We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with central location”
Review of Room Mate Emma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Room Mate Emma
Ranked #75 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with central location”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I enjoyed my stay. The hotel was nice and clean, and the location was great. Central, but still in quite surroundings. Nice and helpfull staff! The breakfast was good and had everything I needed. Comfy bed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OsloFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Oslofab,

Thank you for trusting in Room Mate Emma during your stay in Barcelona, and also to give us a feedback about it.

It is our main goal to satisfy and exceed all your expectations, and we are so proud to have been so helpful during your stay with us.

If you return, would be a pleasure to help you to discover our city one more time.

Regards from Barcelona,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    477
    88
    18
    10
See reviews for
140
706
65
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here during our visit to Barcelona and was very pleased we chose it after checking out quite a few. Good central position, not far from La Sagrada Família and about 1.5 miles from the harbour. Great funky decor throughout with very friendly and helpful staff. I e-mailed the hotel prior to our arrival requesting a room with a street view on a higher floor and got exactly that (I'd recommend that as some of the rooms look out to an internal atrium). Great and varied breakfast selections that's available up until noon.

Room Tip: High floor at the front although Saturday night was a bit noisy from a bar down below which disturbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Themusher,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your stay at Room Mate Emma.

All members of our team are so pleased to know your thinkings about the staff, situation, stylish,ect because our goal is that you feel as a friend´s home.

If you return to Barcelona, we hope you decide to enjoy another Room Mate Emma´s experience.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta,Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I would recommend this hotel as a high value hotel. Comfortable beds, free wifi, TV , A/C and I liked the shower. But the best thing was the friendly front desk staff. They were very knowledgeable where to go and how to get there.
Coming from the airport you can ride the areo bus to Pl. Catalunya, hop on subway FSC to Provenca. When you disembark take the Rossello exit and walk one block.
Plenty of bakeries and restaurants around the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BTDTAtlanta_Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear BTDTAtlanta_Georgia,

On behalf of all our staff, thank you so much for sharing your opinion about your stay with us.

Is a great pleasure to know your stay with us was as nice as you explain, because our goal is to feel you as a friend´s home!

Do not hesitate to contact us again if you decide repeat your experience at Room Mate Emma.

Regards from Barcelona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vonore, Tennessee
Level Contributor
885 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,002 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I rated Room Mate Emma with 5 stars because of the helpfulness of the staff. It didn't matter who was at the desk (although the two women we frequently saw in the day times were especially
nice), they all were friendly and would do anything to make our stay comfortable. They gave us directions, recommendations, offered water with lemon and oranges), printed tickets we ordered on line,helped print boarding tickets, etc.

The rooms were comfortable and spotless. We even got used to the funky design. We didn't want the music piped in and a quick call to the desk and we learned where to turn it off (switch next to the bed). Showers and bath were fine, although that step into the tub is a big one and a tad difficult if have a mobility issue. Liked having the mini refrigerator and we bought drinks and sandwich makings across the street very inexpensively at the market. The neighborhood is upscale and the balconies and outside decorations on the buildings are worth a look. Felt completely safe here and no one hassled us for money or to buy junk anywhere in the neighborhood. Only complaint are the chairs in the lobby. They simply cannot be used by an older person or a woman in a dress. Even my husband had to get on his knees to get up.

The breakfasts had a decent selection, and we loved the fresh fruit and a latte or espresso each morning. We ate too many rolls with meat and cheese and will have to change our ways when we get home!

The subways we needed were one and two blocks away, and we walked to a lot of the places we wanted to visit. We purchased two 10 trip metro cards which saved us about half the costs of single tickets even though we had a few trips left on the card. We took the bus from the airport to Placa Catalunya for just over 10€ for the two of us and then caught a taxi to the hotel for under 10€. We found that was the easiest and the bus leaves the airport every 5 minutes.

We recommend booking tickets on line and printing them at the hotel to several of the tourist spots to avoid the lines. We did that for Segrada Familia, the Museum of Catalan Music, and La
Pedrera. We also had a great day trip in a small group to Montserrat and Park Guel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Torte_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Torte_Sue,

All members of our team want to thank you so much your fantastic comments about Room Mate Emma, and above all about us and the helpful staff you during your stay.

We always do the best to feel you as a friend´s home and we have checked with your comments that we have done it, so is an absolute pleasure for us.

We hope to see you soon one more time in Emma, your hotel in Barcelona to rediscover-it. We will be waiting for you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Great location in an area of Barcelona that's known for its style and expensive tastes. This hotel offers value for money. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and bed very comfortable. Breakfast is very tasted. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank R0d_Shar0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear R0d_Shar0n,

All members of our team want to give you many thanks for your nice comments about your stay with us.

It is our main goal to satisfy and even exceed all your expectations, and we are so proud to have been so helpful during your stay with us.

If you return, would be a pleasure to help you to discover our city one more time.

Kind Regards from Barcelona,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky, USA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A week ago I went to book a room at Room Mate Emma. A person at the reception gave me a price of 904 euros for a triple room for three people (including breakfast) for five nights and indicated that I could send my credit card number in two seperate emails for security purposes. I sent part of the card number. The next morning a different person from reservations emailed and gave a price of 1057 euros, an increase of 151 euros. When I responded she indicated that nothing was final because I had not reserved with a credit card number. It didn't seem to matter that the email from her colleague was in the chain of emails indicating that I ws doing what I was told to do. Needless to say, we are not booking here with this kind of increase. That is hardly the way to get good customer relations' scores.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CarlStoltzfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have not yet stayed at the hotel but have experienced very poor customer service and complete inflexibility so far. They have refused to refund a reservation that I made less than a week ago because it was a non-refundable reservation. I understand a policy is a policy but I have asked for an exception due to extenuating circumstances that have caused me to cancel my trip. I am out $600. They have two monthes to fill the room but still refuse to make an exception. C'mon guys, have some humanity. Stuff happens.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate having left your review.

In our hotel we do have some promotions available in order to satisfy the needs of our guests. In this occasion, the chosen offer with a discount has an special cancellation policy, it does not allow to do neither amendment nor cancellation.
We regret to hear that you have not been satisfied with us even though having offered an alternative.

Although you will not come to Barcelona, we will be pleased to help you with reservations and accommodate you in one of our hotels during your next trip.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Sarsanedas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#73 of 513 in Barcelona
248 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#23 of 513 in Barcelona
300 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#94 of 513 in Barcelona
983 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#48 of 513 in Barcelona
1,131 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Bakery
Hotel Praktik Bakery
#80 of 513 in Barcelona
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Emma

Property: Room Mate Emma
Address: Carrer Rossello 205 | Eixample, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#115 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Emma 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Room Mate Hotels, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Room Mate Emma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Emma Hotel Barcelona
Room Mate Emma Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing