We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just PERFECT!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Room Mate Emma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Room Mate Emma
Ranked #78 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Just PERFECT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

We have stayed there in November 2012 for a week. The staff were very helpful from the beginning when we were trying to make reservation and when we arrived there. Room was clean, I love the fact that there is a button beside the bed for the music goes to the washroom :) so much fun staying at this hotel. Breakfast was amazing!!! Even though we had plans for limited time we couldn't rush for the breakfast, we took our time and enjoyed every moment of it :)
Location was good, staff is always helpful to find your way. We went to Ibiza for couple days and came back to stay with them again. Everything was just PERFECT!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear Custormer,

On behalf of all Emma Team I would like to convey how grateful we are for the nice comment you have made on tripadvisor website about your stay in our hotel.

Our main purpose is constantly work to improve and offer a good service and help our customers to have an unforgettable and nice stay in Barcelona so we are very pleased if we helped you to get it.

If you ever decide to return to Barcelona it would be a huge pleasure for us to welcome you back in Emma so please do not hesitate to contact us again whenever you may decide to come back.

Kind Regards,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    463
    86
    18
    9
See reviews for
133
686
63
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

unique styling of the hotel, top service and friendliness of staff, good breakfast, convenient location in the artdeco district and close to subway, the only deficit are the windows of the rooms on the street side as we slepped at the seventh floor and nevertheless heard all the noise from the street during the night.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank NikolasBracher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Dear Nikolas,

All Emma Team wants to thank you for your nice comment about your stay at our hotel.

It is a great pleasure for the whole team that our daily work helped you to have a pleasant stay in Barcelona and it would be such a nice pleasure to welcome you back in Emma if you ever plan to come back to Barcelona. Do not hesitate to contact us if you ever do that.

Kind Regards,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

...Having such a good experience in Madrid with Hotel Room Mate Oscar and looking at pictures of Room Mate Emma, we decided to book Room Mate Emma for our stay in Barcelona.
We enjoyed every bit of it.
The location is the best, you can have breakfast at Crusto, lunch at Cerveceria Catalana and diner at Paco Meralgo and you will be making the best gourmet tour all in a few blocks away from the Hotel. The fact that its not located at the "ramblas" but close enough its a big plus.
The ramblas are noisy, full of tourist traps restaurants. This area of L'exampe is more residential but still full of little boutique stores and less noisy.
The staff in Room Mate Emma helps a lot to the Hotel performance. There was Oscar in the front desk with his well adjusted advices. We needed towels and got them right away.
Our room, all white with cheerful purple color touches had a frosted glass decor behind the bed. At night, if the bathroom light is on, the light reflects into the bedroom in a very subtle, almost sublime way. The rooms are very well designed my kudos for the architect.
The view from the room was internal and ugly but we got some natural light and it was very quiet. The price for Barcelona standards was a very good deal. The shower, rainy but strong, was outstanding, the best we had all over Europe. We did not try the breakfast but we saw they offer it for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mafaldita18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Dear Customer,

On behalf of all Emma Team we want to convey our sincere thanks for taking your time to comment on Tripadvisor website your experience during your stay in our hotel.

The whole team is very thankful for the nice words you have dedicated to us and for your positive value of each detail of our hotel, from our facilities,design, location and specially to our service and work.

We are very happy to know that we could contributed to make your stay in Barcelona a bit more pleasant and a special thanks from our colleague Oscar who is really happy for the nice words you dedicated to his work.

If you ever decide to return to Barcelona, please do not hesitate to contact us again. It will be a huge pleasure to welcome you back in EMMA.

Sincerely,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

I have stayed in 2 other Room Mates (Madrid and Grenada) and love the simplicity and style of the Room Mate product. My room at Emma was on the 3rd floor and was very quiet, a good size and the shower was superb. The staff were lovely and very helpful as my Spanish is not brilliant. I love the breakfast's which offer great variety, cooked and continental, fruit etc and blissfully it is served from 6.30 till 12 which was great because I was visiting my son and we didn't have dinner until 9 or 10 in the evening so no great rush to get up for breakfast.
The location of Emma couldn't be better, it's a 10 minute walk to the Predera and I walked to the Ramblas in about 20 minutes but that was strolling. There are great bars and restaurants nearby. For an inexpensive city centre hotel where you can stay on your own (as I was) and feel very at home and safe Emma would be hard to beat.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 304 which is an internal room with glazed bricks onto the central sitting area (no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Dear Carole,

We would like to thank you for trusting in Room Mate Hotels and particularly for trusting in EMMA for your stay in Barcelona.

The whole team is very happy that you had a nice stay and that our daily work has helped you to get it. We are glad to know that you liked many details of your stay, since the water corner to the hotel location, the room and the breakfast service and that with all that we helped you to have an unforgettable stay. We are glad to know that we did not disappointed you and that we offered what you expected and needed .

All Emma Team wishes you the best and hopes to welcome you back soon,

Kind Regards,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

We stayed here for three nights in Nov 2012 and had a reasonably good stay. Our room was on the 7th floor and not facing the street. After reading the reviews here I requested a high floor due to the lower floor street noise because my wife is a light sleeper. Unfortunately, that didn't matter because we could ever EVERYTHING the people in the room next to us were doing. What made things worse was that our room was across from the maid closet and when we tried to sleep in one morning we were awaken every 15 minutes by the maid taking stuff out of the closet and slamming doors.

My other complaint was that the room had two neon blue lights that we were unable to turn off. One was for a satellite radio, that had a light on all night and made it really hard to sleep. The only way I could turn the light off was to stack suitcases up to block some of the light.

The staff on the other hand was very helpful and friendly. They provided good directions and recommendations.

The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. I liked the larger bathroom and especially large shower.

The location was excellent with walking distance to some fantastic restaurants including Paco Merlago, which I highly recommend. We also enjoyed drinks at Dry Martini and across the street at Peter's bar, where the bartender was great and the drinks were 1/2 priced compared to Dry Martini.

We got a great rate of $115 per night at Room Mate Emma, which I thought was good for the location, but I would probably spend $50 more per night and try to find a more upscale property with more sound controlled rooms on our next visit to Barcelona.

Room Tip: Beware of room noise. Request a room on a high floor and AWAY FROM THE MAID CLOSET!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank volkswankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
Dear Customer,

As the acommodation manager of Room Mate EMMA and on behalf ot the entire team I would like to thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with all Tripadvisor readers.

We would also like to thank you for your suggestions for improvement. These assessments help us to continue working and improving to offer a high quality service and unforgettable stays to all our customers.

All Emma Team wishes you keep us in good memory.

Kind Regards,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Room Mate Emma for a week end gets away. Quick check-in with a smile and a glass of fruity water.Although the first room was way too small to be called a deluxe, and the total lack of hot water in second room, we had a good stay!
The bed and bedding are of a good standard. As Barcelona has an underground rail system you will feel a very slight rumble from the trains, but the radio in the room and bathroom will allow you to forget that.
Safe in room, key card that allows access to floors and provides a higher security than most hotels.
Breakfast until Midday is great, staff friendly and smiling, all that helped me after a night out in town.
The hotel is well placed, tapas bars, gay area quite close. Tourist sights on foot from the hotel.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pfoggFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment on tripadvisor. The entire EMMA team is really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you properly have explained our work philosophy involves taking care of all the little details which could help to our customers to have not a good but an unforgetable stay. Our goal is to work to achieve excellence in service and we really consider that paying attention to the little things like a warm welcome,a nice design, a good rest in a cozy room or a good breakfast lead us to the desired goal.
We are pleased that you value all these issues positively.

If you ever want to return to Barcelona do not hesitate to contact us again.

Kind Regards,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

This was a special place, booked for 4 nights for a special occasion. Yes, the staff are kind, thoughtful and amazing, with attention to every detail and even bubbly for us when they realised. We were there during the general strike and our room had a window onto Carrer Rossello so we heard all the noise in the early morning of 14th November as the strikers gathered. The staff advised where to go to avoid trouble the next day. Breakfast was super and convenience fine. However, the hotel is super-chic, urban but not very comfortable if you want a decent chair to sit in at the end of the day or a good light in the bedroom to read the guidebook and plan your next day. There was a desk which would be good for a laptop, WIFI throughout and plenty of electric points, so ideal for a business visitor. We found restaurant Balthazar nearby, see separate review.

Room Tip: We upgraded to'Superior' which meant we had a room overlooking Carrer Rossello and included...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r0sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear Customer,

On behalf of the entire team of Room Mate EMMA, I would like to convey our sincere thanks for taking your time to explain to all readers of Tripadvisor your experience in our hotel during your stay in Barcelona.

We are pleased and grateful to know that with our daily efforts and our work we contributed to make you enjoy your trip and that neither the unexpected issue of the general strike that took place in the country ruined this special occasion for you. This really makes us want to continue improving to make all of our customers to have a memorable stay with us.

It would be a pleasure for the entire team to welcome you back in EMMA whenever you return to Barcelona.

Sincerely,

Georgina Albarrán
Acommodation Manager of Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#65 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#57 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#42 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pol & Grace Hotel
#67 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#48 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#86 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Emma

Property: Room Mate Emma
Address: Carrer Rossello 205 | Eixample, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#115 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Emma 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Prestigia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Room Mate Emma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Emma Hotel Barcelona
Room Mate Emma Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing