We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Loved it! Loved it!”
Review of Room Mate Emma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Room Mate Emma
Ranked #75 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it! Loved it! Loved it!”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Amazingly friendly staff, particularly Oscar and Georgina. (Ever been to a hotel where EVERY staff member greets you with a genuine smile and "hello"?) Excellent, quiet, and safe location within 2 blocks of two metro stations and several great and reasonably priced restaurants and just 5 minutes or so from Casa Mila and main shopping streets. Small but comfortable rooms with tremendous bathroom, including spacious walk-in shower and glorious water pressure. Nice breakfast buffet served until noon. Great value for a reasonable price. The only negative--a squeaky door hinge--was quickly turned into a positive when Oscar personally brought up a bottle of olive oil to fix it because the janitor was off duty. See what I mean about service? DON'T MISS THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: No difference between standard rooms because all have interior views. If you need a window view, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Peggy,

As Room Mate EMMA Acommodation Manager and on behalf of the entire team I would like to express our sincere thanks for the beautiful words you dedicated to our team's work.

The whole team ( specially Oscar who is really happy you mentioned him and you appreciatted his work) is really happy to know that our daily work has helped providing you a memorable stay in Barcelona. This keep us continuing in improvements to offer to our customers the best experience during their stay in Room Mate EMMA.

If you decide to come back to Barcelona, please do not hesitate to contact us again. It will be a pleasure for all of us to welcome you back at EMMA.

Kind Regards,
Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    477
    88
    18
    10
See reviews for
140
706
65
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Is a brand new hotel in the middle of the city centre of Barcelona. The location is great and the rooms are really confortable. In the beginning we were concern that could be a bit noisy but the room have a perfect noise isolation and you cannot hear anything outside!!
We were in a standard executive room and despite the room in a bit small, is very confortable. The shower was the best thing of the room!!

The staff was great, particularly one of the waitress during the breakfast. We told her that one of us was celiac and she brought us all gluten free food that she found in the kitchen. The terrace where you have breakfast is amazing.

I would strongly recommend this hotel if you want to spend a weekend in the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Antonio,

We are very grateful for the nice comment you have dedicated us.

Our main objectif is to make our guests feel comfortable during their stay at our hotel. We consider that a good hotel stay involves a good rest, a good shower and a good breakfast service so we are happy if our work has made you perceive these issues as a positive and makes you enjoy your stay In Barcelona. That really motivates us to keep working to improve in customer service.

Please do not hesitate to contact us again if you plan to return to Barcelona.

Best Regards,
Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Really loved this contemporary boutique hotel. Stayed in July 2012. Excellent location in a nice safe area of Barcelona close to diagonal tube station. Numerous nice restaurants nearby. 2 blocks from the main shopping street where all the designer shops as well as the usual Zara, Nike etc.

Nice selection at breakfast plus it was served until 12 noon which was a great bonus. After a few days walking round Barcelona we were ready for a lazy morning!

The only possible negative is that my other half likes to go to the gym every day and there is no gym or pool. For those who aren't gym obsessed - I really would recommend this hotel. Oh, one more thing, the fire alarm and iPod dock both flash so when you turn the lights out it feels a bit like a disco. We ended up sticking plasters over both!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clared24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Customer,

All EMMA's team would like to thank you for the comment you has made about your stay in our hotel.

It is a pleasure for us that you valued positively the design and location of our hotel and that you also enjoyed with our breakfast service. We are very happy if all these details about our work and services have helped you to keep a nice memory of your stay in our city.

If you plan to return to Barcelon, plese do not hesitate to contact us again. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in Room Mate EMMA Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

From the contemporary design of the hotel to the wonderful service given by the reception (did not get her name), I would say room mate emma is the place to stay in barcelona.

The location was great with 2 metros stops 5 mins away. It is 15 mins walk to Casa Mila.

Reception patient and explained all the wonderful spots to visit in Barcelona...

If i visit Barcelona again, I would definaltely stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rentaplace22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Guest,

All Emma's Team would like to thank you for spending part of your time to share the impressions of your stay in our hotel with the rest of Tripadvisor visitors.

We are very happy you liked and enjoyed every detail of the hotel, from the location and hotel design to the service we offered . We truly thank you for considerating Room Mate Emma as a hotel to be recommended.

If you ever come back to Barcelona do not hesiate to contact us again.

Best Regards,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at Room Mate Emma, the hotel is right in the middle of the Eixample district. Close enough to the centre to walk in easily, but far enough away to avoid the tourist busyness of the Ramblas. We were greeted by the lovely Oscar, and instantly made to feel welcome. We stayed in a superior room on the 6th floor, and couldn't really fault it, spotless, clean linen every day, great shower. The only point I would make is the rooms at the back only have a view of the wall behind. This didn't bother us, as we don't go away to spend all our time in the room, but if you'd rather a view request a room at the front. Overall, an excellent small hotel, with friendly, helpful staff; in a great location lots of cafes bars and restaurants within easy walking distance We would definitely stay here again on our next trip to Barcelona.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowymatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Matt,

I would like to thank you for the comment you made about your stay in Room Mate EMMA Hotel and specially for the nice words you have dedicated to the hotel services and the work of all Emma's team.

We are very happy if we have helped you to make your stay in Barcelona a little bit nicer.

Whenever you decide to return to Barcelona, please do not hesitate to contact us again. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Ok, this isn't a Five-Star, in-your-face, hand-out-for-a-tip, uniformed-up palace, but what you do get is a welcoming bed, a decent-sized room (especially for a compact city like Barcelona), air-conditioning (a must), and a very acceptable continental-style breakfast (which was included in the price, moving against the current online trend of "room only").

Above all of the pluses, however, and making Room Mate THE hotel to go to on a sub-deluxe budget, has to be the hotel staff who are simply outstanding, exemplified in Oskar, a bearded smiling gent, who always had great honest advice to take out with us whenever we were unsure of the where, what, or how. Whether the staff have been picked for their personalities or just told to be helpful and keep smiling (although I would suggest that it was very much genuine) doesn't really matter for we felt relief on coming back to Room Emma Mate after a long day of hot touristing (leave the air-conditioning on!).

We had a "superior" room, which had a sizeable double bed, all the usual amenities, a strong walk-in shower, separated by a door from the smallish sink/toilet combo. If we had to find any potential negative for others, it would be in the common use of the colour pink throughout the hotel, but as this didn't deeply offend either my or my girlfriend's tastes, we just got on with enjoying Barcelona from this great base of the Room Emma Mate hotel.

Room Tip: There would be a view room, from observation, that seem to have a window only onto an inner court, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spikey2842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Customer,

On behalf of Room Mate EMMA Team we would like to thank you for the comments you made about your stay at our hotel.

Our due is to work hard to make our customers feel comfortable during their stay with us so it is a plesure for us to know that you have enjoyed your visit to Barcelona and we are very happy knowing that you keep us in good memory.

Whenever you decide to come back to Barcelona, please do not hesitate to contact us again.

Regards,

Georgina Albarrán,
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This was our first stay at the Emma in Barcelona and we will definitely be back. Excellent first rate front desk staff, awesome rooms (a bit small compared to Laura in Madrid), super WiFi, awesome breakfast area. This will be our home the next time we visit this great city. Our only complaint, we were on the second floor and it was a bit noisy with the late night Barcelona partiers on the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpassant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Customer,

All EMMA 's Team would like to thank you for your comment reporting your experience in Room Mate EMMA.

It is a pleasure for us that you keep you first stay in our hotel in good memory and that all of our services has met your expectations.

If you decide to come back to Barcelona, please do not hesitate to contact us again. It would be a pleasure for all of us to welcome you again.

Regards,

Georgina Albarrán
Accomodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#73 of 513 in Barcelona
248 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#23 of 513 in Barcelona
300 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#94 of 513 in Barcelona
983 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#48 of 513 in Barcelona
1,132 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Bakery
Hotel Praktik Bakery
#80 of 513 in Barcelona
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Emma

Property: Room Mate Emma
Address: Carrer Rossello 205 | Eixample, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#115 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Emma 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Room Mate Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Room Mate Emma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Emma Hotel Barcelona
Room Mate Emma Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing