We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and amazing host!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Marcelo Barcelona
Ranked #1 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

It was our first 4 day trip to Barcelona, although we were late for our check-in, Marcelo was waiting for us in front of the door with a great smile and very welcoming! He made us feel very comfortable in his house and recommended us some amazing local restaurants where food and service was outstanding. The apartment benefits from a fantastic location, where you will find local bars and trendy boutiques at every corner, the Barceloneta beach is only 15 min walk! Marcelo's attention to detail is fantastic, the shared bathroom was always spotless and there was a daily cleaning in the bedroom! Many thanks to Marcelo, Olivier and his team who made our stay wonderful! We will definitely recommend you! Hasta la proxima! Victor and Julie

Room Tip: I would recommend room 4 as it overlooks a private street which is very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 845 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Casa de Marcelo was a wonderful find for the two nights we stayed prior to leaving on a cruise. After flying in to Barcelona we followed Marcelo's directions to get to the B&B. Two short train rides and a five minute walk from Estacio de Franca station brought us to the front door. We called ahead, rang the bell, and were greeted at the door by Olivier. Both he and Marcello gave us a warm and friendly welcome, showed us our room, and gave us information for our two day visit to Barcelona. I had read that breakfast started at 9:00am and was concerned that would restrict our early start for sightseeing. Actually we were able to enjoy an entire breakfast of fruit, breads, juice and coffee around 8:00am as they were already setting up at that time. The location was perfect. The Born district is full of small restaurants, bars and cafes. A five minute walk took us to the Barceloneta metro station and that connected us to the whole of Barcelona. We were surprised by Barcelona and hope to return to spend more time there. If we do get back to Barcelona we will definitely stay at Casa de Marcelo again.

Room Tip: We had the balcony room in front with en-suite bathroom. The balcony overlooks the pedestrian walkwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Such a beautiful little gem with a fantastic location! When walking onto the gobble stone streets and into the old front door of the apartment building, you instantly feel like you are part of this beautiful neighborhood... not just another tourist. Marcelo was such a great host and our balcony room was cozy and relaxing. We enjoyed having a view onto the ambient street below. No noise issues, as long as you get into the same rhythm as this lively city ;-).

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Annelien d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This small B&B is utterly charming, as its its host. We had a wonderfully comfortable room (shared bath, which was never a problem) in an ideal location. We walked almost everywhere that mattered, and found ourselves on the edge of the Gothic Quarter, conveniently close to a multitude of restaurants and shopping, as well as to Barcelona's spectacular city marina, banks, and the tour bus line. Breakfast was delightful every morning, with the table set so prettily and ample continental choices including fabulous fresh-baked bread and fresh fruit. Marcelo is a genteel host - warm, welcoming, and a fountain of helpful information. We loved having keys that let us slip in and out of the massive old doors on the front of this centuries-old building as though we belonged in Barcelona. We would go back in an instant!

Room Tip: If you care about the late-night street life in Spain, request an interior room to avoid that noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank creyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at Marcelo's for six nights. We got there from the airport with local Renfe trains - traveling with those was very straightforward based on Marcelo's instructions. The hotel is located less than 5 minutes walk from Estacio de Franca. Olivier was at the B&B welcoming us, and thoroughly explained everything we needed to know. Meeting the hosts we got the impression that we could ask help and tips regarding any matter. However this time we planned our itinerary independently, but it is nice to read that other guests have utilized their expertise.

The room 3 was as nice as in the pictures. It is not very big, but suitable for two people. The room and the whole apartment was beautifully decorated. There was some noise coming from the alley (traffic and bars), not much when the windows were closed. But considering the central location it was expected.

I was worried beforehand that it could be hot in July with no air conditioning. The room was surprisingly cool, and if it got hot, you could open the windows to cool it down. So we managed just fine, and there was a big floor fan for circulating the air.

Having only five rooms in total, the B&B was very peaceful. We met other guests at the breakfast, but did not hear about them otherwise. There is a balcony next to the breakfast room that seats two people - recommend to have the breakfast there and to enjoy the street atmosphere. The breakfast was simple but with top ingredients - freshly baked bread, ripe fruits, good coffee & tea etc.

El Born district is in our opinion the nicest of Barcelona's old town districts. The streets are lined with unique tapas bars, designer clothing & shoe shops and restaurants. We spend many nights just enjoying the services within the neighboring blocks.

Considering the high hotel prices in Barcelona, we felt that Casa de Marcelo had great value for money. Also we felt lucky to have a room with such a great location and with a more intimate experience of compared to standard hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Arttu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Marcelo is a good B&B located in El Born district. It is well located near some good restaurants, bars and boutiques.
B&B is clean, very well maintained and the the breakfast was a good spread.

The location is in walking distance from Picasso Museum and not too far from city bus tourist bus stop.

Special mention to Marcello who made some great restaurant suggestions and offbeat places to visit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank K54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the Casa Marecelo for 4 nights in early June and highly recommend it. We had a room at the back with a private bathroom as we were travelling with our 4 year old and it was perfect. Marcelo and Olivier are wonderful hosts, meeting us at the car when we arrived and helping with luggage when we left, assisting with dinner recommendations, bookings and directions and also with ticket purchases. They seemed to genuinely love having our daughter in the house which made the stay far more enjoyable for all of us. The location is fabulous, walking distance to everything you need and so nice to be staying in the beautiful El Born neighbourhood.
Guests have space in the fridge and access to a fully equipped kitchen. We also used the people they recommended for airport transfers, which was vey convenient. We would definitely stay again when we make it back to Barcelona!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#3 of 517 in Barcelona
1,429 reviews
Eixample
BarcelonaBB
BarcelonaBB
#5 of 308 in Barcelona
561 reviews
Eixample
Violeta Boutique
Violeta Boutique
#3 of 308 in Barcelona
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
ANBA Bed&Breakfast Deluxe
ANBA Bed&Breakfast Deluxe
#2 of 308 in Barcelona
527 reviews
Eixample
Barcino 147
Barcino 147
#7 of 308 in Barcelona
607 reviews
Eixample
Vasanta Hotel Boutique
Vasanta Hotel Boutique
#4 of 308 in Barcelona
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marcelo Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marcelo Barcelona

Address: Carrer Rera Palau 2, 1-1, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera , Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £58 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast with charming and intimate atmosphere, located in Barcelona center (El Born district). 15 mins walk to the Ramblas, the beach, the Picasso museum, the Gothic quarter and the cathedral. Marcelo is looking forward to welcoming you at his house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa De Marcelo Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Casa Marcelo Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing