We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent tapas and service...”

Celler de Tapas - Universitat
Ranked #2,933 of 9,409 Restaurants in Barcelona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: El Raval
Description: Celler de Tapas is a restaurant in a very nice location of Barcelona. It has a nice terrace and on the inside it has a nice dinning area. On the menu you will find tapas, paella and some nice dishes perfect for children and adults.
Yarm
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas and service...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We found Celler de Tapas just a couple of minutes’ walk from our hotel, the H10, near Place de la Universitat. It was open late, looked fantastic, was busy and the staff’s grasp of English was significantly better than our grasp of Spanish, which made it much easier for us to ask questions about the fairly comprehensive menu.

This was our first experience of Tapas and, to be honest, still rates as one of our best. The food was excellent and, as you’d expect from Tapas, served quickly; we re-ordered a number of times and only stopped due to the risk of not being able to get out of the door at the end of the night.

The place being obscenely busy, but not crowded and service didn’t suffer; our wine was kept topped up throughout and empty plates whizzed away without us noticing.

The atmosphere was excellent and in keeping with a vibrant city; there was a good mix of locals and tourists in there. The restaurant was clean and mixed both traditional and contemporary styles quite nicely. We were pleased to find the wine list not only comprehensive, but reasonably priced and the staff were again happy to talk through recommendations with us and we were again pleased that the recommendations weren’t the most expensive bottles on the wine list.

We just about managed to pack in a pudding before paying the (very reasonable) tab and having a short stroll around the city in an attempt to walk off some of the calories.

It’s a long way to go for Tapas, but we wouldn’t hesitate to go back during our next visit to Barcelona, nor to recommend it to anyone who’s planning on heading that way.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheManWhoIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    138
    84
    48
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good, average and a terrible paella”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Was taken here by a calleugue who came earlier in the week. Most Tapas were very good (scallops, fried egg patatas and sausage, octopus, patatas bravas) and a couple of others too. We washed it down with Imperial Rioja Reserve (€25) which was excellent and good value.

But then we ordered a paella. Over cooked, dried out and totally rubbish. Squid rubbery, muscles dried out and the shells all cracked. we left most of it.

I would go back for tapas but nothing else

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dodswoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Tapas, yes...but ZERO quality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Never ate such disgusting tapasnin my life. You could taste that all served items came rightnout of tin cans. Tortilla was freshly made though...but.the person who made it for sure has no Spanish roots!

Anyway...just bad terribly bad!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbird19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wonderful tapas, we came back for more. But beware the flatbread.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

This place was a 2 minute walk from where we stayed on Calle de Tallers and is open till late. Conveniently located near Universitat metro too.


Good stuff:
The grilled squid, iberico ham, truffle fried eggs with fries and bacon was really good and worth every penny. I enjoyed the grilled vegetables, garlic and olive oil prawns and mediterranean prawns (although its really just barbequeued prawns) too. However I must say I do like prawns and garlic, hence there might be a biased opinion there.

Average Contenders:
Breaded lamb chops and ham croquettes.

Avoid:
Chicken noodle soup - its bland and not great.

Catalan flatbread - on our first visit, the waitress suddenly appeared at our table with a plate of bread and placed it down. We assumed it was complimentary and thanked her for it. However we found it in our bill at the end of the night. Not cool, especially when we already had problems finishing our ordered tapas as it is. We got wiser and asked them to take it away the 2nd time we were there and was not charged for it. Their flatbread isn't great either, the one at Casa Guinart along La Rambla was better.

They also serve the usual cava and sangria and the place is pretty packed with locals when we went to dine around 9pm.

Good place for tapas and nice ambience, just watch out for the flatbread. ;)

Helpful?
Thank xxgwennnxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Modern tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Very good quality tapas with a good selection and good service - but not the traditional, old-fashioned tapas bar. Modern and without much character.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Celler de Tapas - Universitat also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Celler de Tapas - Universitat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing