We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish and Chips - CLOSED

Fish and Chips
Cuisines: British, Seafood, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Takeout
Neighbourhood: El Raval
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Found this little place and it's absolutely great! Had the full English one time, cooked by a friendly English guy, and next time had the homemade steak and kidney pie which was fantastic. The lady who cooked it who I assume is one if the owners was nice and the place has a really nice English caff feel to it, people dropping in and out and chatting.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cymro7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Had wonderful fish and chips in this tiny cafe, also had live music which we all sang along to.....what a wonderful evening with the 2 gorgeous Julies..........brilliant place girls, great food.......will be back to see you on my next trip to Barcelona......

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank peet_ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely full english breckie!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

I really can't understand the bad reviews of this place. I saw them before we visited, but my girlfriend and I were craving a full english, and it was literally across the road from the Baracelo Raval hotel where we were staying so we ignored the bad reviews, and decided to give it a go.

We're so glad we did, as it was a fantastic breakfast! An English lady (I presume the owner) served us, and we had proper bacon, sausage, egg, toast, beans, mushrooms, tomatoes, and coffee for about 7 euros each. And it was delicious - better than many breakfasts I've had in the UK. I can't believe the bad reviews - I'm very fussy, and trust me if it had been below par I'd have given it a harsh review (read my other reviews if you don't believe me). But this was soooo tasty, and the bacon and sausages were clearly imported from the UK.

So if you want the full monty - give this place a go. Just look for the cute "Fat Cat" statue on Ramblas Raval... You won't be dissapointed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Colz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst chips I've EVER had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Went there with my mum and 4 of her friends (all British) who had said good things about it and were all repeat customers. We all ordered the same, small fish and chips with mushy peas. The fish was fine and the mushy peas were good, but the chips were inedible! They were oily and hard, really disgusting, most of us left ours. We should have said something right away, but the waiter was across the road in the restaurant while we were on the terrace and no one checked if everything was ok. At the end of the meal, we told the waiter about the chips and the very honest young man said the chef had cooked too many the night before so he had just heated them up and served them to us! We were speechless! A 5 kg bag of potatoes is 1.19€ here! Absolutely appalling! I will never go back (even though they did give us a .60 cent discount each) and I doubt any of the ladies I was with today who were faithful customers will do so either as in Barcelona you are spoilt for choice. A real shame as I believe when this place opened it was a real success. Yuk!

Helpful?
1 Thank HRS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“UK Fish and Chips in Barcelona?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

UK Fish and Chips. Not bad. It's only slightly exoctic since it's hard to find UK styled fish and chips in Barcelona. They also have meat pies. The place is kind of a dump though. They could make it nicer inside. Durring warm weather they have a terrace outside. Near the Cat by Botero

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank andajari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish and Chips also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing