elevators are working hard all day long.

Otherwise, We apologise for breakfast room but at summer season we serve our breakfast buffet there to reduce the waiting time to take breakfast. Our guests are in holiday and they can enjoy of having a relaxing buffet breakfast and tasting our offer of variety of mediterranean products, then we thought the best option was moving the breakfast service downstairs.

I can assure you that our team works hard , day by day, in order to solve all the incidences rapported by our guests. Because at Novotel Barcelona City, your satisfaction is the best reward to our staff.

Furthermore, we are deeply sorry for reading that you could not enjoy our rooftop bar&pool due to a private event. I can assure you that these kind of events are not usually held in our terrace , so our guests are able to enjoy it during their stay.

We thank you again for sharing your comments with us and we are looking forward to have the chance to welcome you again in the near future and bring you our best.

Yours sincerely,

Laura N

Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel in April 2014 for 5 nights. Staff was helpful and the language barrier was never an issue. We ate in the restaurant twice for dinner very well priced and good selection. The 19th floor bar is excellent and worth the trip in the lift. We were on the 18th floor so the trip was short. Room was clean and modern. Perfectly located to the Metro and a hop on hop off bus stop. The shopping centre is across the road if you want a snack or have forgotten something. If we return to Barcelona again (long way from Australia) we would stay there in a heart beat.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Darryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5560GM, Guest Experience Department at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Darryl,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our Novotel.

It is pleasant to know that your stay and your experience in our Claravía restaurant did meet your expectations.
We are glad to hear that our location have allowed you to sightseeing around Barcelona due to the proximity to the metro, bus and tramway stations and the Bus Turistic station, as well.

We hope to welcome you in the near future.

Best regards,

Laura N

Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#201 of 516 in Barcelona
3,108 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#89 of 516 in Barcelona
1,726 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 516 in Barcelona
4,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#100 of 516 in Barcelona
3,893 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#105 of 516 in Barcelona
3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Barcelona City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barcelona City

Address: Avenida Diagonal 201 | (entrada por calle Granada), 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#116 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#123 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £61 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barcelona City 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Barcelona City Hotel has 264 rooms (including 22 suites) and is located right in the heart of the city on Avenida Diagonal (one of the city's main streets), next to Plaza Glòries and 55 yards (50 m) from the Jean Nouvel Tower. The hotel features a Claravía restaurant, a bar, 6222 sq. ft (578 m2) of meeting rooms, an outdoor pool on the terrace with panoramic views of Barcelona and a fitness center. Easy access to the hotel via Ronda de Dalt and Ronda Litoral. (The swimming pool is open only from 1st June to 20th September 2011) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Barcelona City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barcelona City Hotel Barcelona
Novotel Barcelona City Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing