We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour!”

Runner Bean Tours Barcelona
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.12*
and up
The Dark History Night Walking Tour in Barcelona
More Info
US$17.93*
and up
2.5-Hour Kids and Family Walking Tour in Barcelona
Ranked #2 of 562 Tours in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are a Spanish-Irish couple who started this project in 2010, offering FREE TOURS in Barcelona as well as other WALKING TOURS, inspired by our passion and love for everything with Barcelona’s name on it. As we became more popular over the years, we expanded our team to other like-minded locals. We are all professional guides ready to welcome you, share our knowledge and help you discover Barcelona in a fun and friendly manner. You will only find Runner Bean Tours in Barcelona. Recommended by Rick Steves, Lonely Planet, Rough Guides, Frommers… Hope to see you here soon! The Runner Bean Team.
2 reviews
“Great Tour!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I had an amazing time old city tour with Lowri. She made the tour very interesting telling us stories on every corner! I recommend these tour, it was great!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Berenice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sputrip, Owner at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi Berenice,

Lowri will love reading our review (I just sent it to her). Thanks a million fir writing it.

All the best :-)

Gorka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,160
    317
    22
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best walking tour we did!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

My husband and I did the Gothic quarter with Gorka yesterday.
We found it by accident after visiting the famous Boqueria market close by.
We had an amazing tour through the old city . Every corner Gorka had a remarkable story to tell, all with humor and a big smile he kept us interested.
We would never find some of these hidden gems ourselves.
He is really an expert of the Catalan culture and for the general Spanish history as well.
We have paid for and joined many previous tours around the world and we've agreed that this one was the best!!
This tour is free and we were surprised. It is first to us, as it has a great cultural value and quality you would expect from paid tours.

Dear Gorka - Thanks again for your spirit and points direction after the tour.
We will highly recommend it to our friends and family!

P.S: ask Gorka about the Caganer.
We have bought many presents for our kids at home,
we will present them this way exactly :)

Eden & Metin

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Metin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sputrip, Owner at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi Eden & Metin,

It was a great group last Saturday. Thank you so much for your more than wonderful review. It really made my day :-)

All the best to you both,

Gorka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gaudi walking tour with Tattie”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We booked the walking tour very easily online before arriving in Barcelona. We have 3 children from 11-18 and Tatiana was really engaging, very quirky, welcoming and very obviously loved her city. It took about 2 hours but was so interesting that the time went fast, even my 11 year old son did not mind all the walking and his "WOW" as we exited the Metro and were confronted with the Sagrada Familia was worth it all. We were in a tour group of about 12 with mixed natonalities. I highly recommend Runner Bean Tours!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sputrip, Owner at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hi Michelle,

I am glad to hear that you had such a great time with Tati. You are right: she really is in love with her city (who wouldn't be? ;-) and her passion for it is contagious.

Thank you so much,

Ann-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This tour is FREE but shouldn't be!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I joined the 4:30 Old City Tour in August 2014 with a large group of international students from around Europe studying Spanish, some independents travelers, some couples, and a newly wed couple. The ages ranged from early 20s to myself and wife in our middle 50s. Being more mature and traveled and seeking knowledge of the human experience, culture, history, and politics of the world around us, I experienced this free walking tour with much enjoyment and intensity that the average participant may not be seeking. Thus for me, the amount of knowledge, interpretation, and analysis delivered by Ann Marie was incredible, amazing, as well as very welcoming. To me, Ann Marie not only an expert "city guide" but more likely a PhD/MA level "expert" of Catalan culture, society, history, and thought. She is a well of information that seems deep and never ending. As typical travelers however, they may only experience the superficial layer of "guide services" that Ann Marie provides without noticing her passion, the ease and flow of information, and the expertise she brings to her tour. By way of visuals brought to, and sites and artifacts attended to, Ann Marie led our group seamlessly through the intricate narrow corridors of the old city and the Gothic area detailing sights not visible nor realized by visitors unless informed through self research, by high level guidebooks, or by experts. Significant unnoticed historical artifacts laden within historic sites and buildings are pointed out, discussed, and connected to the presentation in order to bring life and imagination to Catalan history as well as its place in world history. As many of the younger listeners imagined and enjoyed information of the political dramas, atrocities, and shocking aspects presented, few were ever unengaged in Ann Marie's presentation. A particularly useful technique of involving attendees within some role-play whilst presenting kept the tour lively and personal for all. Although the tour lasted about 2 and a half hours, it went by rather quickly. The pace was leisurely but well paced. I did break out into a sweat many times and stood in the shade with a cold drink purchased nearby to cool down. All in all, I have paid for and joined many previous subpar to average "tours" throughout Europe and around the world after being enticed by much glossy attractive over inflated advertising. Runner Bean is the first modestly advertised high quality packed tour I have ever participated in. The "tip as you like rather than payment" philosophy and policy is straight forward and non-judgmental. You tip according to your judgment of worth for yourself, no guilt or obligation. Ann Marie works hard, entertains, involves, reaches out, and ensures that you get what you want from her tours. This is very much appreciated and apparently novel in the guiding business. This tour is free but it really SHOULDN'T be. It has such enormous value and worth provided by those who are invested, interested, and generous with their knowledge. It should charge a minimum of at least 15€ but it doesn't. They trust and leave it up to you. A first for me!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Samherbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sputrip, Owner at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Wow! What can I say but thank you. What a boost to one's confidence after reading such an amazing feedback. Thank you for taking your time to write his. It is greatly appreciated.

Hope to meet you again soon sometime :-)

Ann-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lowri was remarkable!!!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing tour thru the old city with Lowri. Every corner she had a remarkable story to tell, her personality was vibrant and she kept our 2 girls (10 & 12 years old) interested. Thanks again for your spirit and great dinner recommendation.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sputrip, Owner at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hi Michelle,

I am glad you and your daughters enjoyed Lowri's tour and her dinner recommendation :-). Thank you so much for posting this review and supporting a local company. It really helps.

Hope we will see you again soon in Barcelona,

Gorka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Runner Bean Tours Barcelona also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Runner Bean Tours Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing