We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design hotel in central Barcelona”
Review of Room Mate Emma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Room Mate Emma
Ranked #80 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
171 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Design hotel in central Barcelona”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Overall a nice solution to stay in Barcelona. In few words: centrally located, reasonable prices, beautiful rooms. Next to Paseo de Gracia is ideally positioned in one the most beautiful area of the city, few steps from La Rambla and from the shopping area. Metro and train station are just nearby. Rooms are ok, nice design and large enough to spend some times in without any problem. Stylish bath area with separate cabinet for wc and large built-in shower cabin. Breakfast is good even if selection can be wider. Free wifi (almost a must in Spain).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merengue70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank the comments you made about their stay at Hotel Room Mate EMMA.

The whole team is very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Do not hesitate to contact me If you decide to return to Barcelona.

Best regards.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate EMMA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    475
    88
    18
    10
See reviews for
137
703
63
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Absolutely loved this hotel, the service was more than top rate, the location is perfect - short walk from the centre but quieter than being right in the middle. The interior and features are unique and well done and there is great attention to detail in every aspect of this hotel. The maid was great, lovely clean room, fresh and Toiletries replenished when empty.

The only one issue we had was noisy neighbours with a noisy cb radio - although this cannot be helped the walls are not particularly thick and there was an interconnecting sliding door between presumably two thin sheets of plasterboard allowing the sound to travel through with ease. We initially thought the volume was purely down to the thinness of the wall, but after a knock on the wall they quietened down and from then on with new people next door we didn't hear a peep for the remaining nights. So basically, it's only loud if there is loud people next door!

Initially we thought this we be the only thing stopping us from staying here again, but by the end of our stay we had decided that actually every other aspect of this lovely little hotel much overwhelms the chance of such noisy neighbours and YES we would definitely stay here again and recommend to everyone.

There are nice bars and restaurants around however one to REALLY note - Nellos hamburger bar further down the same road (turn left out the hotel and go straight across two crossroads and it's on the left) It may seem like a waste eating hamburger in a country full of lovely local dishes, but it was honestly the BEST burger we have EVER eaten, in a lovely laid back environment.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Remy,

Thank you very much by the time he intended to write your experience at our hotel Room Mate EMMA.

On behalf of the entire team, we want to apologize again for the noise from the neighbors on his first night and will try to do the best for fixing it.

We greatly appreciate your confidence in us and in our service and we hope to see you again soon back at Room Mate EMMA.

Many memories from the whole team.

Sincerely.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate EMMA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elverum, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I stayed for one night and was very pleased.
Location is good and the staff very friendly and helpful.
The room was not too big but the planning and design was so nice that it does not matter.
The bathroom was just fine and big enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arne500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Guest.

I would like to thank the comments you made about their stay at Hotel Room Mate EMMA. The whole team is very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you so much for your recommendation.

Do not hesitate to contact me if you return to come back Barcelona.

Best regards.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
240 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Young, warm, enthusiastic staff, which has been characteristic in our experince with this Hotel company. Everything looks good and feels good. Good "Wee Fee (Wi-Fi)" service.
Decor is always unique, a visual experience from many angles. Attention to details, such as the Granny Smith apples in the lobby, and the presentation of the food at the breakfast Buffet is obviously carefully arranged in an aesthetically pleasant way. Classy, elegant, yet comfortable and never pretentious.

Room Tip: Th restaurant right next door "Cercle de Amices" (unaffiliated with the Hotel) is excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docntx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank the comments you made about their stay at Hotel Room Mate EMMA.

The whole team is very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Do not hesitate to contact me, whether you decide to return to Barcelona.

Best regards.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate EMMA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel a few days in April 2012, and can only confirm the positive reviews on this site. The hotel location is excellent. The Passeig de Gràcia, hosting some very interesting buildings from Gaudi and others and also a nice shopping street, is just a block away, as are the Avinguda Diagonal, Plaça de Catalunya and the Ramblas. The metro station Diagonal is nearby (when coming from line 3 or line 5, follow the signs in direction of the FGC station (line 6/7), which brings you to the Provença FCG station through some moving walkways and take the exit Balmes: it's just next to the hotel.

The original hotel design is very nice. Rooms are very clean and tasteful and the bathrooms are very nice. Every room is equipped with a safe. The free wifi is working reliably in the rooms and every room also has an Internet radio receiver which you can use to listen to radio stations from your home country. It's a nice gadget for this kind of hotel. Also, unlike many other hotels, every room has lots of power sockets for all the gadgets you might already be bringing from home. The breakfast also corresponded with our expectations.

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. They have compiled their own list of interesting things to see and do in the city, together with hints about how to get there with public transports, and it also contains restaurant recommendations. Very helpful!

As some people already wrote, you can hear metro/train arriving in your room. However I want to say that this is not disturbing at all. It definitely did not prevent us from sleeping. Not all rooms have an exterior window, but this is also something which we did not consider a problem at alll. If you want a nice view, you'd better get out of your room to enjoy the nice city of Barcelona anyway!

So we were very happy with our stay here, and would definitely come back here and recommend it to others, especially if you want to try something different than the common, standard hotel design.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrederikHimpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Mr. Himpe,

On behalf of the entire team of Room Mate EMMA, I want to convey our sincere thanks for taking your time and explain to all readers of Tripadvisor your expertise in Room Mate EMMA during your stay in Barcelona.

These assessments help us to know that our daily efforts in each of ours departments they are reflected in customer satisfaction and above all help us to continue in improvements to offer all our customers the best experience in their stays in Room Mate EMMA.

If you return back to Barcelona, please do not hesitate to contact us again.

Regards.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate EMMA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This place is a great balance of stylish interiors and friendly, unpretentious service. The whole place is quite pared back and there's good natured-ness in lots of small details that I'll leave for you to discover. It's in a great area of town that's easily accessible on foot or by public transport. Central enough to walk everywhere. Lots of bars and good restaurants close by but never noisy or dodgy at night. Staff that go out of their way to be friendly, helpful and fun to talk to. Free wifi, reasonable price for breakfast, big beds and ok-sized rooms; what more can you ask?

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mf2hd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Customer,

On behalf of the entire team ROOM MATE EMMA, we want to say thank you for your comments about your stay at our hotel.

It is a pleasure for the whole team that our daily work is reflected in making our guests to enjoy a pleasant stay in ROOM MATE EMMA.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in again, if you want to return to Barcelona.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag, Nederland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Staying in hotel Room Mate Emma was a great experience. We were staying in the Suite Atico Deluxe, room 802. Small, clean, modern hotel with great facilities. The staff was very friendly and they paid attention to all details; three minutes after our arrival, one of the receptionists called to our room to check if everything was all right. Also, special attention was paid to the reason of our visit, which made us feel very welcome. One point of attention: our terrace and the terrace of the adjacent room were only separated by several plants, so not too much privacy outside.
Furthermore: fast internet, soft sheets, perfect mattress, loved the music system that makes you select your mood (although it stopped functioning the day after our arrival). And last but not least: great location!

Thank you for your effort!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimvh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Ms. Van Haalen,

I would like to thank the comments you made about their stay at Hotel Room Mate EMMA. The whole team is very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your recommendation.

Do not hesitate to contact me if you return to come back Barcelona.

Best regards.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate EMMA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#69 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#61 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#28 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#45 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,005 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#67 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Emma

Property: Room Mate Emma
Address: Carrer Rossello 205 | Eixample, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#115 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Emma 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Emma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Emma Hotel Barcelona
Room Mate Emma Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing