We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Barcelona City
Ranked #166 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing spot”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed 7 nights and with 4 adults and 4 kids - the hotel was more than we expected. A great room with all the amenities including a secure safe. Pool and bar on roof top was amazing as the views over Barca were just fab! Pleanty of space in the hotel and given airlines like Delta and Quatar Airlines it suggests they appreciate the value and facilities of the Novotel too. Security was good as you need a room card to access the lifts as well as rooms. Nearby the shopping and bars were terrific. Transport via the tram and underground are right there... a cab to the Olympic port around €6. We loved the Novotel and the area and will definitely try and stay again. I say try as I suspect their success will soon produce a fully booked status.

Room Tip: Corner of building rooms have dual aspect windows so quite bright - rooms have air con and automatic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5560GM, Guest Experience at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Neil,

It is always a pleasure to receive possitive feedback from our guests.
It is a present for us to see how our guests enjoy our views from the terrace on the 19th floor, which are incredible at night, when the Agbar tower is iluminated.

About the public trasnport it is true that there are many possibilities near the hotel to get to the most touristic places of Barcelona.

We will be waiting to welcome you back again at the Novotel Barcelona City.

Yours faithfully,

Xabier H

Guest Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,335
    1,696
    351
    89
    50
See reviews for
1,800
775
151
390
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed for one night before our Disney cruise. Location is very good - just a few mins walk to a shopping mall that also has a carefour so you can get some water and drinks for your room without paying the hotel prices!
Check in was fine, room fine (floor 18) on first inspection. Went to pool - didn't realise it was a salt water pool.
After a walk to the mall and to have some dinner we retuned to the room wanting showers etc. No water! Waited a bit longer and still no water ( the taps on the bathroom sink made a lot of noise when we tried them). I called down and was told that it was a problem all across the city and we would just have to wait??
fortunately we had bought some bottles of water so I was able to use some of that to damp a flannel to give my daughter a bit of a wash and teeth clean before bed. We tried the taps / shower frequently until around 11pm, and then gave up, too tired. We could also not flush the toilet, so not pleasant as you can imagine.
The following morning still no water, still not able to flush the toilet. On the way to breakfast I overheard a reception member of staff talking to a guest saying that it was only a problem on the high floors and should be back on in 20 mins.
After breakfast a different member of reception staff was telling a different guest the water should be back on in 30 mins??
We couldn't wait to get out of there! We gathered our stuff together and checked out. I mentioned the problems to the receptionist who didn't seem overly concerned. Its a shame I has paid in advance, as I would have wanted a 50% reduction on the cost due to the problems we had.
I have emailed the hotel manager and await a reply.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5560GM, Guest Experience at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Dear Claire,
Thank you very much to share your comment with us in Tripadvisor.
As we had informed to all our guest we had a problem with the water on August. It is was a external problem fixed the day after. To fix the problem for future occurrences we had made some internal works.
We apologize for all the inconveniences caused and is our hope to give us a new opportunity to better serve and enjoy with the hotel.
Best Regards
Bárbara CRZ
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Novotel Barcelona City for 4 nights. The hotel is located just outside of the main city centre area, next to the Glories shopping centre. Don't let the location put you off. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the Glories subway station, from there you are only a few stops/10mins from the centre.
We had a family room for 4 and was perfect. Big double bed and sofa bed for the kids. The room had air con, stocked mini bar, safe, wifi access and complimentary bottles of water. It had a main bathroom that was huge, 2 large sinks, toilet, massive bath and large shower - all very modern and clean. As we stayed in a junior suite, we were also given a 4g modem to use in Barcelona. I have to say this was incredibly useful, it saved money and was very speedy (Barcelona is a 4g city). We had breakfast included in the cost of our stay. For convenience we decided to take breakfast in the hotel every day. The hotel has a large breakfast room, never had a problem finding a table and the selection of food was good - pretty much everything you would expect to find on a cooked and continental breakfast menu. The roof top pool and bar is a nice bonus to cool down after a hot day sightseeing. The bar is a bit pricey, but hey, the view was great!
If I go to Barcelona again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again - well worth it!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5560GM, Guest Experience at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Dear Jason,

Warm greetings from Barcelona!

We are really pleased by reading that you and your family enjoyed your stay. For us it is very important to offer the best hotel experience, so that is why we are really happy about your comments regarding our rooms and facilities.

Regarding the breakfast, in Novotel Barcelona City we strive to provide the best fresh and healthy Mediterranean food, so thank you one more time for your comments about our breakfast.

We hope to welcome you again in Novotel Barcelona City soon.
Kind regards,
José Carlos Rubio
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just back from a lovely trip to Barcelona, this hotel is right by Glories shopping centre and metro so very handy, a couple of stops from placa catalunya. Top terrace and pool has a magnificent view of sagrada familia and barcelona skyline. We stayed in a junior suite and well worth the money as got coffee, water and chocolate to make stay extra special, as dividing door to make one room into two, very handy with two kids in tow. All in all great family hotel, restaurant is worth trying too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nuala_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5560GM, Guest Experience at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Dear Nuala,

Warm greetings from Barcelona!

First of all I would like to thank you for chosing Novotel Barcelona City for your last stay in the city.

We really appreciate your comments regarding the location, the terrace and the extra services that we offer to our Suites' guests. This kind of comments help us to continue offering the best hotel experience to our guests.

Thank you very much and we hope to welcome you again at Novotel Barcelona City soon.

Kindly yours,
José Carlos Rubio
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We are a family with 2 kids aged 14 and 11 shade for 3 nights.
For: good breakfasts, don't understand reviews about poor choice/quality there is plenty of choice. There is a sign in lifts saying when breakfast is busiest we avoided that and it was fine, no queues. Nice pool and great views, good location close to metro. We had no problem with wifi. No noise at night

Against: sofa bed quite small for 2 bigger kids to share, size of a small double bed. Pool quite cold

We had a meal on rooftop (BBQ) service was very slow but food lovely, to be fair hotel without me asking did not charge for all the meals to compensate, the magic fountains at night were a high light, the tapas restaurant in centre across the road decent food and reasonable. Buy tickets of 10 on the metro much cheaper. The cable car down to the port is a bit scary, you have to pay by cash.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5560GM, Guest Experience at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Dear Clive,

Warm greetings from Barcelona!

First of all thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast, making our guests happy with our fresh mediterranean selection of food is very important for us.

Regarding the sofa bed we do apologise for the inconveniences we may cause to your children. Please we sure we will take this into consideration for futur stays.

During the summer period our terrace has a a lot of guests influx due to the nice weather, so that it is why you may experienced a slow service. We are working on this in order to avoid these problems.

Thank you one last time for telling us your experience at Novotel Barcelona City. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
José Carlos Rubio
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#185 of 512 in Barcelona
2,833 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 512 in Barcelona
3,878 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#188 of 512 in Barcelona
2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Barcelona Cornella
#3 of 4 in Cornella de Llobregat
1,131 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#13 of 512 in Barcelona
1,076 reviews
Poblenou
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
#92 of 512 in Barcelona
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Barcelona City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barcelona City

Property: Novotel Barcelona City
Address: Avenida Diagonal 201 | (entrada por calle Granada), 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#116 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#122 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barcelona City 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Barcelona City Hotel has 264 rooms (including 22 suites) and is located right in the heart of the city on Avenida Diagonal (one of the city's main streets), next to Plaza Glòries and 55 yards (50 m) from the Jean Nouvel Tower. The hotel features a Claravía restaurant, a bar, 6222 sq. ft (578 m2) of meeting rooms, an outdoor pool on the terrace with panoramic views of Barcelona and a fitness center. Easy access to the hotel via Ronda de Dalt and Ronda Litoral. (The swimming pool is open only from 1st June to 20th September 2011) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Agoda, Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Barcelona City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barcelona City Hotel Barcelona
Novotel Barcelona City Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing