We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Modernista Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Palauet Living Barcelona
Ranked #153 of 738 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Great location, luxurious accommodation with so much space and really helpful staff. Will definitely go back.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank sheelaghboyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanaSantamaria, Director General at El Palauet Living Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear Friend,
Thank you for having chosen El Palauet Living BArcelona during your stay in Barcelona!
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you will next be in town.

See you soon
Best regards from Sunny Barcelona

Jana Santamaria
Directora
THE FAMOUS TOLERANT AND VIBRANT SPIRIT OF BARCELONA IS WAITING FOR YOU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed here on a business trip and found the hotel to be an absolute gem. The location was perfect...walkable to tons of shopping and not too far from Las Ramblas. The suite we stayed in had a fully stocked kitchen and we were greeted every morning with an in-room cooked breakfast from our personal assistant. Anything we needed was cheerfully and quickly provided by the staff at any time. We even had in-room pedicures and then a massage on the beautiful roof top spa (which was probably one of the best massages I've had in a long time). Thank you to El Palauet's staff for making our trip an amazing experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanaSantamaria, Director General at El Palauet Living Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear Friends,

Dear Friend,
First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen El palauet Living Barcelona during your recent stay in Barcelona!
Your feed-back is of great importance. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you will next be in town.

We love that we could make your dreams.....

THE FAMOUS TOLERANT AND VIBRANT SPIRIT OF BARCELONA IS WAITING FOR YOU.

GLAD TO ASSIST YOU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

It is rare when you see cool photos of a hotel room and then arrive and find that the rooms actually are better than the pictures. El Palauet is such a place. I can't believe the fit and finish of the entire apartment, it is like a magazine photo shoot. I couldn't stop staring at the ceilings, the moldings, the windows, and every square inch has been well thought out -- down to the fully-stocked, full-size refrigerator. The dramatic lighting scheme and automation takes it over the top. This is one of the nicest places I've stayed. The apartment experience really made my stay exceptional, way beyond any hotel. I actually found myself looking forward to heading back to apartment after a day traipsing around Barcelona.

The service level is beyond even the top hotels I've stayed in. Alex and Nuria were not only extremely helpful, but friendly and genuine and truly made the experience special. The in-suite breakfast is over the top good. The entire staff made it feel like you are staying in their home. Truly exceptional place. The location is also perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YouShouldGoHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanaSantamaria, Director General at El Palauet Living Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear Friend,
First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen El palauet Living Barcelona during your recent stay in Barcelona!
Your feed-back is of great importance. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you will next be in town.

THE FAMOUS TOLERANT AND VIBRANT SPIRIT OF BARCELONA IS WAITING FOR YOU.

GLAD TO ASSIST YOU!

Directora
Jana Santamaria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Great design, spacious apartments and very high tech. The service though is not hotel-standard, though understandable due to there only being 6 "rooms" which in reality are 2 bedroom apartments. While the high design is unique and the location is great, some of the quirks quickly become annoying such as an elevator that would constantly get stuck due to the double door system (if a guest forgets to close either inner or outer door, you have to go to that floor and close it before the elevator can move again) and the ceiling mirrors on top of the showers, where from the entrance foyer you can see people taking a shower.

The "personal assistant", while I felt was trying his best, wasn't great with English and was fairly hard to get in touch with. This is more a place to stay if you're familiar with the city and don't need any hotel services (room service or business services for example - no one picked up over the course of an hour when we were trying to order room service and mailing a letter entailed walking to the nearest post office).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sting800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palauet, Directora at El Palauet Living Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Dear Friend,

Thank you for letting us knows your opinion.
We always appreciate hearing from our guests, because your comments are very important for us.

THE FAMOUS TOLERANT AND VIBRANT SPIRIT OF BARCELONA IS WAITING FOR YOU.

GLAD TO ASSIST YOU!

Directora
Jana Santamaria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

A very nice experience. Rooms were surprising spacious and ultra-modern.
Staff could not have tried harder to help and to please. Quaint elevator and secret rooftop oasis that is beyond belief. My family and I loved this place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scooter518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanaSantamaria, Director General at El Palauet Living Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Dear Friend,
First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen El palauet Living Barcelona during your recent stay in Barcelona!
Your feed-back is of great importance. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you will next be in town.

THE FAMOUS TOLERANT AND VIBRANT SPIRIT OF BARCELONA IS WAITING FOR YOU.

GLAD TO ASSIST YOU!

Directora
Jana Santamaria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This is one of the most t superb and memorable hotels of my many years of privileged travel experiences worldwide: El Palauet Living Barcelona. It is more than a hotel because it is a destination experience in itself, living in Barcelona as an insider, not like being in a hotel. El Palauet (it means “little palace” in the Catalan language) has only six suites, and they are immense, each with two bedrooms, two baths, a huge living room, separate sitting/office area-- I loved the complimentary broadband wi-fi and sat at my desk happily writing on my laptop. I had a full kitchen, completely equipped, all utensils, appliances, modern and high-Europe-design accoutrements, and a full dining room. I had the luxury of what they call a “personal assistant”, more than a butler or valet, at my service 24/7. Johnny, his name, told me about this exquisite mondernista (Catalan version of art nouveau) building built in 1906 by a famed architect contemporary to the great Antoni Gaudi (whom you should Google) whose imaginative and undulating buildings are just down the street. Gaudi is most known for Barcelona’s iconic Sagrada Familia. Johnny cooked my breakfast which was lavish and included eggs Catalan style, delicious and even with a unique “design” (I later learned he studied with one of Catalonia’s most celebrated chefs.) He also instructed me -- and instruction is a must -- how to operate the touch-screen “room intelligence” controls for climate control, music (great selection, and because there re many many high- quality speakers, I better enjoyed the music rich in quality while low in volume), also controls for the automatic curtains on the vast picture windows.
Bathrooms have gigantic “waterfall” showerheads, and the master bathroom is complimented by an additional room containing a big bathtub where the highlight is chromatherapy ... a progression of every color in the spectrum changing seamlessly and almost mesmerizing and relaxing in that room. Most memorable for me was the “Japanese style” combination toilet-bidet, I must say a high-tech human-friendly “luxury” even for that particular activity, hygienic, refreshing, paper-free, and hands free. Although not necessary, there were generous rolls of toilet paper.
The elaborate original modernism design -- elaborately carved ceiling adornments and decor -- were either perfectly preserved or perfectly restored. Special high-tech non-porous surfaces, in the kitchen counters and other tabletop surfaces are industrial strength yet soft to touch and highly clean, in creams and other warm colors. Embedded within these surfaces are subtly illuminated vignette designs that mimic the original patters on the walls and ceilings from over a hundred years ago. As if there were a conversation between them.
Hence the most ultra modern comforts -- and i really mean Comforts -- mingle within the authentic atmosphere and aesthetic of this treasured modernism period building
Yes, staying here I felt I was experiencing Barcelona from the “inside”. And with Johnny’s orientation even more so.
I exit my suite through my stalwart front door, stepped into my own marble foyer and into the antique elevator, perfectly restored, yet another “living experience”. Then out the almost private entry hallway , out the massive antique wood front door and, as i stepped onto the sidewalk of Passeig de Gracia, i knew i was exactly where I was supposed to be in Barcelona. (You encounter no lobby while entering or leaving...a drawing room set off from the entry hall, is where you register while relaxing on a sofa enjoying, a welcome drink and tapa, and reviewing your “guest profile and preferences” that you had sent via email .)
This is the charming neighborhood where the swank Passeig de Gracia (a tree-lined avenue often compared to New York’s (less lovely) Fifth Avenue, becomes much narrower as it crosses the major intersection of Avinguda Diagonal and morfs into a lovely tranquil street with a neighborhood ambiance and a garden-parkway with trees and statuary in the center.
Jimmy oriented me and accompanied me for a short walk pointing out some favorite shops, restaurants and patisseries (of course he could order anything I wish and bring it and serve in my room). At the same time he is admirably knowledgeable about history, architecture, cuisines and generously shared his knowledge in a way that was more meaningful to me as a visitor.
I stayed three nights with my partner, and with all the sightseeing, concerts and museums, we were always drawn back to our suite because we felt we were missing something by not being there. Additionally, we enjoyed going up to the private garden rooftop to use the open-air jacuzzi, Finnish sauna, have a massage in the spa area, then simply rest and have a drink in the quiet al fresco lounging area designed specifically for that purpose.
We will be returning to EL Palauet, and are considering combining a future stay there both before and after a Mediterranean Cruise out of Barcelona. Either way, I fell El Palauet is not a place to stay just one time, and to me it IS Barcelona.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank panchosays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanaSantamaria, Director General at El Palauet Living Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Dear Friend,
Thank you for having chosen El Palauet Living BArcelona during your stay in Barcelona!
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you will next be in town.

See you soon
Best regards from Sunny Barcelona

Jana Santamaria
Directora
THE FAMOUS TOLERANT AND VIBRANT SPIRIT OF BARCELONA IS WAITING FOR YOU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: choisir une suite à un étage élévé
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 816sylvaind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 520 in Barcelona
1,438 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
#20 of 520 in Barcelona
844 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#70 of 520 in Barcelona
4,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Eixample
Midtown Apartments
Midtown Apartments
#4 of 738 in Barcelona
199 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Aparthotel Arai
Aparthotel Arai
#1 of 738 in Barcelona
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Palauet Living Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palauet Living Barcelona

Address: Passeig de Gracia, 113, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Gracia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 738 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: £393 - £743 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palauet Living Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21st-century ultra-modern decor and luxuries harmonize with the preserved 1906 modernista (Art Nouveau) artistry of this landmark suite only boutique hotel. Six two-bedroom, two-bath, extremely spacious apartment-style suites (1,615 square feet), can accommodate up to four guests. Similar in layout, the suites feature a fully-equipped kitchen, dining room, living room, stellar contemporary furnishings, and state-of-the-art technology throughout. Guests enjoy utmost privacy at the rooftop private spa and terrace. Spa facilities include a wooden Finnish sauna, treatment rooms and massage tables, outdoor saltwater jacuzzi with hydro-massage “beds”, and solarium for sun tanning.The bar and al-fresco lounge area are ideal for yoga, simply relaxing, or for gatherings. A personal assistant is assigned to each suite throughout your stay: multilingual, knowledgeable about Barcelona tourism, museums, shopping, entertainment and dining, they can make all your arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Palauet Living Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palauet Living Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
El Palauet Living Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing