We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grupotel Gran Via 678
Ranked #132 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would stay here again.”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

First sightseeing trip to Barcelona with a friend and would definitely recommend this hotel. Stayed here for five nights and absolutely no complaints. Check-in was swift, efficient and welcome drink on arrival. Our room was on fourth floor facing main road with no issues regarding noise from traffic. Did not stop us from having a good nights sleep on very comfortable beds and pillows. Room was spacious enough, very clean and modern. Bathroom was very spacious and complimentary toiletries were replenished on a daily basis which was a nice touch. Buffet breakfast was very good value for money and a great plus for us as we were out walking every day until late evening and never felt hungry until early afternoon so this was greatly appreciated. Staff were always very friendly and helpful. Same, familiar faces that greeted you in the morning which added to the personal touch because they remembered you! Keep up the good work! Tea/coffee making facilities in room would be an added bonus but overall this hotel is a very good choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgranvia678, Director General at Grupotel Gran Via 678, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. Our hotel is located in the center of Barcelona, ​​on a main road, but our windows are soundproofed so that our customers can rest. We appreciate that you want to return and stay at our hotel on your next visit to Barcelona.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    377
    83
    14
    12
See reviews for
131
454
27
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Lovely hotel which is 20 mins walking to La Sagrada Familia and 10 mins to Placa Catalunya (at the top of Las Ramblas).

All of the staff were really friendly and helpful and check in / check out was seemless.

The self service breakfast was plentiful and everything seemed fresh. Coffee and tea were brought to our table and there was no queuing.

I would love to give it 5 stars but there were a couple of tiny things that stop me. First of all the glass doors to the bathrooms offer very little privacy. They look great but I would much prefer a proper solid door. Secondly you have to pay extra for the safe and tea/coffee making in the room. It is not expensive (2 and 3 Euros per day respectively) but I really don't understand why these aren't standard things in a 4 star hotel?

There were many more positives though - the excellent free WiFi, the place is very very clean, the bed was comfortable, the air con/heating excellent, the welcome Cava - and at breakfast if you want it - is a nice touch.

We will be coming to Barcelona again and I will not hesitate to book the hotel. I have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevee303_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgranvia678, Director General at Grupotel Gran Via 678, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast, our staff and our location. Our decorating style is modern and current. Thank you to recommend us to your friends.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Barcelona was the first stop in our honeymoon and we booked a double room at the hotel. The room was not ready when we arrived and there was no welcome drink. We were so disappointed as soon as we got into the room. It was a shoebox with barely enough room to move around in, let alone place our luggage to unpack. We had to move around single file to get to the toilet. The staff did nothing to make our stay a little bit special. You have to pay to use the room safe! It was a joke to call the hotel 4 star and very false advertising. It was no where near 4 star, not even 3. The only saving grace was it was the only bad hotel in our trip. Our next stop in Madrid was in a very beautiful hotel with the perfect location. This place is not worth it. So many other better places around for the amount it charges.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgranvia678, Director General at Grupotel Gran Via 678, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
It surprises us your opinion about our hotel that does not match the majority of feedback from our customers. The check in time is from 14:00 h. Since that time we offer all our customers a welcome glass of cava. You booked a basic room which is the cheapest in the hotel. Our hotel has larger rooms with its corresponding supplement. We hope that on your next visit to have a better opinion of our hotel. Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This hotel was selected as some type of boat expo was on down at the waterfront and this was the only 4 star hotel available I could find. In the end, it was a good selection. The hotel reception area and restaurant were modern. The room was also modern but cheaply done. The bathroom in the room was nice and clean with shower over bath.
The location of the hotel was pretty much ideal. You could walk to most tourist attractions. If anything, slightly closer to las rambles (e.g one-two blocks) would be best, but doesn't really matter when you're in your mid 30's and like eating and need a walk to burn some calories!
There was enough choice at breakfast time. Free Internet in your room is definitely beneficial. Reception was friendly and provided us with infimation on how to get to places and where to eat dinner.
The room price was higher due to the boat show, but normal price is very reasonable. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a road facing room. We didn't have any issue with noise (but we were also on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgranvia678, Director General at Grupotel Gran Via 678, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion. We are glad that you were comfortable in our hotel and that you liked our breakfast, our facilities and our location. Boat During the Expo, the availability in the city is low and therefore the prices are a little higher. Hope to see you soon in Barcelona. Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My sister and I have just had 3 wonderful days in the beautiful city travelling with Jet2 holidays. We were very pleasantly surprised by this lovely hotel. A very warm welcome, pleasant and helpful staff, lovely clean room, and just a short walk from Placa Catalunya and La Rambla. Perfect! Mucho gracias mi amigos!

Room Tip: Don't be put off by a room overlooking the busy main road, it was surprisingly quiet. Excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulinesmith27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgranvia678, Director General at Grupotel Gran Via 678, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We love to hear you were well on our hotel and spent some happy days in Barcelona. Hope to see you soon. Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed for 5nights and enjoyed every one. The hotel is modern and still fresh from refurbishment. The Standard Double room, with shower was a good size and immaculately clean thanks to ultra efficient room maids. It overlooked the Gran Via but the triple glazing meant that traffic noise was not a problem. After reading some reviews regarding noise we found that the only noise encountered was from thoughtless fellow guests when returning late evening.We didn’t choose this hotel for the pool but for the location. It is about 400m flat walk from the Airport bus stop, 8minutes walk to the Cathedral, Ramblas and Placa Catalunya and the No50 bus to Sagrada Famillia stops outside.The breakfast was buffet style an there was a very good selection to meet all tastes. The only downside was that the hot food seemed to cool down very quickly; just half fill the trays. The main factor in our enjoyment of this hotel was the friendly, helpful and efficient staff, especially in the dining room. There is a limited Dining Room menu for evening meals but our selection from the room menu, sandwich and fries, was massive and tasty. Would we stay again? Yes we’ll be back. One Tip buy a T10 ticket for bus and Metro, ours lasted the full five days.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bennetthatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgranvia678, Director General at Grupotel Gran Via 678, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion. We note your comments about breakfast for improvement. Our windows are soundproofed and comfort of the rooms is very good. We're glad you visit us again on your next visit to Barcelona. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel was really well positioned for a city break. Walk north from the Placa Catalunya, with the fountains on your left, to the smaller fountain, turn right (into Gran Via) and walk about 5 mins; the hotel is on your right (just past hotel El Palace).
The staff are really welcoming and helpful. We had a welcome glass of Cava in reception, swiftly checked in and went up to our rooms. They are clean and fresh and very modern. Tea and coffee is not standard in the rooms, but for 3euros/day this will be supplied in your rooms with kettle, ask in reception.
We booked Superior rooms, bath robes and cava in our rooms. This guaranteed a slightly bigger double room, rather than the standard 'comfort' double room.
For breakfast there was a small hot selection and a large selection of cold buffet which was really nice. We ate out each night.
We would certainly stay here again if we visit Barcelona, and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel, no noise from the main road. We were on the top floor-6
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgranvia678, Director General at Grupotel Gran Via 678, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your review. You have a good choice. We think Superior rooms are a good option. We hope you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast and facilities. We are happy to know you felt comfortable.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#119 of 513 in Barcelona
2,024 reviews
Eixample
Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Silken Gran Hotel Havana
#155 of 513 in Barcelona
1,370 reviews
El Raval
Grupotel Gravina
Grupotel Gravina
#257 of 513 in Barcelona
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Roger De Lluria Barcelona
Eixample
Negresco Princess Hotel
Negresco Princess Hotel
#55 of 513 in Barcelona
729 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Gran Via 678? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Gran Via 678

Property: Grupotel Gran Via 678
Address: Gran Via Corts Catalanes, 678, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#97 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#98 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#133 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Gran Via 678 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new 4 stars hotel is located at one of the main Barcelona’s avenues, only 350 meters from the distinguished Paseo de Gracia, Plaza de Cataluña and Ramblas. The Grupotel Gran Vía 678 emphasizes by its modern facilities and its stylish decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grupotel Gran Via 678 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Gran Via 678 Hotel Barcelona
Grupotel Gran Via 678 Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing