We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing magical retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Ranked #27 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing magical retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

A beautiful retreat, magical, just like the amazing city of Barcelona. I can not conceive this Magical city, without feeling that Majestic Hotel was in the essence of a beautiful and unforgettable one of the best life journeys. The rooms are eloquently delightful. The food is great. And I think I can say, it was one of the cleanest hotels I have been to.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeedajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It is my pleasure to read your kind comments regarding your recent visit to The Majestic Hotel & Spa.

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the meals, the room, and the service and I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Pascal Billard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,583
    460
    101
    44
    21
See reviews for
539
900
64
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Absolutely fantastic hotel. Beautiful rooms with very modern bathrooms and comfortable beds. Great staff and very convenient to get around the city. I would without a doubt stay here again and it is one of the best hotels I have stayed in Europe.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am so pleased to read that your whole stay has been so enjoyable, with the room and service exactly to your expectations.

Thank you very much once again, and I look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Pascal Billard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We booked this direct with the hotel - a suite offer which included breakfast - though when I first emailed them for availability and prices they didn't mention this offer but I found later on their website.

Well positioned, smart and safe area of Barcelona with no problem wandering the neighbourhood on an evening. Shops nearby include including Chanel, Bvlgari, Gucci, Louis Vuitton and Hermès plus your high street shops Timberland, Mango, Zara etc. Close to metro and only 25 minutes by taxi from main airport.

Our suite was very nice. Large bathroom with double sinks, separate shower and jacuzzi bath with Bvlgari bathroom amenities. Walk in wardrobe with robes and slippers, umbrella too if you need one during your stay. Lounge area converted to bedroom for the children and had flat screen television though it wasn't used. Our room had huge bed and flat screen television. Sliding doors between lounge and bathroom. WiFi was good in the bedrooms, code for the duration of your stay and its best to tick the box that states 'remember password' as you need to re log in each time.

Complimentary wine and biscuits acknowledging husbands birthday was a lovely gesture from the hotel.

Our room wasn't ready when we arrived mid morning so we had a saunter and then had lunch on the roof terrace which has fabulous views of the city. The hotel spa is also on the top floor so I had a nail republish after lunch. There is a roof pool but it was too chilly to dip into during our early May visit. Roof terrace food was very nice indeed. We shared cold meats, olives, breads, small bowl of chips and crisps which came with our drinks.

Breakfast on our first morning was extremely busy (Saturday), there are two open rooms to select your cold breakfast from - an excellent choice - but the rooms aren't large when breakfast is busy and once somebody is in a corner nobody else can get near the food. There is also a hot food area with chef and assistant chef who cater for personalised omelettes, eggs, pancakes etc. There are hot lidded trays of sausage, bacon, scrambled egg, tomatoes and beans (not Heinz our children informed us). There was also a Cava selection where - if you needed alcohol for breakfast - you could help yourself. Waiters and waitresses took hot beverage orders and these were served in hot thermos jugs. The Sunday and Monday breakfasts were a lot less busy thankfully.

The ground floor bar was very nice, almost like a gentlemen's club in decor. Staff were very attentive. I did try the Ultimate G&T - huge glass and couldn't finish it but there was a lot of ice too, very nice drink though.

We really liked the style and ambience of the hotel.

We would definitely return here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CantSingforToffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your great comments on your last stay with us at the Majestic Hotel & Spa. 

It is wonderful to hear that you had a very pleasant stay and that you especially enjoyed the location of the hotel, the staff service...

We hope to get the chance to welcome you back soon to see the complete beauty of Barcelona!

Kind Regards,

Pascal Billard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is a perfect place for a stay in Barcelona. Staff are friendly professional and helpful. Only complaint was a tour of artistic sights that was disorganized.
Hotel in a great location. Nearby is the very popular Cerverceria Catalana which was a blast w great tapas wine and interesting people.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Passeig de Gracias r expensive w great views but noisy. Better value and quieter a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for leaving your impressions regarding your stay at the Majestic. I am pleased to see that you especially the service offered, and the location of the hotel.

I truly hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Pascal Billard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Majestic, great location with exceptional service from the staff, especially at the front desk. The Deluxe Double room was small with a very small window and balcony. When we visit next time I would opt for a larger room. We arrived at 10:30 from the United States, and were able to have a room upon arrival so we were able to freshen up. The hotel is ideally located for a tourist's sightseeing. The one negative was the the outside roof top bar with a great view of the city closed by 9 PM, it would have been great to have visited the roof top bar for a night cap.

Room Tip: Visit the room that is assigned to you to make sure there is a reasonable size window. The old part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comments with us on Tripadvisor. I am happy to read that you liked the room and the great location of the hotel.


I hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon here at the Majestic Hotel & Spa.

Kind Regards,

Pascal Billard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel is wonderful! Everyone who worked there was very helpful, from getting up tickets to attractions to dinner suggestions. It's in the perfect location to explore everything Barcelona has to offer. You can walk everywhere from it's location. The room was very clean and was kept tidy daily for us. Also if you're someone who needs a reliable wifi connection theirs works wonderfully. This hotel is definitely one I'd recommend to others traveling to Barcelona and will go back to myself!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I personally want to thank you for leaving such kind words for us. I am more than happy to read that you enjoy the stay with us, especially the room and the location of the hotel.

I hope very much looking forward to welcome you back very soon to Majestic Hotel & Spa.

Kind Regards,

Pascal Billard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough,UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Majestic hotel & Spa is centrally located in one of the nicest areas of Barcelona . It's on Passeo de Gracia which is a wide road with wider pavements with pavings, street lamps & seats designed by Gaudi . It has impressive array of shops as it's neighbours : Chanel ( next door ) Gucci , Bulgari, Louis Vuitton to name a few . Numerous restaurants , Tapas bars & street side cafés are nearby . The tour bus stop is 5 minutes walk from the hotel as are tourist attractions such as Casa Battlo , a house deigned by Gaudi . It is also just next to the Metro station .
Unfortunately there are road works going on outside the front of the hotel so they do not have their private parking spaces anymore at present & the drilling noise cannot be pleasant for the guests staying in the rooms facing the street . However we had a room at the back which overlooked a very neat & clean staff car park , was very quiet . The room was very comfortable & spotlessly clean , with all the 5 star facilities . The his & hers bathroom , especially the showers were superb . The staff were all very well trained , courteous & helpful . Especially Christina at the front desk who was extremely resourceful & got us tickets for the Flamenco show & dinner at the nearby Palace theatre ( walking distance ) made sure they made vegetable paella for my husband who is a vegetarian , also got us tickets for entry to Sagrada Famila , Casa Battlo & Park Guelle ! I would strongly advise this advance booking as without it it is impossible to see all these places during a short 4 day break over a packed long weekend stay due to the long queues for entry tickets at the gates .
The hotel restaurants were good . The rooftop poolside bar on the 10th floor provided a panoramic view of the city stretching to the sea !
The pool itself was quite small , almost like a paddling pool ! The service was slow there but food when it arrived was good .
The breakfast buffet was extensive & very good . The service by waiters & waitresses is excellent there. However for some reason , breakfast is not included in the room charge , which I found strange ! The breakfast charge was 29 Euros per person which I thought was quite high .
I didn't use the Spa so I cannot comment on it .
I would definitely go back to this hotel if I visited Barcelona again !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parvati I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to read that we were able to offer an overall pleasant experience and that you appreciated the comfort of the room, the quality of the staff and the great location of the hotel!

I sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon at the Majestic Hotel & Spa.

Kind regards,

Pascal Billard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#5 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#63 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#60 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona

Property: Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Address: Paseo de Gracia 68, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe 5-star traditional hotel in the real heart of Barcelona, few steps away from Gaudi monuments and famous Rambla. Entirely renovated, it offers excellence in service for the most demanding travelers. Rooftop terrace with panoramic view and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel And Spa Barcelona
Majestic Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Majestic Barcelona
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing