We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull”
Review of Masia Mas Xipres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Masia Mas Xipres
Ranked #66 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Dear Henny,Hetty,Marloes and Bart,
Thanks again for a realy great time.
The food and wine were very good.
We enjoy the swimmingpool.
You are realy nice people with a fine place to relax.
We are coming back.

Thijs, Gisela , Karin

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ducaatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

We recently had our wedding of about 60 people at Mas Xipres and had an absolutely brilliant time. From the planning stage through to the goodbyes, Hendrik and Hetty were very kind and flexible providing a great host service. The venue itself is beautiful and provides a great natural setting in the countryside; perfect for photos. All the tapas and other dishes were very well prepared and our guests loved the food, as well as the drinks that were constantly topped up by the very helpful wait staff.

We also had a breakfast buffet the day following the wedding which was a huge hit with all our friends and family who dug into more great food and sunbathed by the pool.

All in all, a perfect venue with great hosts to match. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisA1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Mas Xipres is an amazing slice of calm after the hustle and bustle of Barcelona. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone who wishes to take a couple of days to recharge. Hetty and Hendrik are wonderful hosts and excellent cooks, should you choose to eat at the masia for dinner (there is not much else around, so eating there is advisable unless you plan to be in Villafranca, Sitges or another larger centre for dinner). While it may first appear that there is not much around, you will have no difficulties at all filling your days - just ask Hetty or Hendrik if you need any ideas.

Just a couple of points of note:

1. Your GPS will NOT be able to locate Mas Xipres, and will struggle with a lot of the locations around Mas Xipres. A lot of the roads are either new, or are dirt roads that are not recognised. Make sure you plan your route well and bring an old fashioned paper map to cross check against your GPS. What we ultimately discovered is that if you set your GPS (we had a TomTom) to the town centre of Sant Pere Sacarerra, it will take you to El Pati Bakery & Pastisserie (which is well worth a visit itself). Turn right HERE down the dirt road; you will go past a school on the right and the driveway to Mas Xipres is on the left.

2. For rainbow travellers: Hetty and Hendrik lived in Sitges for 2 years and so we have no doubt that they are rainbow friendly. While I booked for 'my partner and I', we had twin beds made up. Unless your partner steals the duvet and you would like to sleep in twin beds, make sure you are clear that you would like to book a double.

Room Tip: The studio room is around the back next to the chapel so does not have anyone passing by if you woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K8ieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We had our wedding here in August, staying for a few nights and having the ceremony and celebration on site. The surroundings were perfect, the food was delicious and the staff extremely accommodating and friendly. They couldn't do enough to help and make everything perfect. The results were wonderful, a day which we and all our family and friends enjoyed thoroughly. The place is perfect for a wedding or a weekend getaway which we have also enjoyed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmb16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Given the relatively high prices, the nice pictures on the website and the positive Tripadvisor evaluation, we expected a high quality B&B. What a disappointment! The garden is not maintained, the outdoor furniture needs to be replaced, there is no adequate driveway and parking (unless you come with a SUV) and the confort of guest rooms is unsufficient in many respects (the flushing in the toilets is too weak, guests have not the ability to lock their own room, the Wifi does not work, the wardrobe is too small when you are with children).
The breakfast is continental (eggs, cheese, ...) but surprisingly the hosts do not offer two standards products, which are also typical of the region: honey (never) and fruits (sometimes).
A couple of positive points: the hosts are friendly, the box springs and the pillows are in very good condition and the swimming pool is large and deep.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christophe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasXipres, Owner at Masia Mas Xipres, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Christophe,

We regret that you have been dissapointed. We always like to improve and were a bit surprised by your review.
After a very dry period of more than 9 weeks the garden doesn’t look very fresh. The outdoor furniture is a collection of ‘brocante’ like the antic style of the old farmhouse.
There are many possibilities to park in front of the property.
When people mention that there is a problem with a toilet we directly fix this.
The guest rooms outside can be locked, inside the house you can lock these from inside.
Wifi is working perfectly!

Thank you for your advice to place an extra wardrobe in the suite for the children. Also for the tip to offer honey to our extensive breakfast (different kinds of ; breads, cheeses, meats, cereals, yoghurts, marmelades, chocolat spread, etc.) .

We feel sorry that you didn’t mentioned these things during your stay dispite the fact we are always asking if everything is ok. Also after sending you an email you didn’t respond again.

You are always welcome at Mas Xipres.

Kind Regards,

Hetty and Hendrik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We had a fabulous stay at Mas Xipres in May. We stayed for 3 nights in one of the two suites. We arrived to a glass of Cava and some snacks on the terrace, before heading out to explore Sitges for the evening (a very short drive away). We spent the next day relaxing by the pool enjoying the stunning views. The remaining two evenings we stayed at Mas Xipres for dinner - prepared by Hetty. On both nights the meals were wonderful and the Cava flowing... There was simply no reason to go out! The bar area/cellar would be really fun if there was a group of you, and the chapel is so pretty for those considering a wedding. We would recommend this place for those seeking to relax in the wine region for a few days. Hetty and Hendrik are fantastic hosts and we would definitely return if we were heading back to Spain.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlefols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My and my husband had our wedding att Mas Xipres july 19. We were a company of 25 persons.
Hendrik and Hetty and their doughter were very helpful!
A beautiful place with a lovely pool. And the rooms are lovely and cosy.
They are super service minded. We can strongly recommend people to get married at this place.
And of course to stay there..

Room Tip: -All rooms are beautiful. Especially the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kladdkakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel The Serras
Hotel The Serras
#5 of 516 in Barcelona
876 reviews
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 736 in Barcelona
1,601 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#124 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#69 of 736 in Barcelona
1,182 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#100 of 516 in Barcelona
3,893 reviews
Barcelona City North
#205 of 308 in Barcelona
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masia Mas Xipres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masia Mas Xipres

Address: Mediona, Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £70 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful 200 years old, completely renovated former vineyard mansion Mas Xipres is situated at the heart of the Penedes wine region in Barcelona. Rental of luxurious rooms and suites with delicious breakfast and possibility of menu. Large swimming pool and gardens with stunning views. Natural quiet area near some villages. Barcelona airport and downtown in 45 minutes, beaches of Sitges 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Masia Mas Xipres Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing