We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Room Mate Emma
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
B-Hotel(Barcelona)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Central(Barcelona)
US$530
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$331
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Expo Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expo Barcelona
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
EuroPark Hotel(Barcelona)
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,390)
Filter reviews
1,390 results
Traveller rating
746
514
99
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
746
514
99
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom mate hotelsgreat locationdiagonal stationfree wifian upgradedeluxe roomhuge showerwalking distancestreet viewnatural lightcomfy bedhotel is locatedmodern designmini barbreakfast was includedla pedreraexcellent hotel
Filter
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 1,390 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I was a little disappointed, it looked quite glam in the photos but a lot of the room was painted chipboard! It was clean and tidy and the staff were very friendly and helpful, but it wasn't the stylish, chic hotel I was expecting. I'd even paid a few pounds more for a superior room but it wasn't particularly big, and the view was of a roof and a wall.
The location is good though. There's lots of little bars and cafes nearby.
I recommend taking the Metro to Diagonal when arriving, it's a bit of a hike with bags from Placa de Catalunya.
We didn't opt for breakfast, instead getting up late and grabbing something at the bakery on the corner - it's hectic but cheap and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear LadyKlondon,

Thanks for sharing with us your opinion about your recently stay at Room Mate Emma.

As you know, to improve day by day is very important for us to know directly from our clients how nice were their stays.
I´m so proud about your thinks about our staff and opposite, I´m sad to check that you did not enjoy the style. If we were known it, we would have been able to change to another room,So,next time you will visit our city,I would be so glad if you contact us to give you all our options and I´m totally sure you will enjoy very much.

Kindest Regards,

Elena Gómez.
Front Desk Manager.
Hotel Room Mate Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Perfect spot in Barcelona - easy tube access to all parts of town but short stroll to Rambla and Passaig de Gracia - really friendly staff - special mention to the folks who make the rooms up, excellent. We had an outside facing room which was great for light and fresh air but very noisy at night (Though we aren't used to noise) Good breakfasts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fieldvole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear fieldvole,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay in Room Mate Emma.
Is a great pleasure to know you enjoyed very much the Hotel ,also the location( just in the Eixample area and our services as the housekeeping.

We will be so glad if you would be interested to repeat your Room Mate Experience and check the improvements made like the change of our mattresses.

Kindest Regards,

Elena Gómez.
Front Desk Manager,
Room Mate Emma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed in RoomMate Emma in October 2013. Unfortunately it was a so-called 'interior' room, which basically means that you do nor have any daylight and access to fresh air because the room is facing the atrium of the building. So my good advise to travellers will be to double-check that the room they book is actually not the 'interior' one. Otherwise you pretty much risk to spoil your experience in Barcelona altogether, cause your sleep will be nightmarish...

Another word should be said about breakfast, which many of other travellers describe as magnificent and perior. Sorry, but it is NEITHER magnificent, NOR superior. It is rather basic. In the country where gastronic experience is essential, having such breakfast as at Emma's is somewhat insulting.

In a word, I would hardly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Do not choose the interior room. Although on Booking.com there is no warning about it. Double check with hotel before booking.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlenaAms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank for the time it has taken to writing about your stay in Room Mate Emma.

I regret that we did not meet your expectations. But, we wish that we have made known your displeasure when you was hosted, we could had the opportunity to offer a change of room in order to feel more comfortable.

Regarding the breakfast, we note about your opinion, but we must bear that the price of our breakfast is very tight, and the relationship with the high quality we offer is extraordinary.

I will be happy that you contact me in order to help book in any Room Mate Hotel, and have the opportunity to change the image that you have.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in October 2013. Very clean and modern twin room. Only down side is that rooms don't have windows (except onto central atrium) so it could be a little disorientating. The hotel is close to an underground and we could hear the trains pass under but it wasn't troublesome.

Staff had excellent English and were v helpful.

The location is good for sights and shopping and there are plenty of bars and restaurants close by. Had no issues with pickpockets despite being warned.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Katrina B;

All members of Emma's staff are so glad to know your stay with us were so nice,as you wanted to share on your comments.
Is so important for us check you felt to be as a friend's home as we always try with every client.

Please,If you would return to visit our city,do not hesitate to contact us.

Kindest regards.

Elena Gómez.
Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at Emma during our holidays in Spain in first week of July. Emma's staff was very helpful and was accurate in guiding us to visit various places of interest during the available time. Rooms are clean, location is near a subway station and also near shopping area. There are lots of restaurant within walking distance. We loved Italian restaurant near by, La Tagliatalle....exceptional food....all in a very good experience....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nirav40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Nirav40.

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at Room Mate Emma Hotel and also for the special mention to our staff.

For us was a pleasure to help you giving you information about Barcelona and emblematic places to visit and finally convert your stay in a Fantastic one!!

All members of Room Mate Emma want to see you on your next visit.

Kind Regards.

Elena Gómez.
Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews