We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located friendly guest house”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glory Facade Guest House
Ranked #169 of 305 Barcelona B&B and Inns
München
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfectly located friendly guest house”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I stayed in Glory Facade Guest House for 4 nights - 2 in the Picasso room and another 2 in the Miró room. The Picasso room is beautiful, has enough space for 2 people and a big window with much light coming in. Nice room next to the bathroom that you share with a second room.

The Miró room is for single use, but nice and clean with a wardrobe and table, right next to a bath room. Although the Miró room is a bit dark because the window goes to a Patio.

The guest house offers a kitchen with a basic self service breakfast (but every room has a corner in the fridge, so you can buy your own stuff in the supermarket) and a small living room where you can meet other guests or just relax. What I liked best was of course the excellent location (you walk out the house and Sagrada Familia is just meters away) and the helpful tips of the owner regarding (non-tourist) restaurants, things to see and the best connections to sights.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterMUC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    14
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
20
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We were suprised just how nice this guesthouse was for the price. We were lucky and had the Picasso room which had huge windows letting lots of light in and a good view over the back of local apartments.

The bed was comfy with a choice of duvet, spare pillows, lamps on each side, lots of wardrobe space and huge mirrors.

The apartment is big and clean with a nice hot showers and a lounge/dinning area. The other couples staying were very polite which makes the big difference.

When the staff showed us around the apartment, he was very helpful and gave us some top local tips to check out.

The breakfast food provided was great, cereal, toast and juice among other things really helped keep the energy levels up and cost of the trip down.

The only negative I can find about Glory Facade Guest House is that the surrounding area is very quiet at night with not a lot for tourists or younger people looking for a lively night life. The proximity to Sagrada Famila also meant that the food available close was overpriced and somewhat bland. As you can't have it all we weren't too bothered. It's also close to the Metro which means it's easy to get around.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 755herbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed in the Picasso Room for a night en route from Valencia to Southern France. The location was superb for our purposes, because our primary goal for our quick stop-over was to see the Sagrada Familia. However, being right next to the metro made getting down to the port a breeze (and anywhere else you could want to go in Barcelona). We found an accommodating and safe parking garage right around the corner despite the fact that we were there the night of El Clasico! Our host was extra nice in that she waited for us despite our late arrival, and also let us check out late. Noise was not an issue for us. Our room was comfortable!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emsnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at the Glory's Facade Guest House for 3 nights and found everything to be just as advertised. We had the Picasso room which had two large windows giving plenty of light (there were shutter for the mornings though) and a comfortable, clean bed. We had a shared bathroom which was cleaned everyday and the shower was hot and powerful.

A simple breakfast of cereal/toast, juice, coffee and tea was provided in the shared kitchen which was an added bonus to us as we didn't expect this. And the kitchen facility is great if you are travelling on a budget and want to buy food to prepare/cook.

The location was good - right next to the Sagrada Familia and very accessible on the metro line however this meant that restaurants/bars in this area were expensive. The bars all close around midnight too - an advantage/disadvantage depending on what your looking for.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allanah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Overall our stay at the Glory Facade Guest House was just perfect.

We stayed in the Picasso Room - which is indeed kind of small, but in Barcelona you do not need anything more than a comfortable bed to sleep - this you can find there. The room was very clean and bright - same for the bathroom.

The well-designed dining/living room was frequently used by us as well, including watching the latest FC Barcelona match on the flat-screen TV.

The breakfast was decent, with unlimited cornflakes, eggs, toast, marmalade, butter, milk, juice, etc.

The kitchen is equipt with everything you need - from pans, cookers, wine opener, beer opener, can opener, etc.

The location is just perfect, directly in front of the Sagrada Familia Church - an amazing view every morning you leave the house - and the Metro station is at the same crossing (2 mins walk).

Our hosts were very friendly and helpful.

Thus overall we can highly recommend this place to anyone else!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Picassa Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This guest house is more like a hostel than a true guest house. There is no host on site, you're basically sharing an apartment with strangers, and those strangers are usually terribly messy. Breakfast consisted of cornflakes and Cocoa Krispies every morning and no one EVER washed their dishes. My stay was considerably longer than most the other guests: I was there for 8 days, and even though I was told that someone would be by to clean, that never happened. The trash was never emptied, I had to use the same grubby towel the whole time, and the sheets were never changed. That last bit would not have been such an issue if the floors weren't so filthy that I inevitably tracked dirt and dust into my bed every night. The small bathroom is about the size of a postage stamp so that when you're trying to shower, you're fighting the cling of the shower curtain the whole time, AND the drain is so slow, I had to shut the water off ever minute or so lest I flood the entire bathroom. Having a mirror in my room would also have been tremendously helpful in getting ready every morning.
The building itself is VERY noisy. I live on a very busy street in Seattle, so I'm used to late night noise, and that doesn't usually bother me, but this was different. You can hear every movement from every apartment in the building. When I was there, there was another tenant who was either bulimic or pregnant whom I had to hear EVERY night, and then every morning we were awakened to somebody's demolition/renovation (i.e. jackhammering) that went on from 0800 to 1600 every day I was there.
All that aside, this place was fantastically cheap and well located if you're worried about getting lost (not so much if you want to have non-touristy restaurants a stroll away). Next time I think I'll save up a bit more and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SaritaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We were lucky at the time of our trip back in July. A friend happened to be in the city and he was a fountain of information. He guided us from the airport through the Metro system to the B&B it wasn't complicated at all.
From the airport, we had called Bernat (host) who met us at the B&B (on time) and set us up in the back large room, 1 of 4 in the apartment. Wifi is included, No phone, No TV. There are extra bedcovers and a fan.

All rooms shared 2 bathrooms which were cleaned daily. Water pressure was never an issue. The only time the bathrooms weren't clean was when all the guests used them throughout the day. Cést la vie.

The kitchen was well stocked with dry breakfast goods, Buns, Muffins, Cereal. The fridge was stocked with Orange Juice and milk all the time. Each room had a dedicated shelf in the fridge and in the cupboards. Generally the guests had to clean up their own mess, luckily we didn't have any problems with other guests not picking up after themselves.

There is a Grocery store nearby but the fridge shelves are limited so don't buy by volume.

Lots of restaurants to choose from but if you're looking for Tapas you'd need to search out for one. Barcelona doesn't quite work the way the rest of Spain does. There's no Ciesta.

The location is awesome! Right next to Sagrada Familia! Waking up next to a place like this is never dull. I will say though the view is kinda smeared with tourists everywhere but at the end of the day, the tourists leave and the Basilica is left in it's splendor.

The only thing I can complain about, is the lack of extra keys. If there was a chance to even get a spare key for a fee, I would pay it.

Muchos Gracias, Bernat!

Room Tip: Make your request ahead of time. We asked for a quiet room upon our reservation. We got it! The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beginnerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
0.2 mi away
Ayre Hotel Rosellon
Ayre Hotel Rosellon
#123 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hispanos 7 Suiza
Hispanos 7 Suiza
#139 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ole Barcelona Hostel
Ole Barcelona Hostel
#529 of 721 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gaudi Sagrada Familia
Gaudi Sagrada Familia
#131 of 721 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gaudi's Nest
Gaudi's Nest
#10 of 721 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.1 mi away
MH Apartments S. Familia
MH Apartments S. Familia
#201 of 721 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glory Facade Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glory Facade Guest House

Property: Glory Facade Guest House
Address: Mallorca. 414 1ro, 1ra Escalera Izquierda, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Glory Facade Guest House Hotel Barcelona
Glory Facade Guest House Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing