We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cycling and Cava in Penedes”
Review of El Moli Tours

El Moli Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$51.26*
and up
Vilafranca del Penedès Wine and Culture Capital Half Day Tour
Ranked #187 of 549 Tours in Barcelona
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Paddy Mannion, wine writer and local curator welcomes you to the beautiful wine country of Penedes, Barcelona. The oldest, largest and most innovative wine region of Spain "If there are two roads, you will be on the less traveled if you come to Penedes and taste the way of life of this ancient wine country, you will fall in love and always return" Contact Paddy and El Moli Tours for exclusive luxury Gran Reserva Private tours and small group Wine Food Cava & Culture Tours and Bike tours
Drobak, Norway
1 review
“Cycling and Cava in Penedes”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We hired a couple of bikes from Paddy and headed off in the beautiful landscape. Paddy was very helpful, knowledgeable and funny. We had 2 amazing cava tastings and one tasty lunch together with Paddy. So much fun.
Kind Regards M&T

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank minkatinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaddyMannion, Owner at El Moli Tours, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Hi again, hey, thanks a million for your review. I enjoy making Penedes wine country near Barcelona more accessible to all visitors, some like to DIY and others prefer a guide. It's great to hear you enjoyed yourself enough to write a review. many thanks and come back to Barcelona again soon, Cheers and all the best, Paddy Mannion, El Moli Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    8
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cycling in the Penedes”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We hired a couple of bikes from Paddy for the self-guided tour. Paddy was very helpful and drove us up to his premises in Torelles de Foix which also showed us our cycling route. Although we were just hiring the bikes, Paddy was really informative, giving us loads of local tips from where to eat (we had a great lunch in a restaurant he recommended) to where to watch the famous Castellers of Villafranca. If you enjoy cycling, sunshine, beautiful countryside and wine I would highly recommend El Moli bike tours.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aisling M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“The Best Day”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Two non-spanish speakers took a train from busy Barcelona station, followed the directions from our home travel agent, and somehow managed to at rush hour morning get on the right train going in the right direction, to the Penedes region. Once on the train, and out of Barcelona, we relaxed as the weather cleared up and enjoyed the scenery.

Paddy Mannion was waiting right where he said he would be--after greetings, we got into his capacious Mercedes van (a shame that such models are not available in north america). As it was only the two of us and Paddy, it was a relaxed and informal day but even if there had been others I bet Paddy would have had us all long-lost friends very quickly. He sure put us at our ease fast enough.

First stop was at the atelier of a choclatier, a place we would have never found on our own, in the small city. Paddy knows, seemingly, half the town, and we were well greeted by the owner of this place as we watched the workers in the back making the delicious chocolate. We bought a few small boxes for those at home watching the cat, etc.

Next, out to the country-side and enjoying the drive until we came to the first winery, where cava is produced. This is a small winery, where production is not automated, but as the owner explained (and Paddy translated) the work is done by hand. While direct communication was not possible, after a most informative tour by the owner we all understood each other very well. He is a man proud of his work and his surroundings, as well he should be. The tasting of the cava was a delight--I can think of few better ways to spend a Thursday morning, and it sure beats being in the office!

Following our taking our leave of this interesting vinyard built on old roman ruins, it was around 12:30. After a bit more touring and explaining by Paddy we dropped into a place for lunch. As we were early, the owner kindly offered us some snacks and we started on some wine. Eventually we ate (Paddy ordered) family style, a most delicious luncheon in a lovely establishment. After rolling out of there, we headed to a different winery, one that also makes cava but in a more automated fashion. The tour here was more polished, by a professional guide who explained the production process in a most interesting way--it was nice to have two approaches, the modern and the old fashioned method, to contrast and compare.

After the tasting, and a little more sight-seeing and explanations by Paddy, he took us to the train station and ensured we were safely on board for our return to Barcelona--the train is a fast one hour each way. As we had forgotten our camera that day, Paddy kindly emailed us some pictures of our day, which will be a great keepsake.

All in all, this was one of our best days on any tour. It was simple, interesting and informative, fun and delicious. We highly recommend Paddy, who offers a varietyof tours in Penedes and in Barcelona. We would definitely use him again if back in that part of the world, as we hope to be one day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Onttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cycling and Wine in Penedes with Paddy.”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

What a day! From our initial meeting through the cycling, the wine tasting, the lunch, I can honestly say it was a pleasure and a privilege. A pleasure because of the leisurely cycling through the beautiful working countryside, the wine tasting and wine education, the two hour Catalonia lunch, the historic insights to the region and it's people. A privilege because to the access afforded to real people. People at their work; proud, comfortable, relaxed and giving. The pleasure and privilege were made possible by a competent, capable, generous guide.
Time is precious. If you want to make the most of your free time get a guide. And, based on my experience, I think you will struggle to get a better one than Paddy Mannion.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful day trip from Barcelona - great guide in a beautiful region!!”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

My friend and I took a tour with Paddy this November while we were visiting Barcelona, and honestly couldn't have been more impressed and pleased with the experience. Paddy immediately made us feel at home in the beautiful Penedes, and shared his wealth of knowledge about the area - and the wine and food produced there - with us without launching into standard tour guide-style lectures. He clearly has a love for the region and the people, and was able to offer us a truly unique experience given his relationships with people in the area, and customized based on our interests. It was a perfect day trip from Barcelona (the train out there is very convenient from BCN). Great wine, great food, and a great guide with fascinating conversation - we couldn't have asked for more!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mkt3197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Moli Tours also viewed

Sant Sadurni d'Anoia, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Sant Sadurni d'Anoia, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to El Moli Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing