We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOPS for Value, Friendliness, Helpfulness!!”
Review of Hostal Baler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Baler
Ranked #203 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 November 2012

The staff at Hostal Baler is really quite friendly, courteous, helpful, and accommodating! The rooms, though small, do give sufficient room for moving about. The use of a private bathroom was a deal-clincher! Upon entering the room, the air was welcomingly fresh--the usable window had been left 'cracked open.' The room and bathroom were basically clean, though a couple long, black hairs were found in the bathroom, and one in the sheets (which were clean). There were three very tiny ants in the bathroom. The shower was small, yet sufficient! Fresh towels, as well as shampoo and body gel samples were supplied. I was able to leave my large, heavy suitcase with the reception staff. My room was away from the street; the window opened onto a small courtyard below. I slept well, tho I was there only a few hours.
The breakfast was dry cereals, pre-packaged breakfast rolls, and drinks from a coffee machine (good). Although I needed to leave at 3:30 am, I was welcomed to partake of breakfast (being gluten sensitive, tho, there was nothing for me to enjoy).
There is a Hipermarche, as well as neighborhood markets and restaurants near-by. Also rather close are metro stops for 2 or 3 different lines.
The owners were quite helpful re working with the internet--yet nothing resulted in it being available in my room. I spent a couple hours in the reception area with the internet, as well as being friendly with their doberman and chatting with family members (owners). It was like being at my aunt's, they were so friendly and open!
I will definitely stay there again when I return to Barcelona!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LightSplash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2012

Small basic family owned hotel, basic room, very basic breakfast, but value for it's money. Good nights of sleep, hot water in the morning, ... what more do you need if you're only a few footsteps from Plaça d'Espana, carrer de la Creu roberta or the Estaçion Sants area. Metrostation at 100 meter from the door. If you expect luxury search further, if you expect to spent a lot of time in your room search further, but if you need a bed, a shower and some breakfast in the morning you can read this ....

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night in July. Room was very clean but a little drab. The a/c worked OK but I think they controlled the temp. Some street noise filtered up to the room but I was still able to sleep. Hotel is located 5 minutes from train and metro. I would recommend for a one night stop over but if you are looking to stay longer; I have found better budget accommodations nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SashaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I've spent only one night in a single room. The lady and the man who worked at the receptions were polite. My room was OK in size, it was clean (althought when I first came in, it appeared that previous guests were smoking, although I asked for a non-smoking room).

The bathroom and the room were very clean, there was enough hot water and barely any noise from the street or other rooms.

There was no way I could connect successfully to the WiFi network from my room (although they did provide me with the password and all), so I went to the reception/breakfast area to use the WiFi.

I left very early, so I can't say what the breakfast was like.

This was a good stay, the hostel does offer a lot of good stuff (breakfast, ensuite bathrooms in all rooms, WiFi...) but I think it might be just a bit overpriced, comparing to other hostels.

Room Tip: My room was No 22 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damjanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

slept at the hostel for 2 night, was very clean,good atmosphere, nice family that runs the place and a good price for people that prefer a quit place near the Barcelona sans train station 5min walk. http://www.hostalbaler.com/

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orit_zamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is a small, cozy hotel located within walking distance to Plaça d'Espanya, where you can find everything you need - shopping centre, plenty of restaurants, metro station and bus stations for the airport bus, and for the Hop-on-Hop-off tourist buses.

Our room was quite small, but very cozy, and the bathroom was clean. The staff was very helpful, despite their limited knowledge of English. I loved the breakfast at this place! There was plenty to choose from, quite surprisingly for the hotel of this size.

This hotel is really great for budget travellers - the value for money is excellent. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Busen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We stayed in Hostal Baler a few weeks ago and had a fabulous stay. Great family run business, professional, but personal. Only downside was the sound from other guests coming back to their rooms after a big night out. For the price, this hotel is a bargain and well located in the Sants district, near metro's, bus stops and a great shopping street, including markets. Would stay here again for sure. Budget conscious should seriously consider this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 739 in Barcelona
1,617 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#122 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#67 of 739 in Barcelona
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#100 of 517 in Barcelona
3,904 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#203 of 517 in Barcelona
3,145 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 517 in Barcelona
4,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Baler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Baler

Address: C/ Torre d'en Damians 11C, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £47 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Baler 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hostal Baler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Baler Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing