We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Claris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Claris
Ranked #63 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We have been to Barcelona many times but wanted to try a hotel that was not $400/night. Hotel Claris was perfect. Location is one block away from Passeig de Garcia. The hotel was very nice although our room was small. Yet it was comfortable and clean. Staff helpful and bar on rooftop was so nice. Definitely recommend it for location and value.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.
My best regards,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    455
    192
    59
    43
See reviews for
291
841
66
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lanarkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Fantastic hotel very central, breakfast very good no complaints would use again would recommend first visit to Barcelona and it won't be my last people very nice and polite only complaint no free water in room but that is my only complaint and I can live with that well worth a visit

Room Tip: Room on 6th floor breakfast great very good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you again.
Do not hesitate to contact me directly in case you want to come back to the Claris Hotel.
Best regards,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva,Switz
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We pre-booked on a Spanish site to get the best possible rate beforehand (€177.80 on Atrapalo.com) but found it to be a bit of a rip off as we we're expecting a much nicer and bigger room for this money- we had a good nights sleep and was it quiet in the night (on the upside) but the room was really small and very clumsy and extremely tight layout in the bathroom- no tea or coffee facilities with a nice coffee table to enjoy the room more, no courtesy welcome drink and overall for a 5 star hotel we found the value really average, especially as this is not a cheap hotel by any standards. Breakfast was OK but served in basement- open buffet but choice a bit limited especially on cereals.
Art in the hotel is nice as is the rooftop terrasse but prices are very high - better eat outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room on the upper floors and make sure it is ready for your arrival time (we had to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jronald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your mail and we are honestly concerned and a bit surprised with your comments.
Regarding to the space of the room you had, let me mention that we also have any other rooms with different lay out and distribution that maybe would have been more appropiate for your needs. On the other hand we also have higher categories (junior suites and suites).
We take good note of your comments and for sure they will help us to improve.
Please contact me in your next visit, I'll be more than pleased to welcome you again at the Claris.
Sincerely yours,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerlo, Belgium
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The advantage is that the location - just a few steps from de Passeig de Gracia - is very good , but that is about it. The hotel is more a 3 star , average place. Rooms are small , and very noisy (a lot of noice from the street). Breakfast is very good , but expensive. Service in restaurant is very good , in the lobby and reception pretty average. There are certainly better places to stay in Barcelona for the price you had to pay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your mail and we are honestly concerned and a bit surprised with your comments.
Let me inform you that we have 124 differents type of rooms ( superior, executive, junior suite, duplex and suites).
Guests at the Claris Hotel are connoisseurs of art, culture and luxury, who appreciate the quality of the materials and the sophisticated combination of classic styles with the most avant-garde modernity.
The essence of the Claris philosophy is captured the perfect marriage of luxury and culture.
Since it is really important for us to get the feedback from our guests, I would like to thank you for your comments, even though, such it is in your case, this feedback may not be as positive as I would hope for.
Sincerely,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at the Claris for four nights at the end of July. It is in a convenient location that is walking distance to many restaurants and sights. Our room was a two level suite with an upstairs bedroom and downstairs sitting area. There were two full bathrooms as well as closets on both levels. The shower in the upstairs bathroom didn't drain well, and there was an inch of water on the floor of the shower after I used it. The room was large but felt a bit claustrophobic due to the window overlooking an outside wall.

There is a rooftop pool and restaurant which offer a lovely view of the surrounding streets. The pool is small, and there is limited seating. I was disappointed that no umbrellas were provided near the pool to provide some shade. You could order drinks and food, but the service was very slow.

The front desk staff was a mixed bag. One woman was very helpful getting us tickets to a few places, but other staff members weren't overly friendly.

When we checked in the front desk person told us to lock up our valuables in the safe before going out. We did that most of the time. However, one of my somewhat valuable possessions went missing when we were in Barcelona, and it may have been taken from the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderingafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
Let me inform you that, following your comments about our facilities, we have revised and improved these points.

About your valuables possessions that went missing while you were in Barcelona, we are very sorry about it but, please, before any written comment acusation, you have to be 100% sure about this point and informed us during your stay among us.

Thank you very much and receive my best regards,

José Luís Fernández
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We chose this hotel because of the reviews and also because of the description on their website. It looked magnificent, built onto an old palace with Egyptian artifacts in every room, very central in Barcelona and with what looked like an olympic-sized swimming pool on the roof. Imagine how disappointed we were when we got there. Not one of their rooms has a balcony or even a window that opens onto the street. Instead, the windows are all facing a very boring central ventilation and service shaft, decorated with the odd giant metal leaf (clearly art Jim, but not as we know it!) Our room was very dark and dingy, the bathroom was black and gold and not in the slightest bit attractive or interesting. We were given 10 pillows with snow white bed linen which looked like cotton but was most definitely a polyester mix. When you pay the prices we payed you would expect better than that. The fittings were old and could do with refurbishing. The tap in the toilet on the roof terrace almost came away in your hand. In this modern day and age you would expect state of the art facilities for charging phones and other electrical equipment. How much would it cost them to put some kind of travel sockets on the wall or even a USB socket if you think that thieves might steal the travel plug. The place seemed clean enough but there again, how could we tell given the dark room we stayed in. I got stuck in the lift briefly so that probably needs fixing too. To cap it all, many of the staff members did not speak either Spanish or English properly. When our electric blind broke I mentioned it to the guy on reception and he was very dismissive, telling me I had obviously pressed the wrong button. They didn't come and fix it.

One last but very important thing to mention is the fact that they do not provide a kettle or any kind of tea and coffee making facilities. Considering it's a 4 or 5 star hotel, that is pretty poor show. Oh yes, we did get a chocolate on the pillow every night but that doesn't help if you are gasping for a cup of tea.

The food was exorbitantly priced and even a cup of coffee was silly money and not very nice. Breakfast I believe was 20 Euros each so we didn't even try that and nor, by the look of things, did many of the guests.

In conclusion, I have stayed in many much more modest establishments which knock spots off the Claris. I don't really recommend it unless someone else is paying for it as a place to stay on a business trip.

Room Tip: In all honesty, avoid ... you can find lots of other much nicer places to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cat_psychologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry to read that your experience with us was not as pleasant as you expected.
Refering to your comments about your stay, I would prefered to have the chance personnally of finding a solution while you were staying with us.

The Claris Hotel, which I'm proud to lead, is an establishment that enjoys of an international prestige, and receive congratulations from hundreds of satisfied customers, not only about rooms and facilities but also about the service and care provided to our clients.

On the other hand rest asure that we will use to focus our efforts in all the details and of course we will improve through every single comment you are highlighting in your review.

My best regards,
Jose Luis Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our room was the junior suite and it was fabulous! From the moment we arrived, we were pampered and service was sooo good. Reception staff were all very accommodating and helpful. One can only say a big thank you to housekeeping staff too! We were given a tour of the terraza restaurant and immediately booked a dinner for the night.

The food was great! Alas the service was a big disappointment. Staff seemed to be in a constant rush-rush mode and there was just no one to assist you in selecting your food. I am used to being asked by restaurant staff if the food was good, or if I needed anything else. On this occasion, they just served the food and the next time staff went to our table was when we wanted our bill. It was such a let down after all the welcome we were given.

I would still recommend the hotel to my friends but not the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cesd_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice comments.
Let me inform you that, following your words about the Restaurant service, we have revised and improved this point.
Thank you very much for helping us.
My best regards
José Luis Fernández
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#60 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Casa Fuster Hotel
Casa Fuster Hotel
#72 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claris

Property: Hotel Claris
Address: Pau Claris, 150, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#57 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Claris 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in the centre of Barcelona is ideal for a few days of relaxation or work. Boasting comfort and high-quality service, the hotel enjoys the best location for discovering Barcelona and taking advantage of all the tourist and leisure activities the city has to offer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel Claris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Claris Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing