We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be!”
Review of Be Sound Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Be Sound Hostel
Ranked #243 of 736 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I stayed a week on my own here and had some of the best times of my life and met some people that im in touch with years later.The hostel is nice and clean with a lot of activities organised for the guests. Staff is very friendly and helpful as well. The very best part of the hostel is the roof terrace. This is def the place to stay in Barcelona!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SummerCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2012

This was my very first hostel experience, and thankfully I wasn't disappointed. Had a nice time at this hostel. Went there in March with 3 friends, hence the dorms were quiet as it was the non-tourist season.The dorms with bunk beds were a little cramped but hey, this is a hostel! I really wasn't expecting a large, airy room. The washrooms were clean and maintained well. Would recommend this hostel to people who are looking to just spend the night under a roof and the day spent exploring Barcelona. I would definitely stay here again. Couple of friends who stayed here on my recommendation had good things to say about this hostel.

Pros:
* 3-minute walk to the Metro Paral. lel
*Walking distance to La Rambla
*Very friendly staff
*Good security, need an access card to even enter the hostel building
*Big lockers
*Good supply of Hot water! (might not matter in summer, but it was a big deal to me as I went there in Mid-March)

Cons
*Breakfast not so great, but it's free so it is not really a deal killer
*Location might be a bit sketchy at night, though I wasn't personally hassled by anyone

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theflaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We stayed there for 2 nights and had a great time. The location was great, rooms were big and the lockers were HUGE! I love the fact that the lifts were big enough to fit 2 people plus luggage and both upstairs and Downstairs were nice places to hang out. OMG and the pillows.. well lets just say there was actually some pillow to sleep on!!! HEAVEN :)
My only complaint would be the showers, there was not really alot of privacy because people could come in if they needed to use the toilet or brush their teeth.. but all in all was awesome!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

i stayed in this hostel for three nights with my friends. We loved this hostel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean. They offer very basic breakfast comprising of bread, cornflakes, coffee and juice. The kitchen is very well equipped. The also run various activities. I did their walking tour and had a great time. I loved my stay here and highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudeshna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I've been three for a week and it was great, everything clean and neat, you get free breakfast and you are in the city centre, the staff is nice and helpful, you can join tours and parties organized by them, or you can just chill with people from around the world. It is great!

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Bartek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Had twenty hours of bus rides in two days turned up tired wanting a good rest. we were put in the room right near reception which is near the computers and a couch. went and asked people to keep the noise down and they said i didnt know people slept in barcelona. we then tried again later to ask the receptionist to keep the noise down but he was the one talking and taking part in mannerisms that should be done in your own time. the next day we talked to the new receptionist where we asked for a discount they sounded like they were going to do somehing but two days passed we kept asking the manager was conviently never called . the last night the noise went back to loud and we had lack of sleep once again the hostel may be best to not rent the room out. during all of this the shower had flooded reception where we gpt yelled at by a staff member told to get over it and that was that. we paid good money for this place it was not worth a cent. i strongly reccommend anyone who wants to get sleep or talked to with respect by staff do not stay here. most dissappointing hostel in two months of travelling.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jchch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

when you book a room with Be Sound do not expect a 'room'... you will recieve a hallway with beds in it. I am very skinny and I barely squeezed between the beds and the lockers opposite.
In regards to walking distance from things it is fantastic however I cannot say it s a good location because the area is sketchy. disgusting toilets and kitchen.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akmal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Backpackers BCN
Backpackers BCN
#44 of 736 in Barcelona
258 reviews
Eixample
The Hipstel
The Hipstel
#175 of 736 in Barcelona
681 reviews
Eixample
Barcelo Hostel
Barcelo Hostel
#196 of 736 in Barcelona
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Sant Jordi Gracia Hostel
Sant Jordi Gracia Hostel
#53 of 736 in Barcelona
138 reviews
Eixample
Bed&Bike Barcelona
Bed&Bike Barcelona
#23 of 736 in Barcelona
241 reviews
Eixample
Urbany Hostel BCN GO!
Urbany Hostel BCN GO!
#70 of 736 in Barcelona
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Sound Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Sound Hostel

Address: C/Noude la Rambla, 91, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 736 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: £16 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Sound Hostel Barcelona: Cheap, comfortable and original hostel in town Enjoy your Barcelona experience to the most, staying at an original and cheap hostel: Be Sound Hostel Barcelona! Booking at Be Sound Hostel will grant you the best facilities for the cheapest price. That way you can experience the good side of Barcelona. Have a pleasant time during your visit when staying right in the center of Barcelona, next las Ramblas and the port! We offer you the best facilities at Be Sound Hostel Barcelona Free Walking Tour Free Wi-Fi in-room Free lockers with electronic key Free Barcelona maps Guest Kitchen available Reception open 24 hours Activities like: Pub crawls, tapas and flamenco… Great sunny terrace Beautiful and comfortable common rooms Air conditioning and Heating International & helpful staff Luggage storage lockers Coin operated laundry and dryer machines Sheets or towels can be rented for just 2,50 € Bike parking Best location for party! Ramblas to Paral·lel, both ideal strips to find restaurants, shops, bars, and a long etc, the best nightlife route in town!! The site of this Be Hostel is a refurbished building with an ample and sunny terrace plus balconies on each floor overlooking the city escapes of neighboring Raval. The interior is laid out comfortably, making it the best place to make friends and relax when not sightseeing or partying around town. Be Sound Hostel Barcelona surroundings A stones throw away is one Barcelona‘s landmark sites, a Gaudi masterpiece; Palau Guell. Other nearby curiosities include Santa Monica Arts Center, Las Ramblas, the Columbus Monument, Maremagnum and the Port. On a different note, but also nearby, are an array of some of the most happening clubs and bars in the city. Places like Moog (an important European techno venue), London Bar, Boulevard Club, Manolo Bar (skater’s bar), Apolo (open 7 days a week), and many more, will keep you going till you drop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Be Sound Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Sound Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing