We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms but lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grupotel Gran Via 678
Ranked #137 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
LONDON
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Small rooms but lovely staff”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We needed a central hotel with parking and this served the bill. The staff were excellent and told us our room was small which it was, with a small double bed and a bathroom with no privacy. However they told us we could move the following day. We did change at a higher cost to a room,still not large, but a bigger bed and better sited bathroom. We were pleased with the decor and cleanliness. The breakfast was very good and it had been reduced in price. We also had a lovely evening meal on one of the evenings there. The cava was really cheap for a hotel bar. Parking is quite pricey but we knew it was secure as we walkers around wonderful Barcelona.

Room Tip: Do not choose a budget room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgranvia678, Director General at Grupotel Gran Via 678, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. You booked a basic room. We have rooms of different types with different rates. We recomment our clients to book superior rooms. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you liked our services. Hope to see you soon again. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    377
    82
    14
    12
See reviews for
130
448
27
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The location is very good, within walking distance to Passeig de Gracia, and The Ramblas.
The rooms are very nice, as well as the bathroom.
Breakfast is very good and complete.
I recommend going to Sitges, which is 30 minutes away by taking a train within walking distance from the hotel in Passeig de gracia, it really worth the visit! There are beatiful beaches by the Mediterraenean sea.
To have the famous tapas, you cannot miss Cerveceria Catalana and Ciudad Condal, but be aware, lots of people! The key is to go very early or very late so you do not have to wait an hour to be seated.

Room Tip: the ones that have a view to the street gran Via
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth11111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgranvia678, Director General at Grupotel Gran Via 678, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you very much for your positive comment. We are glad that you liked our breakfast and facilities. We hope your stay in Barcelona has been nice and you have enjoyed the holidays. Hope to see you soon again. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Evertyhing was very nice and smooth:
The hotel is well situated with a short distance to most areas that interest tourists. The premises are very good without being pretentious and our the rooms with large patios were also nice and clean (the beds comfortable etc.).

The personnel was very helpful and a welcoming cava bottle to the room was a nice surprise.

The breakfast was a very good one and in fact better that we expected from the hotel of this level (naturally was a bit short from levelling the breakfasts of the very top hotels).

Actually finding a negative point on anything related to our stay in this hotel is difficult. In fact the only thing that in my personal view refrains this from being one of the best hotel experience ever is perhaps a lack of some kind of a personal/ differentiating "character"

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruoh-is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgranvia678, Director General at Grupotel Gran Via 678, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad that you liked our welcome and enjoyed our breakfast and facilities. We work to make the stay of our guests is as special as possible. Hope to see you soon again. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a lovely hotel very close to the centre of Barcelona. It is the perfect location to catch the sight seeing buses and take advantage of the many tasty restaurants within 5 mins. The staff were very professional, kind caring and no question or task was too much trouble. They upgraded us to a superior room as we mentioned it was a special birthday weekend. You can purchase tickets from the hotel reception, which is a big advantage! The rooms are immaculate, even flowers in the bathroom and a welcome drink of cava on arrival! Breakfast was plentiful with so much to choose from and all fresh, very tasty. Bar very reasonable and always open to purchase a late night coffee to unwind with after an evening out. Only one small word of warning, the shower is amazing double head but the floor in the cubicle is quite slippery. Do not be put off by the hotel being on the main central road. You do not hear the noise, excellent double glazing. Lovely pool, slight small but ideal for a quick plunge to refresh and relax by after a busy sight seeing day. A very good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgranvia678, Director General at Grupotel Gran Via 678, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review. We appreciate your suggestions. We are glad that the services, facilities and staff have been to his liking. Hope to see you soon again in our hotel. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We had two rooms for 4 of us with connecting door, spacious, light and fantastic bathrooms. All facilities excellent, great tv with good choice of channels for late night watching. Brilliant location, central to all attractions. Staff professional and welcoming, could not be more helpful. Pool great fun and welcoming for a cooling off dip after a hot day of sightseeing. Good breakfast, massive choice of fresh cooked and continental selection, fruit was a fantastic range to choose from! Would recommend to all. Had one evening meal also very tasty and drinks at the bar good value. Went out the other nights to explore, but would recommend eating there if needs must. Five star we will be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WHV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgranvia678, Director General at Grupotel Gran Via 678, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words that encourage us to continue working in the same direction. We are glad to hear that your stay was pleasant and you enjoyed our services and facilities. Hope to see you soon again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We booked in here on a family city break for 3 nights. We had 2 adjoining rooms overlooking the pool (214 & 215) which were very quiet at night.
The beds were comfortable and roomy, the rooms are contemporary in style.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful, among the best we have experienced in Europe.
There is a wide selection of food for breakfast which is regularly replenished.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends & family.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgranvia678, Director General at Grupotel Gran Via 678, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review and your opinion about our hotel and our staff. Our hotel is very quiet despite being located in one of the main avenues of the city, very close to the center. We hope you enjoyed your stay and come back soon again. Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Os, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Went to Barcelona for three nights together with my colleagues. The hotel was a delight. Clean and spacious rooms. Excellent service, from very friendly staff. A very good breakfast buffet. Will highly recommend this hotel for other travelers.


Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rollmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgranvia678, Director General at Grupotel Gran Via 678, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review and for your recommendation. We will continue working in the same way to make our customers happy. We would be happy to see him again soon in our hotel. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#117 of 512 in Barcelona
2,018 reviews
Eixample
Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Silken Gran Hotel Havana
#150 of 512 in Barcelona
1,347 reviews
Eixample
Negresco Princess Hotel
Negresco Princess Hotel
#54 of 512 in Barcelona
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya
Eixample
Hotel Roger De Lluria Barcelona
El Raval
Grupotel Gravina
Grupotel Gravina
#253 of 512 in Barcelona
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Gran Via 678? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Gran Via 678

Property: Grupotel Gran Via 678
Address: Gran Via Corts Catalanes, 678, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#98 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#102 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#133 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Gran Via 678 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new 4 stars hotel is located at one of the main Barcelona’s avenues, only 350 meters from the distinguished Paseo de Gracia, Plaza de Cataluña and Ramblas. The Grupotel Gran Vía 678 emphasizes by its modern facilities and its stylish decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grupotel Gran Via 678 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Gran Via 678 Hotel Barcelona
Grupotel Gran Via 678 Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing