We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and hotel but lots of flaws”
Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Location - Excellent, a few minutes walk from the placa catalunya.
Cost - Good, it says it's a five star but that can be disputed, on the site of the former Ritz hotel it has a very plush interior and lobby, this is not however to the standards of any decent 5 star hotel, more like a 4. Overall much cheaper than most decent 5 stars.
Rooms- We were in a room on the first floor, this meant we could hear (and feel the room shake) every time a subway train passed by. This happens every 10 minutes from 05.30 to 24.00. We asked to be moved but was told nothing was available. The beds were very firm and not of the standard expected at a five star hotel, they need to call the Four Seasons and ask where they get their beds from.
Room service- The menu was limited and very expensive, there are however some nice restaurants around so you can avoid room service if you have to.
Staff - Very good and extremely friendly, they are the hotels main plus point.
Overall we enjoyed our time in Barcelona and the hotel was ok, I don't think i would return though as im sure there are others that are better.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dr_JRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,779 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2011

Beautiful hotel, impeccable service and friendly staff made our stay for my husband's 40th wonderful. We booked 2 nights here and 2 nights in the AbAC hotel - wish we had booked the full 4 nights here. Love the coctail bar with Live band playing at 10.30 and 12.30 - so perfect way to end an evening out. Stunning lounge and breakfast rooms - we pushed the boat out and had breakfast there just once - 30 Euros each! - pleasant enough but was likewarm - but tasty. Overall if I go to Barcelona again - I would definately choose this hotel - cash permitting. Not the cheapest place to stay - but worth every penny in my book. Location is very good - walkable to Cathedral, Las Ramblas and Placa Cataluna etc so a very good base if you want to walk to some of the sights. Overall excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jandini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

This hotel is luxurious and beautiful and in a great location. The staff are friendly and the hotel is good value. We booked more than a month in advance on booking.com and got a great room for €140 the first night and €160 the second night which is amazing value for a 5 star hotel. The place has L'Occitane toiletries and cool mirrors that double as TVs. My only complaints are that the beds are hard and the pillows aren't great, and the guys at the check-in desk were not very friendly. One of them even took a personal call on his mobile phone while he was checking us in. He didn't really greet us or seem welcoming. But the rest of the staff were very nice. We will stay there again when we come to Barcelona!**Just make sure you stay on a high floor since the Metro runs underneath the hotel and rumbles a lot

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgelbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We stayed in a Privilege Junior Suite. Unfortunately, we only had two nights to spend in Barcelona, but this hotel made it very enjoyable. The Junior Suite was lovely with a fabulous bathroom including a separate shower and toilet room, whirlpool tub and walk-in closet. The hotel was conveniently located for sight-seeing, and the staff was helpful and friendly. We also highly recommend dinner at the Michelin-starred Caelis and drinks in the jazz club/bar on the lower level. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diinbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Location - good location. Metro stop is 3 minute walk at the end of the road. La Rambla is about 10 minute walk. The airport bus stop is about 7 minutes away. Ideal really.

Rooms - the room was big enough, good internet connection and really modern and clean bathrooms. Nice little features in the rooms, such as mini bar hidden behind a painting and the mirror changes to a tv. Nice touch.

Staff - All very friendly and helpful.

Food - the food was delicious, but we only had breakfast here.

Thank you for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carpediem208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

First time in Barcelona we initially planned to stay at a regular hotel, but when booking I did a search for a historical hotel in Barcelona and hit El Palace. The price was reasonable and the location looked great so it wasn't a hard decision. So with great expectations, we walked from the train to the hotel. (Easy to find, short walk) Would this be a hotel like the Grand Plaza in Rome ? (In that hotel we recieved fantastic service simply by smiling and being polite to all of the staff - I know a lot of people has another experience) But this was even better. Smaller, but in every other way better. We did anyway smile to everyone and got lots in return. We almost felt like a part of a big family after a few days.
Well, some facts now. A room of proper size, not big, but big enough. French balcony and a big luxurious bath. No noise from the street outside. The location was, as expected perfect. We used our legs almost all the time. Almost everything was within walking distance, from La Rambla to La Sagrada Familia.
So why just almost perfect ?
Well....I have a back which due to a small injury needs a medium to soft matress, and when it is as hard as they were at El Palace I can't sleep more than a couple of hours before it hurts. Knowing how to deal with my back I asked for an extra thin matress on the top. The concierge said that this was no problem, but when the maid came (Probably the head-maid, she was the archtype of a spanish grandmother :) she said that it was not possible to do this. I tried to tell her that it was just to.......but got just No-No-No in return. Hard luck...
I didn't want this to ruin an in every other way perfect week, so I tried to ignore it, and after three more nights I probably got used to it, and managed to sleep all night.
Do we want to go back ? In Barcelona yes.
But for the best hotelbed in the world, try The Peninsula in NY.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank powderdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed in February for 3 nights and our stay was absolutely outstanding. The service was impeccable. The concierge could not have been more helpful in organizing excursions for us, suggesting and making reservations at restaurants, and recommending what to see. We had been to Barcelona before so we wanted to see things we had not seen before. The rooms were gorgeous and the lobby sitting room was magnificent. The location was ideal. Easy walking to all areas. I would highly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieCompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#118 of 515 in Barcelona
6,466 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 515 in Barcelona
1,407 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 515 in Barcelona
307 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#22 of 515 in Barcelona
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £214 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palace Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing