We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

From personal experience, this hotel should be ranked as one the top three hotels in Barcelona. Once u put a foot there, u can see, sense and smell the touches of luxury and dedication. If u like classic design, then this is definitely the place to go, u can see it from the reception through the lobby, bar, terrace all the way to their incredible rooms. the service is outstanding, we arrive a few hours before our check-in time, and since the room was ready, we went to bar for a couple of drinks, then we were surprised by the hotels manager greeting us and apologizing for nothing they've done wrong, and putting our drinks on the house for three two days "Unbelievable". The room service is very fast and the food is extraordinary. and they have L'occitane products in the bathrooms. Highly recommended!!! cant wait to go back..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NihalF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,261
    232
    56
    30
    17
See reviews for
329
854
44
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Hotel El Palace is in a perfect location - two blocks from the Passeig de Gracia, and within walking distance of the Barri Gotic and the center of historic Barcelona. The public rooms are in a grand style from the turn of the 20th century, but the rooms are very comfortable and modern, with beautiful bath/dressing rooms - double sinks, separate rain shower stall and separate bathtub, and a private toilet. Service was excellent and very friendly.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on a high room, as there are those who are sensitive to the sound of the subway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinisterOfCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

The first mention should go to the excellent staff, very attentive, knowledgeable, kind and truely interested in making your stay perfect. Had a great room on the second floor with a balcony over looking the side street, Large room, fun TV in the 'mirror', no noise slept soundly. Breakfast is good although the over head heaters very hot and asked to be seated away from them. The toaster provided was inadequate and took an age to toast the bread!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donmat1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

A 5 star hotel with personal service, you feel very welcome from the moment you enter this impressive building. During the renovations every thing has been refurbished high class and high expense; every single details has been thought of (even the wonderful smell).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTulip2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

This is a beautiful hotel with old world style and new world service. The breakfast area was in a beautiful atrium with outdoor seating available. The staff was very helpful. We also stayed there because we were told they had a remodeled gym in the hotel. It is a small, workout room and it may have been remodeled, but it only consists of two treadmills, two bikes and a small bright green bench. We affectionately called it a "Barbie workout room." We would definitely stay here again. It is so convenient to everything you would want to do in Barcelona.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Conveniently located to the Born, Gothic and La Ramblas, gorgeous interior and exterior (the old Ritz) , rooms were heavenly, loved the flat screen TV. This is the only place to stay in Barcelona. Fabulous daily breakfast buffet, best we've ever had!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susieq090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We went to El Palace as part of our Honeymoon. The hotel is located in a great area close to but not really in any specific area (about a 10 minute walk from the bus you can take from the airport and about 5 minutes from the closest Metro). This was our first '5-star' hotel and it did not disappoint. The rooms were large for European standards complete with a foyer, bathroom with separate tub and shower (with the rain-shower head), a large bedroom area and a walk-in closet bigger than the bathroom (you could easily sleep 2 kids or small adults in the closet). The entire place just smelled nice -- if you ever wondered what angel's tears smelled like it would probably be the scent in the halls (but less in the bedrooms) of the El Palace.
We had accidentally left our guidebook on the plane and so went directly to the concierge and asked what there was to do around town. Every person we spoke to at the concierge desk (there were a few that rotated depending on time of day) spoke perfect English and were extremely helpful and patient with us.
We had the buffet breakfast every day in the hotel which was situated in an outdoorish (part was actually open air and part had a semi-permanent canopy over top. The brunch was great and had alot of diversity with Spanish staples like sausages as well as an interesting Asian dim sum area.
There was a club downstairs that we unfortunately never made it to as well as a spa in the hotel that we also never made it to. The Michelin Starred restaurant in the building looked great but had a lot of fois gras dishes which due to a strange twist in fate is the only food I'm actually allergic to so we did not try that either.
Most people there were older than us (we're late 20s) and there were some kids ranging from around 5 up to teenage years. I got the impression we were there outside of tourist season (early October) and so the hotel wasn't packed. The entire time we wore Tshirts and jeans and not once did we get a disapproving look from the staff -- everyone was super friendly and most spoke at least English and Catalan if not Spanish and other languages as well (we heard German, French, and Mandarin from the guests in addition to English and Spanish).
If you're looking for a beautiful hotel that clearly says 'old world charm' with a fantastic staff and a laid back but clearly 'expensive' vibe this is a great place. If you're looking for a trendy hotel right in the middle of the 'beautiful people' this is probably not the place for you. Equally good for couples and for families.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pelirroja01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#8 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#13 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Property: El Palace Hotel
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palace Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing