We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic city break excellent location and amazing host!!!”
Review of La Casa Gran B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa Gran B&B
Ranked #32 of 305 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic city break excellent location and amazing host!!!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Had an amzing 2 night break at La Casa Gran. Montse couldn't do enough to help. She emailed in advance the bus and train timetables and arranged champagne and cake as a surprise for my husbands birthday. Montse had left a list of all her recommentdations for eating great to know as we ate with all the locals! Fantastic!! Located close to tour bus stop which we were able to hop on hop off and do a full day of sight seeing.
Room was spotless, airy and bright. Had no problems with noise as the shutters were great.
Breakfast was superb!!! Fresh bred, croissants, cheeses and yoghurts - and freshly squeezed orange juice. Montse went out of her way each da to make sure we had everything we needed any more :) definetely recommend and would definetely return!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahshort1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
104
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

A big comfortable bed, in a large clean room on the second floor of an old building located on an avenue (La Diagonal) that leads to all the interesting places. One can easily walk to the Rambla de Catalunya, the Passeig de Gracia, la Plaça de Catalunya etc. Also close to public transit. A tad noisy because of the traffic but considering the location it is unavoidable unless one is prepared to pay at least double the price. The owner of this B&B, Montse, his very nice and will advise on sightseeing, restaurants, museums etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Daniel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had a wonderful stay at La Casa Gran, and Montse is the best ! She goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome and to help you get the most out of your stay, nothing is to much trouble. Apartment is lovely, room delightful and spotlessly clean, You may find it a bit noisy as it is on a busy main road, however after a busy day sightseeing, we slept well.Easy access to to all sites, several within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0ny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Great bed and breakfast / boutique hotel in the heart of the city right next to the orange and green line double decker bus line

My wife and I stayed here after a cruise and it felt like we were staying with a close friend. Montse is so sweet and such a gracious host.

This is a really cool building with sky high ceilings and original art adorned walls.

If you are looking to drop the hotel experience and get a more personal authentic stay, then this is the place.

Can't wait to go back
This

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Louvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed four nights and loved our visit!

La Casa Gran is a charming apartment on the second floor of a historic building with easy access to the metro and many of the fun sites in that area. A wonderful experience of actual Barcelona living.

Montse is a fantastic hostess and provided much guidance to help us find our way around. The dogs are delightful although never really near the guests unless you wish to seek them out.

Breakfast is simple but more than adequate with fresh fruit, excellent pastries, local ham and cheese, and a variety of cereal and juices. Tea, coffee and bottled water are plentiful.

A great place to stay near the center of Barcelona and a great cozy atmosphere where we met people from all around the world.

Since the apartment is on the corner of some busy streets the noise can be disturbing if you are not used to city living. But, if you close all three layers of the windows properly you can filter out 90% of the noise and the traffic is much lighter at night when you are sleeping. Close the louver shutters tight and make sure both inside doors are locked in place at the bottom.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WarrenandLisa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My wife and I stayed three nights at La Casa Gran in late July. I can't say enough good things about Montse, the host. Montse arranged for a cab to and from the airport and in spite of our flight changes at the last minute, she kept the driver alerted from the emails I sent her while in transit. The location is great, you can catch the step on step off bus right across the street. But it is close enough to walk all the way to las Rambla. We loved the feel of the place and the location.
The only reason I did not give this charming B&B 5 stars is because we had a hard time sleeping due to: 1) No air conditioning, and 2) Because of #1 we had to keep the balcony doors open. This allowed a lot of noise from traffic and the bar across the street.
So if the weather is cool and you can close the balcony doors, this place is great. If the weather is hot, expect a hot bed and a lot of road/bar noise. The high ceiling fan did little to cool the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David_DRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This place is made truly wonderful by the host, Montse, who takes time out of her day to ensure the stay is enjoyable. La Casa Gran is located on Av. Diagonal - a large boulevard in central Barcelona - with excellent public transportation on the doorstep. It's just that little bit away from the really heavily touristed areas, so it feels like a safer and more pleasant area to be staying.

Loved the rooms with their high ceilings and period charm. Particularly liked having a balcony overlooking the bussling intersection - spent much time watching the city in action. Breakfast is the best kind of continental with excellent cheeses and croissants.

First class experience all around. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuthbert66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Barcino 147
Barcino 147
#8 of 305 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Eixample
Umma Barcelona Bed & Breakfast Boutique
Eixample
Violeta Boutique
Violeta Boutique
#7 of 305 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Ca La Maria
Ca La Maria
#9 of 305 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Eixample
The Conica Deluxe Bed and Breakfast
Eixample
Magatzem 128
Magatzem 128
#22 of 305 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Gran B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Gran B&B

Property: La Casa Gran B&B
Address: 439, Diagonal Avenue Principal 1a, 08036 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Gran B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa Gran is a traditional bed&breakfast in a monumental building called Cases Almirall from 1928, in the heart of l'Eixample district. We are located between two main streets of the city, Diagonal and Muntaner. It is a lively area with lots of restaurants, new bars and traditional bodegas and "vermuterias". Our place is walking distance to the main tourist attractions, you can reach Passeig de Gracia or Las Ramblas walking through l'Eixample streets. You can also get to Gothic quarter, Raval and Gracia district. We want to offer local products and experiences for you to enjoy the city. Your stay includes Catalan breakfast, free WIFI, water, fruits, tea and coffee facilities all day. We have a large common area where you can sit and relax during the day. We share our home with our guests, so we are here to help if needed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your La Casa Gran B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Gran B&B Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing