We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Ranked #42 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 December 2013

For the last four Christmas & NY holiday we visit Barcelona. It's become tradition. As a Centurion card member with American Express I'm usually guided to the Mandarin Oriental. I have always found the service at the MO OUTSTANDING!! This year AMEX gave me the option to try the Majestic. We arrived on 12/25 and departed early on the 28th. The service and the accommodations was very, very nice. I would say outstanding only because they were genuine in their apologies when it came to the important stuff. Twice I left the room at 10A to return at 5 or 6 with the room still not made up. Of the three nights, had to call for turn down service the day the room was made up, received turn down service an hour after the room was made up the second night, making it impossible to rest up before an early dinner and on the last night I just gave up. For close to 2,000 dollars for three nights, it's the "small stuff" that makes a HUGE difference. We are scheduled to stay there again upon our return from the Basque region on January 4th before we head back to the US on the 5th. I'm hoping they get it right this time because I think it's a great hotel. If not, it's back to the MO next year. Will update in a week.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ehhensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having taken your time to send us your opinion here on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you appreciated the service received and the quality of the accommodations.

We also thank you your comments about the turndown service. Our guests feedback helps us to keep improving our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back in January, and give you the spotless experience you deserve.

Kindest Regards,

Pascal Billard,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,394 - 1,400 of 2,502 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

We spent 5 nights in October in a deluxe executive room and were very impressed. There was a bottle of cava and a small cake waiting for us on arrival. The room was large and immaculate and the bathroom was amazing! Breakfast was included for us and I was so glad. It was an incredible assortment of cereals, fruits, pastries, meats, etc as well as a hot station that offered made-to-order omelettes. We usually went early for breakfast and it was pretty quiet at that time. The location of the hotel was perfect. We walked most places and only took a taxi once when it was late at night and we were down by the beach. It's near a beautiful block with several Modernista buildings including Casa Battlo. There are also lots of shops and restaurants nearby. I did find the hotel a bit pricey but it was worth it in the end.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
2  Thank Take22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such kind words about the Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona. I am delighted to read how much you liked the location of the hotel as well as the extensive breakfast buffet. Furthermore, I am glad we could positively surprise you with amenities awaiting you on your room.
I am very much looking forward to welcome you back soon at the Majestic Hotel & Spa.

Kind regards,
Pascal Billard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The Majestic is a beautiful hotel, the staff is attentive and the treatment of guests is first class. The area is very central so everything is in walking distance.
I found the rooms to be quite large and clean. It's a nice touch to have the nespresso machine in the room but beware you pay for the coffee, we heard a few people complaining about that at the front desk. Still cheaper than going out for an espresso though.
I was really looking forward to their breakfast (especially considering the price) and although there were a lot of choices and it was beautifully presented, the food was nothing special. There are plenty of cafes around the hotel to enjoy some other breakfast options.
The gym is great and the equipment is state of the art!
All around a great hotel! We would definately return for another stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Button511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your opinion on your last stay with us.
I am delighted to read that your experience with us has met with your expectations and that you especially enjoyed the way we treated you as well as our fitness center.
I hope to be able to welcome you back soon at the Majestic Hotel & Spa!

Kind regards,
Pascal Billard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The Majestic is a fabulous hotel! The room was clean and spacious, the bed very comfortable, and the staff always friendly and helpful. It's on Paseo de Gracia, with Gaudi architecture just blocks down the street both directions. If you love to shop, it's a great location. It's a bit of a hike from the Gothic district and the cathedral, but worth taking a taxi for such a comfy hotel.

The breakfast buffet was terrific too - and a bargain at only 11 Euros.

Room Tip: We had a hard time adjusting the heat - the room was hot. Ask the bellhop to adjust it for you to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your opinion on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience; especially the comfort of your room and the perfect location in the city centre.
I hope to be able to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Pascal Billard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Just spent five fantastic days here. The rooms were outstanding, the staff really helpful, it's right by the best shops and some of the Gaudi buildings. You can easily walk to the main tourist sites.
It's all been recently refurbished so the bathrooms are excellent too.

Room Tip: If you prepay, you get a better rate including breakfast. We went for the deluxe executive which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Majestic here on tripadvisor. We are delighted to read how much your enjoyed your time here and that you appreciated our staff and the location of the hotel.

We hope we can welcome you back at the Majestic in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards,

Pascal Billard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Visiting Barcelona for the holidays, residing at the Majestic Hotel on Avenida de Garcia. It is impressive - inside and out. Huge glowing ornaments on the outside, exquisite arrangements inside. Very responsive staff. Comfortable, quite room.
Christmas Eve dinner was wonderful. Clearly, local citizens enjoy the presentation. The service and food are equal to other special properties we experienced during the holidays -- from California to Catalona and Canton.

Room Tip: Better to locate off the heavy traffic streets and take an inside room. More spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your comments with us on Tripadvisor!

I am really glad to hear that you appreciated our Christmas decorations, the responsiveness of our staff and the great comfort of your room !

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at the Majestic Hotel & Spa !

Sincerely,

Pascal Billard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

When I travel, I look for first class. I sometimes get a little nervous when traveling to a new destination where I don't speak the language or have any idea about the area/neighborhoods. However, The Majestic was in a prime location surrounded by luxury. Walking distance to many of the sites. The hotel itself was beautiful with amazing service. The concierge got us into an upscale restaurant without advance reservations. (I saw the list... people were waiting to be seated at the bar.)

Overall, I was very, very impressed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedbacks with us! We always appreciate hearing directly from our clients to keep improving our main structures and services.

I am glad to hear that you appreciated the very centric location of the hotel and the quality of our concierge service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon here at the Majestic Hotel & Spa,

Sincerely,

Pascal Billard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#62 of 516 in Barcelona
1,957 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 516 in Barcelona
1,789 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#52 of 516 in Barcelona
1,446 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#121 of 516 in Barcelona
6,494 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#66 of 516 in Barcelona
4,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona

Address: Paseo de Gracia 68, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £179 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe 5-star traditional hotel in the real heart of Barcelona, few steps away from Gaudi monuments and famous Rambla. Entirely renovated, it offers excellence in service for the most demanding travelers. Rooftop terrace with panoramic view and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel And Spa Barcelona
Majestic Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Majestic Barcelona
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing