We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for beach holidays, Very-good for beach & city holidays!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bed and Beach Barcelona Guesthouse
Ranked #95 of 305 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent for beach holidays, Very-good for beach & city holidays!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We enjoyed 3 nights stay at this guesthouse from Easter Friday to Easter Monday.
The owner or his wife will always be there when you are checking-in. You'll get a tourist map from them and they will tell you the best ways to get to the attractions from this guest-house.

Getting there - From the airport take the Aerobus to Plaza Catalunia (5.90 Euros each way per adult). You will get down at the northern part of Plaza Catalunia. Cross the street to go the eastern side of Plaza Catalunia (this is at your left hand side, ~40m). Here you'll see a bus stop with time-table of bus # 41. It would be good to buy a T10 ticket before boarding this bus (else for each adult you have to pay 2.15 Euros to the guesthouse). Just for safety, ask the driver if it goes to 'Frederic Mompou - Avda Icaria' stop (if I remember correctly, this is the 2nd last of bus 41 in this direction). If the driver says "Si" just get in and enjoy the city for ~15 minutes. After getting down at the bus stop, immediately cross the road (not much traffic in this area) and continue along the footpath in the direction of the bus. Take the first left turn (do not go till the crossing in front), this is a very narrow one way street. You will see some very old buildings on either side of this street and number 26 is on the right hand side of this very narrow street. The B&B Barcelona will be written in small letters on the letter box and the entrance is a small single heavy wooden door.

Amenities - The building itself is old but its inside is renovated and has all facilities. Our room was fitted with a/c machine to beat the heat at night. We took the double room with private toilet/bathroom and common kitchen. It has all the basic things one needs to cook with coffee m/c & tea-bags always available (make yourself). The roof-top terrace with easy-chairs can be enjoyed up to 22:00 hrs. I think no room is bigger that 20 sq. meters in size.

Location - The bus-stop 'Frederic Mompou' delivers a good connection. Else you can walk north-west ~10 min. from the guesthouse to the nearest metro-stop Bogatell (L4, yellow-line). To hit the sand one needs to walk ~10 min to the south. There is a supermarket within a shopping-mall at 5 min walking distance. On holidays the is a small kiosk open up to 00:00 hrs at ~6min walking distance where you get the most basic stuff (milk, juice, bread, water, etc.).
While booking I was a little concerned about the location since I wanted to cover a lot of spots in the city within a short time. But after my trip I can only recommend this hotel.

Facilities - Bikes are available for rent @ 7 Euros for 1/2-day or 10 Euros for full-day. Printing facilities (only for a few pages) are also there with 50 cents per page black&white only. Lots of books & magazines were also there at the reception shelf. Beach towels are available at rent and umbrellas can also be requested in case of rain. If you have any questions, the owners are always willing to search out the answer and are very helpful.

They charge 20 Euros as a security deposit for the a/c remote-control and for the keys. Disposable slippers are given to all guests since they have strict no shoes policy inside the rooms. Evey thing in the guesthouse was very neat and clean.

Cons- I really have to think about it. The walls are thin and so if other guests are using the common bathrooms you can hear the shower water running. Of if people are out there in the kitchen or in their rooms chatting, then you can hear their voice from other rooms. WiFi router was not strategically located so that the furthest room can have decent signal strength.

I would like stay here again!

Room Tip: Probably the double bed rooms with attached toilet facilities have window facility!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debayan_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    34
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
53
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vietnam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Bed and beach was a super cute place. Exceptionally clean. I particularly liked the rooftop. The rooms were tiny without a window but the toilet was close and beds were comfortable. They give you slippers because shoes aren't allowed inside. That probably really helped with keeping it clean. The reception is only open for certain hours which could be a little tricky for some people but it worked out OK for us. The receptionist was very friendly, welcoming and willing to explain what to see and how to get around. Even though we didn't use it I liked how the fridge and shelves were numbered with room numbers. There was also coffee making supplies. It was close to transport bus 41 goes into town, bus 92 goes to Sagrada Familia and there are three metro stations all a similar walking (5-10mins) distance. The beach and marina have an abundance of restaurants. On Sunday after we arrived I particularly enjoyed watching all the beach volleyball and other activities on the bustling beach. The recommendation to the restaurant street nearby was brilliant and well worth the walk. I do recommend this place and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Amazingly helpful staff that made good restaurant recommendations and were ready to answer whatever questions we had. Hostel is beautiful, cosy and extremely clean and safe. It is in a nice location, five minutes from the beach and ten minutes from the metro station. Buses to the centre of Barcelona run just around the corner of the hostel. They have a lovely (and very romantic!!) rooftop terrace where you can enjoy your breakfast in the mornings and a glass of wine in the evenings. Good kitchen with everything you need and an own shelf for every room in the fridge and in the cupboard. The only minus that we could make up is that the walls of the rooms are quite thin and you can hear pretty much everything that is going on in the next room. But, with the fact that all our neighbours were very nice and quiet, that wasn't actually a problem at all! We slept like babies there :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoran
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Hi
We came here with 2 young children. We got the studio apartment, which had a very comfy twin bed, + 3 more beds. (our son used one of them and the othe two were not in use).
The apartment is well lit during the day, has windows, great atmosphere to it --- the kitchen is a good size and has everything you need. Towels were provided and we received more when we asked, very friendly staff...we arrived very late for check-in and they didn't charge us.
Very close to the beach. a big supermarket, children's playground, close to the metro and busses -- just a fantastic location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shchif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

At this price, this is the absolute best place I have ever stayed in!!! It is spotlessly clean, and run by an extremely friendly and helpful team. It has a rooftop terrace for guests to use overlooking Barcelona, which is lovely.
Be mindful that some rooms are without window and there are no sinks in the rooms, but the shared facilities are kept in such a perfect condition that this is really not a problem. There is a nice little kitchen with a fridge, a hotplate and a microwave, so it's really like home from home - except it's by the beach in Barcelona!! If I ever go to Barcelona again, I'll be sure to stay here!!!

Room Tip: Check whether the room has a window to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This was our first holiday in a long time and one which we will never forget, one of the main reasons being due to the amazing bed and beach guesthouse. The location was perfect as it was very close to the beach and also the nearby public transport made the city centre easily accessible. The room we had was very clean and had everything we needed, the remote controlled air conditioning being particularly useful in the heat! The rooftop terrace was a nice touch which we used several times, whether it be enjoying breakfast first thing in the morning, or when having a glass of wine in the evening before going out. The staff made us feel very welcome. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by the manager who was extremely helpful and advised us on the local area, from where the local supermarket is, to where the best places are to eat. During our stay the staff were more than happy to answer any of our queries, and even if they didn't know the answer's, they were willing to research it for us. If we were to return to barcelona in the future, we would definitely stay at the bed and beach guesthouse again and would strongly recommend it to anyone. Thanks!

Room Tip: En-suite bathroom definitely worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The location of Bed and Beach is great! It is within walking distance to some really tasty restaurants, bakeries, and (of course) the beach! It was very clean and cosy. I really liked the decor- nice and bright and airy! The bathroom and kitchen area is shared between the people on the same floor as you, but this was never a problem for us as we rarely saw/heard the other guests. The managers were SO HELPFUL! This hotel really is a gem; you should stay there!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaudySaucer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
#234 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Ibis Styles Barcelona City Bogatell
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Apartaments Sata Olimpic Village Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Can Seuba
#179 of 305 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Poblenou
No photo provided
Taulat Apartments
#573 of 722 in Barcelona
2.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Brun Barcelona B&B
Brun Barcelona B&B
#83 of 305 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Beach Barcelona Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Beach Barcelona Guesthouse

Property: Bed and Beach Barcelona Guesthouse
Address: Passatge General Bassols 26, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica , La Vila Olimpica del Poblenou
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bed and Beach Barcelona Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy, clean, quiet. And just 3 minutes walking to the beach :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bed and Beach Barcelona Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Beach Barcelona Guesthouse Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing