We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Ranked #34 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

My husband & I arrived on the day of the general strike but had no problem getting to the hotel. We had arranged a car through the hotel, worried that we may not find a taxi. The staff was wonderful throughout our stay & before we arrived, emailing as necessary. Our room was wonderful - king bed, very comfortable. Ate dinner in the restaurant the 1st night since everything was closed, the food was delicious. So no wifi in the rooms - you can access it in the lobby. Location was great - shops, restaurants nearby. Can walk to many attractions. Oh & a spectacular roof top bar.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lysee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,611
    468
    104
    45
    24
See reviews for
545
916
67
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

This hotel doesn't quite deliver what it promises - the best thing about this hotel is the external look and the lobby/bar area. The rooms are really average (we stayed in a standard double), similar to what you expect to find in any international chain hotel. We were initially given a room facing a parking lot, which was noisy because of building works. We then asked to be transferred to a quieter room and were given a street facing room. The second room had a beautiful view but the double-glazing didn't really block the street noise, which was quite loud because of the very central location of this hotel.
The nespresso machine in the room is quite handy, beware though that each capsule costs 1 euro which is not clearly marked (there's a nespresso boutique across the road where you can buy the capsules for 1/3 of this price).
The service is quite good, most staff very welcoming.
The bar area is not particularly exciting, a bit old-fashioned and lacks atmosphere.
Overall, this is not a great value for money and there are much more special hotels in Barcelona for the same price.

Room Tip: try to get an external facing room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RIUU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

We were wonderfully surprised that we got an upgrade when we arrived. Location of these hotel is fantastic, surrounded by all the expensive brands but of course Mango and Zara are walking distance too. There is a great tapas restaurant called the Catalina, it is about 10mins walk away from the hotel. The price and food is superb! Little I could mentioned about the hotel service though, we were there for at least 5 days but the lady at the breakfast reception could never remember our room numner or names. Housekeeping and laundry would just open your door without even ringing or knocking first. This is really unacceptable!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights here at the beginning of October 2012. We had a lovely quiet room overlooking the courtyard. The service was excellent and the staff exceptionally helpful.Because of the great location we could walk to most of the sights and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel very highly. The only negative was that they do not have free WiFi.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NielStellenbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

The hotel is located in Paseo de Gracia, my room had a beautiful view. Just a few blocks away from Las Ramblas. The room was spacious and the bed was super comfortable. Service and food was excellent! Truly a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cecilia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Majestic Hotel and Spa although we had not enough time to enjoy the spa. Really lovely rooms, bar and lobby area. Did not like the fact that they did not have complimentary wifi in rooms for a 5 star hotel. Great location right in the centre of Paseo de Gracia.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. We had rooms facing the interior which was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moandto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

The Majestic was overall very nice, the rooms were big enough, although ours overlooked a noisy courtyard/work area, but it was otherwise fine. Great location on the Passeig de Gracia with Chanel underneath and La Pedrera and Casa Batlo a block away.
A Nespresso machine in the room was very welcome, but only on the 4th day did we realise that the coffee was not free, also no kettle or tea available, except through room service.
The bathroom was fantastic - excellent shower from ceiling, and beautiful bulgari shampoos and soaps, but the toilet area was a bit cramped. Only other quibbles were that the air-conditioning didn't really seem to work, there was a funny musty smell all around the hotel, and no free wifi! The internet price (9 euro per hour - daylight robbery!) Overall it was a very nice hotel, a pity that the restaurant did not seem very inviting, otherwise we would have tried it.
Hotel staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstridHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#11 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#63 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#57 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona

Property: Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Address: Paseo de Gracia 68, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe 5-star traditional hotel in the real heart of Barcelona, few steps away from Gaudi monuments and famous Rambla. Entirely renovated, it offers excellence in service for the most demanding travelers. Rooftop terrace with panoramic view and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel And Spa Barcelona
Majestic Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Majestic Barcelona
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing