We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel for a short stay”
Review of Hotel Acta Mimic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Acta Mimic
Ranked #193 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We only stayed here for one night before leaving on a cruise. The location is very close to La Rambla but the neighborhood where the hotel is located is a little seedy. The hotel staff was friendly enough but sometimes not the most efficient. We left a written message at the desk for our friends who arrived later than we did and they never got our message. The room was clean and comfortable enough for a short stay but the hallways were a little dark and strange.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillCapeGirardeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear guest:

We’d like to thank you for taking a few minutes to write your impression of our hotel and share your experience with other fellow travelers. We regret the incident .We Always try to offer our best services. We don’t know what might happen, so we will talk with the people responsible to know more information. And improve about our service.

If you find yourself planning your next stay, please don't hesitate in contacting us. We would love to have you back as a guest.

Kind regards,
Hotel Acta Mimic, Barcelona
mimic@actahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

989 - 995 of 2,843 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

+ Friendly and helpful staff
+ Short walk to La Rambla
+ Light and fancy rooms
+ Very good aircondition
+ Good location

- Not possible to open window
- Uncomfortable and small bed
- Should've had more/bigger pillows

It was all in all a positive stay, and I'd recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

We would like to thank you for choosing us during your recent visit to the city. We appreciate the time that you took to post your comments; your feedback will allow us to improve our service every day. We will consider your feedback for future changes on our Hotel. We hope to have you back with us soon.
Thank you for having chosen the Acta Mimic Hotel for your recent stay in Barcelona City.


King Regards,
Hotel Acta Mimic, Barcelona
mimic@actahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We spent 5 comfortable days at Acta Mimic. It is within walking distance from the Colon statue/the Marina. The hotel is part of that current trend offering small but cute, colourful rooms with modern design, a plentiful breakfast, a great public area including a lounge, a restaurant and a patio plus a great selection and quality of services.
I see many other reviewers complain about the area but this is Raval: multi-cultural, often mixing high-end hotels with clothes hung out to dry. I had absolutely no trouble: it is the second time when I chose Arc del Teatre for my stay in BCN and I have nothing to complain about.
Make a reservation ahead to get a great deal and enjoy Barcelona!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window that you can open. We haven't and I would have preferred it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreeapopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here in November 2011 for the weekend. The hotel looked easy to find off the Ramblas but actually it was in a dodgy area and we had to walk past drug dealers and homeless people to get to the hotel. In fact there were homeless people sleeping outside the hotel which was unpleasant, particularly as we arrived at night and weren't expecting this!
I'd stayed in Barcelona twice before in hotels off the Ramblas which had more of a traditional feel than this hotel with a modern twist.
The room was well laid out and the best had been made of the available space. Nice fixtures and fittings and own brand toiletries were nice touches including the funky shower! A few marks on the wall could have been touched up but that was the only complaint of a room which was well appointed and had a free safety deposit box in the room.
The lifts were quick and there was a lovely terrace area which we visited but being late November was too chilly to sit out on.
Breakfast was included in our price and was plentiful and a good buffet selection.
Reception was clean but small and the staff were welcoming.
There is a luggage area in lockers downstairs and a lounge area where we waited after checking out before heading to the airport.
I would stay here again now I know where it is but I might look to go back to the other hotels I'd stayed in before I booked the Acta Mimic - depending on price of course!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank sunbatherUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Markus T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Great location for getting around Barcelona. 5 minute walk to the bottom of la rambla and about 15 minutes from the marina. Extremely clean and tidy hotel with friendly staff. Very modern inside. Woudl stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katya_d87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

First the neighborhood: My wife and I were excited about the location on the cab ride from the airport. Its close to a lot of activity and the port. However, the activity was begging and prostitution. You'll have to walk to get to the nice shopping district. We knew something was amiss when the cab driver, who didn’t speak English, dropped us off and said, “watch out” while pointing to his eye and then broadly to the neighborhood.

You have to get buzzed into the hotel -another bad sign, but one we overlooked. We checked in with a very nice clerk, then went to our room. Already creeped out from the neighborhood and the cab driver's warning, the lighting in the hallways to the rooms didn't help put us at ease. The walls are painted flat black, and the lights are about hip-height, wall-mounted, red LED lights about every 3 feet down the hall. It felt like we were in a haunted house. We got to the room and, as it shows in the pictures, it was completely white. The stark contrast is awkward, and the minimalist room makes things worse. The linoleum floor was sticky and had small blood stains on it in the bathroom. It also had lots of scuff marks on it like a racquetball court. So did the wall above the head of the bed. The entire wall facing the street was mostly translucent glass. The was a large part that was transparent and it allowed the people in the apartments across the street a good view of the room.

As we looked around the room, it dawned on us that we were in a sex motel. Dark hallways, large mirror in the shower and next to the bed (which was on wheels -a classy touch), one LED lamp above the bed which, by remote, can change into different colors, and no carpet (easy cleanup after guests leave). When my wife and I went downstairs to checkout and find a new hotel we noticed the lube and "sex kits" being sold in the lobby.

Bottom line: There are nicer hotels, in better parts of the city, for less money; stay there instead.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
SERHS Del Port Hotel
SERHS Del Port Hotel
#165 of 520 in Barcelona
681 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Acta BCN 40
Hotel Acta BCN 40
#192 of 520 in Barcelona
806 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#95 of 520 in Barcelona
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#179 of 520 in Barcelona
1,141 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#111 of 520 in Barcelona
2,671 reviews
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#203 of 520 in Barcelona
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acta Mimic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acta Mimic

Address: Calle Arc del Teatre, 58, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#107 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#149 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £46 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Acta Mimic 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Acta Mimic is a centrally located 3 * hotel in Barcelona, located in Ciutat Vella, in the building that housed the old Teatro Colon. It is an innovative design hotel, where it unifies the living room and the bathroom area in one space, avoiding the division of the room in classic compartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Acta Mimic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acta Mimic Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing