We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Five Star Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Ranked #39 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not a Five Star Hotel”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Roof top bar and lounge offered the best city views, Service was excellent, rooms clean and comfy. I give the hotel only 4 stars as the rooms are very small and the bathroom in our originally room only offered one old pedestal sink, not the large marble or stone countered sink a five star hotel should offer. This is the first year the Majestic was listed as a luxury platinum American Express Hotel so I was disappointed. The dinning room was small, dark, and located in the basement, no windows with just plain average over priced food, no decor. Breakfast and lunch served on the second floor in a nicely appointed large room, great breakfast buffet with lots of gluten free options.
The Majestic is more of a discount large group hotel rather than a unique luxury hotel. To make matters confusing, I booked a premium room only to discover that the hotel has five categories of premium that are not listed through American Express or other sites, it's up to the hotel at what level premium room you are assigned as they all cost the same. TO be on the safe side, book a suite, perhaps that is more like a 5 star luxury hotel.

Room Tip: Book a suite, the best rooms are not even close to luxury and are over priced for the outdated decor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to share your experience on your stay at the Majestic Hotel & Spa. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our service, the breakfast and the rooftop terrace, "La Dolce Vitae".

However, I am very concerned to read your comments about the room where you stayed in and our dinning room service. Please be aware, our main restaurant is on the first floor, El Patio del Majestic, and we are doing some refurbishing in this area, to offer the best possible atmosphere to the guest. In the meantime, we have moved the dinner service to our Ground Floor Restaurant.
Furthermore, I am very sorry you didn´t enjoy the room you were given, should you need a more spacious room for your next stay, do no hesitate to visit our website, where you will find a full description of all the room categories available at the hotel.

Thank you very much for helping us to improve our service, I hope to have the oportunity to welcome you back at the Majestic Hotel & Spa in a future.

Kind regards,

Pascal Billard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,669
    481
    111
    47
    26
See reviews for
563
946
69
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
saint louis
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I like to start with the positive aspects of any stay in a hotel. The hotel is attractive, in a safe and nice location and our rooms were bright and comfortable. The bed and linens were very nice and 100 cotton. The breakfast served in the hotel was very good and we had nice service all three mornings of our stay. We enjoyed the roof top pool and it was nice to be outside looking out over the city.
Why not 5 stars? We had a hideous check in with an intern-- 30 minutes of slowing entering data for 5 passports and two rooms-- only be to be lost again when we returned 5 hours later. We received wifi codes that needed to be reentered every time we needed wifi. On our last day, the wifi code stopped at 9 am despite a 12 checkout.
We had to call 3 times for a rollway despite telling the front desk that we needed one at both check ins! . It was then determined after we unpacked that we would have to move rooms to accommodate the rollaway-- and two more phone calls for the bed. We started this process at 3 pm and received our second room and rollaway at 515.
Housekeeping was spotty. Excellent and then dirty classes and plates left the next time. There are no complimentary classes of water or coffee and this somehow feels rather cheap given the rates and the suite we were staying in.
A minor complaint but one to mention given the difference in concierge recommendations for restaurants versus our experience in Madrid. We were sent to touristy, average restaurants that were overwhelmed by non Spanish speaking guests. Our best meal happened quite by accident in a small much more local restaurant with great food. A concierge at a hotel of this caliber should inquire about the type of experience you want before sending you off with the cruise ship crowd!.
I would stay again and I would recommend the hotel but it needs to improve its front desk efficiency, wifi issues, provide water and coffee and some more informed concierge recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lwohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It is my pleasure to read your kind review of your most recent visit to Majestic Hotel & Spa. We always appreciate hearing comments directly from our customers to keep improving our main instalations and services.

I am glad to see that you appreciated the excellent location of the hotel, the confort of the room and the rooftop terrace.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Pascal Billard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have stayed at the Majestic on several occasions over the past few years and it does not disappoint. The rooms vary in size but all are well appointed and immaculately clean. The beds are some of the comfiest I have slept in. Service is friendly and welcoming and the reception team very helpful. The rooftop terrace bar is an ideal place for relaxing with the first drink of the evening with views over much of the city. Decent aircon and good Wifi.

Location wise this could hardly be better. Paseo de Gracia has several bars and restaurants within a couple of minutes of the hotel and even better ones can be found in Rambla de Catalunya - which is literally one road back from Paseo de Gracia.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am so pleased to read that your whole stay has been so enjoyable, with the room and service exactly to your expectations.

Thank you very much once again, and I look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Pascal Billard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in May and really enjoyed the hotel. Excellent concierge, lovely roof top restaurant and huge selection of breakfast items in a lovely sunny room. Other than breakfast we only ate in the roof top restaurant, all open air with great views and a pool. We had tapas that were delicious.
The service is excellent, Bulgari amenities in the bathroom, newly renovated with a good bed and pillows, but the room and the bathroom were small, hard to find places for our suitcases. It is a great location across the street from Gaudi's Casa Batllo, on a beautiful tree lined blvd. We would stay again..

Room Tip: The rooms are not noisy on the Blvd if windows are closed as they have good insulation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelagent08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It is my pleasure to read your kind comments regarding your recent visit to The Majestic Hotel & Spa. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the meals, the concierge service, and the excellent location of the hotel.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Pascal Billard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

reception staff+concierges are rather helpful, the rooms are very nice, especially balcony view on Passeig de Gracia and very cool rooftop with miniature pool. Very good level of servicebreakfast is fantastic

Room Tip: Balcony avenue view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for leaving your impressions regarding your stay at the Majestic. I am pleased to see that you especially enjoyed the rooms, the staff service especially the concierges and the location of the hotel.

I truly hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Pascal Billard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Excellent hotel and excellent location. All the shopping is on the same street as the hotel which was very nice. The food was fantastic especially the breakfast! We also used the Spa for a massage and also the private sauna, ice bath area was great as well. After our massages we went out to the roof top terrace for drinks by the pool overlooking all of Barcelona. It was such a magnificent sight! Really wonderful food as well. And the service was top notch! We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor. I am happy to read that we were able to offer an overall pleasant experience and that you appreciated the quality of the staff, the Spa service and the great location of the hotel!

I sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon at the Majestic Hotel & Spa.

Kind Regards,

Pascal Billard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed four nights at the Majestic Hotel. Very good hotel with newly and nicely renovated rooms. Receptionists, concierge, restaurant and spa staff provided all a very competent, quick and kind service. Hotel has a wonderful terrace where one can enjoy a little swim, sun, food and drinks with great views to Barcelona, the sea and hills. Breakfast was in general of very good quality and had a wide selection of items. Food and drinks aren't cheap, but still at a reasonable level for a five star hotel in Barcelona. Rooms facing the wonderful boulevard Passeig de Gracia have nice views to the boulevard, but expect also to be exposed to some noise from it. We had one problem with the quality of one room service delivery, but the staff was very regretful for this and quickly brought us some new dishes. If we return to Barcelona we will definitely consider staying at Majestic Hotel & Spa again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johfri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your visit to The Majestic Hotel & Spa. I am delighted to read how much you enjoy staying with us and how highly you appreciate your room, staff service and the breakfast.

It will be my pleasure to share your feedback with the team here and I look forward to welcoming you during your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Pascal Billard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 513 in Barcelona
1,660 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 513 in Barcelona
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#60 of 513 in Barcelona
1,809 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#58 of 513 in Barcelona
1,303 reviews
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona

Property: Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Address: Paseo de Gracia 68, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#36 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe 5-star traditional hotel in the real heart of Barcelona, few steps away from Gaudi monuments and famous Rambla. Entirely renovated, it offers excellence in service for the most demanding travelers. Rooftop terrace with panoramic view and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel And Spa Barcelona
Majestic Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Majestic Barcelona
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing