We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bed and Beach Barcelona Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
US$268
US$227
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Praktik Bakery(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ayre Hotel Rosellon(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$382
US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$287
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Barcelona Princess(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$204
US$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
US$220
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Andante(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
US$394
US$354
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$273
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
74
35
9
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
35
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terraceair conditioningminute walkstayed here for nightswould definitely stay here againmicrowavefacilitiesmetro
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and (grown) son and I stayed at the Bed and Beach Barcelona for a week in April. Our "Studio" room was large and immaculately clean with enough beds for five. In addition to the comfortable beds, beautiful wood floors and high ceiling, there is also a fabulous kitchen complete with a full-size stainless steel refrigerator/freezer, glass-top stove and double stainless steel sink, plus dishes, pots and pans, etc. There is a lovely terrace on the top floor with great views of the city.
The staff was amazing. When my wife got so sick that we had to go to the emergency room, the owner accompanied us to the hospital and made sure we got proper medical treatment. They even made us a cake!
Located just a couple of blocks from the Mediterranean, the Bed and Beach is close to Metro and bus stops, a wonderful neighborhood bakery, a super-market and is just a short walk to a nice restaurant district.
If you are looking for a place with a large-screen TV or a mini-bar, this is not the place for you. But if you want clean, quiet comfort, a great staff and easy access to all of Barcelona, the Bed and Beach is just the place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamP763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We enjoyed 3 nights stay at this guesthouse from Easter Friday to Easter Monday.
The owner or his wife will always be there when you are checking-in. You'll get a tourist map from them and they will tell you the best ways to get to the attractions from this guest-house.

Getting there - From the airport take the Aerobus to Plaza Catalunia (5.90 Euros each way per adult). You will get down at the northern part of Plaza Catalunia. Cross the street to go the eastern side of Plaza Catalunia (this is at your left hand side, ~40m). Here you'll see a bus stop with time-table of bus # 41. It would be good to buy a T10 ticket before boarding this bus (else for each adult you have to pay 2.15 Euros to the guesthouse). Just for safety, ask the driver if it goes to 'Frederic Mompou - Avda Icaria' stop (if I remember correctly, this is the 2nd last of bus 41 in this direction). If the driver says "Si" just get in and enjoy the city for ~15 minutes. After getting down at the bus stop, immediately cross the road (not much traffic in this area) and continue along the footpath in the direction of the bus. Take the first left turn (do not go till the crossing in front), this is a very narrow one way street. You will see some very old buildings on either side of this street and number 26 is on the right hand side of this very narrow street. The B&B Barcelona will be written in small letters on the letter box and the entrance is a small single heavy wooden door.

Amenities - The building itself is old but its inside is renovated and has all facilities. Our room was fitted with a/c machine to beat the heat at night. We took the double room with private toilet/bathroom and common kitchen. It has all the basic things one needs to cook with coffee m/c & tea-bags always available (make yourself). The roof-top terrace with easy-chairs can be enjoyed up to 22:00 hrs. I think no room is bigger that 20 sq. meters in size.

Location - The bus-stop 'Frederic Mompou' delivers a good connection. Else you can walk north-west ~10 min. from the guesthouse to the nearest metro-stop Bogatell (L4, yellow-line). To hit the sand one needs to walk ~10 min to the south. There is a supermarket within a shopping-mall at 5 min walking distance. On holidays the is a small kiosk open up to 00:00 hrs at ~6min walking distance where you get the most basic stuff (milk, juice, bread, water, etc.).
While booking I was a little concerned about the location since I wanted to cover a lot of spots in the city within a short time. But after my trip I can only recommend this hotel.

Facilities - Bikes are available for rent @ 7 Euros for 1/2-day or 10 Euros for full-day. Printing facilities (only for a few pages) are also there with 50 cents per page black&white only. Lots of books & magazines were also there at the reception shelf. Beach towels are available at rent and umbrellas can also be requested in case of rain. If you have any questions, the owners are always willing to search out the answer and are very helpful.

They charge 20 Euros as a security deposit for the a/c remote-control and for the keys. Disposable slippers are given to all guests since they have strict no shoes policy inside the rooms. Evey thing in the guesthouse was very neat and clean.

Cons- I really have to think about it. The walls are thin and so if other guests are using the common bathrooms you can hear the shower water running. Of if people are out there in the kitchen or in their rooms chatting, then you can hear their voice from other rooms. WiFi router was not strategically located so that the furthest room can have decent signal strength.

I would like stay here again!

Room Tip: Probably the double bed rooms with attached toilet facilities have window facility!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debayan_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Bed and beach was a super cute place. Exceptionally clean. I particularly liked the rooftop. The rooms were tiny without a window but the toilet was close and beds were comfortable. They give you slippers because shoes aren't allowed inside. That probably really helped with keeping it clean. The reception is only open for certain hours which could be a little tricky for some people but it worked out OK for us. The receptionist was very friendly, welcoming and willing to explain what to see and how to get around. Even though we didn't use it I liked how the fridge and shelves were numbered with room numbers. There was also coffee making supplies. It was close to transport bus 41 goes into town, bus 92 goes to Sagrada Familia and there are three metro stations all a similar walking (5-10mins) distance. The beach and marina have an abundance of restaurants. On Sunday after we arrived I particularly enjoyed watching all the beach volleyball and other activities on the bustling beach. The recommendation to the restaurant street nearby was brilliant and well worth the walk. I do recommend this place and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Amazingly helpful staff that made good restaurant recommendations and were ready to answer whatever questions we had. Hostel is beautiful, cosy and extremely clean and safe. It is in a nice location, five minutes from the beach and ten minutes from the metro station. Buses to the centre of Barcelona run just around the corner of the hostel. They have a lovely (and very romantic!!) rooftop terrace where you can enjoy your breakfast in the mornings and a glass of wine in the evenings. Good kitchen with everything you need and an own shelf for every room in the fridge and in the cupboard. The only minus that we could make up is that the walls of the rooms are quite thin and you can hear pretty much everything that is going on in the next room. But, with the fact that all our neighbours were very nice and quiet, that wasn't actually a problem at all! We slept like babies there :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Hi
We came here with 2 young children. We got the studio apartment, which had a very comfy twin bed, + 3 more beds. (our son used one of them and the othe two were not in use).
The apartment is well lit during the day, has windows, great atmosphere to it --- the kitchen is a good size and has everything you need. Towels were provided and we received more when we asked, very friendly staff...we arrived very late for check-in and they didn't charge us.
Very close to the beach. a big supermarket, children's playground, close to the metro and busses -- just a fantastic location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shchif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews