We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious! Highly recommend”

The Barcelona Taste
Ranked #9 of 167 Food & Drink in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The city's first gastronomical tapas tour, The Barcelona Taste is about food. And lots of it! On this 2-3 hour food tour we stop in 3-4 small food establishments in either the famous Gothic or the lovely Gracia neighborhoods of Barcelona. Our venues range from high-quality specialty shops to home-style tapas restaurants, each one with its own scrumptious specialties for you to taste. A knowledgeable and very friendly guide will safely lead you through this labyrinth of a neighborhood, all the while sharing stories about Barcelona life, food, and history. You will enjoy all the cuisine, and, due to the small size of the group, you will also enjoy a more personal, relaxed experience.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delicious! Highly recommend”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Me and my boyfriend did a Barcelona Taste tour during our long weekend break to Barca inb November and it was absolutely brilliant. Due to visiting in the off-season, we were the only 2 people on the tour with the lovely Jo, so we felt totally spoilt. Jo was so easy to be around that it felt like we were dining with an old friend rather than a tour. We visited 4 places all together. The cheese shop for wine and cheese tasting was cool, run by a Scottish lady who was a real character. Then Catalan tapas at a family run restaurant which was delicious and where we ate our own body weight in food and had the famous Vermouth and soda. Next was a Basque Pinxos restuarant, again, fantastic food and we tried out local cider and wine. Lastly was the dessert stop, 3 classic Catalan desserts accompanied by 3 of the most beautiful dessert wines I have ever tasted. It was one of the highlights of our trip, thanks so much to Jo and Barca Taste, wonderful

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Deeds881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    29
    9
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth the money”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We took this tour on our first day of a long weekend break, which was a good idea as we were introduced to foods that we wouldn't have known existed on our own. Those fiery looking plates of sauteed chillies were actually sweet and mild, to our surprise. The blood sausage was delicate, soft and rich. Salty potatoes had a complex depth, with an interesting traditional sauce.

The company was great, and varied, and we felt we got our money's worth. Would do it again if we go back to Barcelona.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheWeasels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our trip to Barcelona.”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

A bit pricey but not any more than theatre or concert tickets and highly recommended. We're from the States and ignored the advice of a friend from Spain who claimed these tapas tours are too touristy, overpriced and we could do well enough finding good tapas bars on our own. Maybe, but this event was so much more than tapas sampling. There was lots of laughter, just the right amount of historical education sprinkled in, making of new friends who we kept running into around town, and our friend was wrong; we never would have found these little gems on our own. If I'm fortunate to ever vacation in Barcelona again, I'll probably take the tour again, even it's to the same establishments. My wife, grown daughter and myself had a terrific time in Barcelona, one of the must see cities of the world, and this is one of the must do's in Barcelona.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food on a stroll through Barcelona's Gothic quarter.”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Jo escorted my wife, myself and a Boston foodie around Barcelona's Gothic quarter on 1/19/12. We visited a formatgeria (cheesery) followed by Catalan and Basque tapas restaurants and finally, Bodega La Palma for dessert. The food was excellent, Jo was knowledgeable and great company, and we got to see a lot more of the Gothic quarter than we would have otherwise. We had a great time and The Barcelona Taste keeps groups small to keep the tour feeling like a fun walk with friends. Really can't recommend the experience enough.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Get acquainted with tapas quickly”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This is an all inclusive walking/eating/drinking tour to 4 different tapas establishments, that includes tastings (we had our fill, plus some!) and drinks (alcoholic and non). Our group was really small, so we had a chance to quiz Joe on other places to eat & sites to see while in Barcelona. I would definitely recommend this as one of the first things to do, as it gives you a chance to quickly become acquainted with the Ramblas and Gothic quarter. We returned to one of the tapas places several more times to try their other cuisine and indulge in their desserts (this wonderful french toast dish)! My husband and I had a great time and would highly recommend this. www.thebarcelonataste.com for reservations.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank austinfoodie_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barcelona Taste also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to The Barcelona Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing