We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious”
Review of Hotel Claris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Claris
Ranked #68 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

A very classy boutique hotel with a beautiful lobby and interesting furnishings in the rooms. Gracious and friendly service from top to bottom. The hotel is perfectly located on a quieter area but very close to the Gaudi apartments and really just a short walk to the busier, touristy center. The small pool on the roof is a great place to relax with a glass of wine after a day of walking.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Guest,
It was a real pleasure for us to accomodate you in our Hotel and we feel very happy to know that you enjoyed Barcelona and your stay with us!!!
Do not hesitate to contact us for everything you will need in the future.
With warm regards,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

957 - 963 of 1,994 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed at Claris Hotel in early December for 2 nights. The hotel was simply wonderful. The location is central, close to the main sites of attractions. The hotel was also clean, well kept and everything was of an extremely high standard. The bed was absolutely amazing - it was firm and perfect for people with lower back problems like myself! I would definitely choose to stay in Claris Hotel again if i go to Barcelona again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jia Jia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Guest,
I want to thank you very much for your kind words and we feel really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Barcelona and with us.
With warm regards,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Very stylish hotel, reception staff very helpful. out room wasn't ready when we arrived so they offered us a glass of fizz at the roof bar. Rooms very comfortable and well appointed with a number of nice touches. Location excellent - very near main shopping area and only a 10-15 min walk from Las Ramblas. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: If you are super sensitive to noise, choose a room on the top floors or at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonathanBianco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate to have your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Claris very soon.
My Best regards,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed at the Hotel for a weekend in December with a friend of mine. We came over from Paris and had a lovely stay at the hotel. The staff was helpful with directions and recommendations; it’s in a wonderful location and is close to the Metro too. The terrace on the roof is amazing, nice views and great selection of wines too! All in all we had a very nice stay at the hotel! Something to note, especially for American travelers: I forget if this is a 4 or 5 star hotel but remember, typically everywhere in Europe, whatever the star rating, Always think 1 star down. So for example, if you are staying at a 3-star in Europe it’s comparable to a 2-star in the US or if 4-stars in Europe similar to a 3-star in the US. Don’t expect a 4 star hotel in Europe to be comparable to a 4-star in New York City!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karac584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jlfernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review as it is important for us to receive the feedback of our valued clients.
We celebrate that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the Claris team wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Sincerely yours,

MªRosa Castiilo
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Well placed hotel, decent facilities.
Stayed in a junior suite (517), must admit we expected a bit more from it.
Room has no view. Experienced a couple of minor issues, all of which were dealt with expediently by the staff, who are excellent by the way.
Good base to explore an excellent city.

Room Tip: 517, if it were a ship, would be an "inside cabin"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGTR1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sending us your review that for sure it will help us to improve.
I would like to recomend you to visit us again to have the possibility of showing you our new rooms and meet you personnnally.
Do not hesitate to contact me in your next tryp to Barcelona.
Sincerely yours,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night following a cruise. We had stayed at another slh member while in Paris and decided to give this one a try. Would stay again, no questions asked.

We had a junior suite and the room was huge. We much liked the decor as well. The bathroom was large, we had no annoying water issues, so not sure how to comment on those. Staff was wonderful. Quick check in and out, scheduled restaurants and car service for us as well. Little touches like turndown service with chocolates are nice. Afforded the walking distance to everything.,,can't wait to be back!!

We went up to see the fitness room and pool but did not use. (Weather not super warm)...but a nice amenity. 3 machines for 199 rooms probably a bit small. But not a deal breaker. If you are looking for something to complain
about, the sinks drain slow.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smw2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Claris Hotel for your recent trip to Barcelona.
We appreciate to have your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon.
My best regards,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and so upgraded ourselves to a Junior Suite. However, (room 205) Junior Duplex Suite was disappointing. We thought we would have a view but you'd have to lie on your bed sideways to observe the street. The lounge area was upstairs and was rather small and claustrophobic. The staff were very good and moved us to an upgraded room, no 318. This room was better in size but couldn't understand the concept of the bathroom sink. No plug hole, the water just constantly runs away, temperature only luke warm and both taps sprayed you sideways when you turned them on. The hotel itself was ok but I'm not sure how it got its 5* rating? However, all that said, the location was great for Las Ramblas, the staff so helpful and accommodating and probably the best asset of the hotel. Breakfasts were very good. The roof terrace a great place to enjoy a quiet drink. The roof terrace restaurant also very, very good.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sending us your review that for sure it will help us to improve.
On the other hand, let me infom you that we have redesigned with luxury materials all our rooms and we are now in process of redecorate all our duplex suites.
I would like to recomend you to visit us again to have the possibility of showing you our new rooms and meet you personnnally.
Do not hesitate to contact me in your next tryp to Barcelona.
Sincerely yours,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#51 of 519 in Barcelona
1,532 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#111 of 519 in Barcelona
3,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 519 in Barcelona
1,815 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#103 of 519 in Barcelona
3,921 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#32 of 519 in Barcelona
4,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claris

Address: Pau Claris, 150, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#57 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £131 - £434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Claris 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in the centre of Barcelona is ideal for a few days of relaxation or work. Boasting comfort and high-quality service, the hotel enjoys the best location for discovering Barcelona and taking advantage of all the tourist and leisure activities the city has to offer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Derby Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Claris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Claris Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing