We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NIce hotel but not the best location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NIce hotel but not the best location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We loved this hotel actually but we found it just a block or two too out of the main area. It was all within walking distance but after a long day, two blocks felt like more then that. I would stay here again but be more prepared for the location. There were always taxis outside and we got around ok.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billB36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,265
    232
    56
    30
    17
See reviews for
330
857
44
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Patras, Greece
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

My wife and my 5 years old son we spent 6 nights at El Palace last week. The hotel is really luxury, very comfortable, with great taste and very efficiency. Everything happens when and how it should and you cannot fault the staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they will pamper you in a courteous but friendly and relaxed manner; you don't feel overwhelmed or patronised. The general atmosphere is superb and the food is outstanding. The location is also perfect

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMichalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I posted my review previously, I was looking to find any similar smell that this hotel uses and I just found in Wal Mart this perfume (Paul Sebastian), almost the same smell El Palace uses in their rooms & facilities. :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M_AlMajdouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Me, my wife and my parentes stayed @ El Palace during a car trip across Spain, France and Andorra. We stayed here in oct/11.
The hotel is just amazing, from the smell until the restaurants. We stayed here for 4 nights and had a pleasant time. They offer all you can expect from a member of the leading hotels of the world, from location to comfort, from service to good drinks.
The breakfast, asked at the room is very good, with different kind of breads, cheeses and ham, but the breakfast at the saloon was amazing. The saloon was beautiful, with plenty space between the tables. They have everything you need and much, much more.
The room was just great, we had a suite with sofa and a large bathroom, but with view to the internal patio.
The Bed was nice and large with a big screen tv and complimentary fresh fruits and spanish sparkling wine.
The bathroom was great, with plenty space, separate large rain shower and tub and separate toilet as well.
We tried the restaurant at the end of the lobby, at the main bar and the food was great, from the salad to pasta, everything very good and after the dinner we went to the downstairs bar and find a very nice small bar with a live pocket show where we had some good drinks with good music.
The only point is that sometimes you can listening the subway from some areas of the hotel, but nothing that will make your stay less pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucasSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
136 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We booked a de-luxe double for 5 nights arriving on Christmas Day having been collected from the airport by the hotel car. On arrival we were upgraded to a 1st floor suite with an aspect looking out directly to rooms on the opposit site of former courtyard. To enable privacy, the windows were at least 80% opaque glass and with 3 sets of window dressings, natural light was seriously impeded. However as the weather was brilliant sunshine every day which meant we were out all day we were not too bothered. The room was well appointed with everything as it should be. The suite consisted of a bedroom, lounge, large bathroom with separate shower room and a luggage storage space. The decent sized bedroom had built in wardrobes, a wall-mounted flat screen TV and bedside tables. The bed was exceptionally comfortable with a daily linen change. Lighting was excellent with a nightlight for in-bed reading in addition to lamps. The lounge contained a desk & chair, a sofa, armchairs and a 2nd wall-mounted TV. A mini-bar with limited stock is provided but no courtesy tray for hot drinks but this arrangement is fairly standard in Europe. I cannot function without tea as soon as my eyes are open so took my own travel kettle etc and this did not attract any comment (this has been known in other places but I like tea hot not tepid after a 10 minute journey from a kitchen!).Housekeeping and replenishment services were excellent given it was a holiday period for the local people as well.

The bathroom offered a double wash basin unit with plenty of space for two sets of toiletries etc, a jacuzzi which worked and was spotless, a large walk-in shower with the option of overhead or hand held waterflow. Only slight issue was the decor was very dark in the shower area but lighting and mirrors in the grooming area were excellent.

We took breakfast in a large room with central buffet tables. This area is either a conservatory or is actually outside but cleverly disguised as an indoor room for winter months. It is heated by two types of heating -high wall-mounted electric bar heaters and moveable outdoor patio heaters. Despite their best efforts, these heaters are not adequate. As our visit progressed I was wearing more layers each morning and I observed other guests resorting to outdoor clothing at breakfast. The food was fine but my other half felt that there should have been a cook to order menu for a hotel of this calibre. There was certainly no evidence of this being available.

We had dinner in the AE restaurant on Christmas night which was absolutely fine but not exceptional. We also dined at their Michelin star restaurant Caelis and that's another story! Please see separate review. Suffice to say it was a week ago and we are still awestruck!!!

The location of El Palace is very central with excellent access to good shopping streets, a short distance to the Barrio Gotic, a healthy walk to beach and nearby the Gaudi hotspots. This was our 2nd visit to Barca and we still have not used a bus or underground train. Lots of people comment about noise from the underground. I noticed it but it was not obstrusive. This is a city centre after all.

We tend to use 5 star hotels in cities and although El Palace does not equate to other places we have stayed in recent times it was very good value. We would probably give it another chance.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front may suffer from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyecorrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

I'm going to go against the grain here and say that I don't think El Palace compares with some of the more famous five star hotels that I've stayed in (George V, The Hassler).

We were picked up by the hotel car and taken swiftly to the hotel, lead into reception and checked in(our room wasn't ready but it was 11.30 am) so we went to the restaurant to have lunch, it is decorated beautifully in keeping with the history of the building,they have done a great job sourcing beautiful reproduction furniture. We had lunch and it was fantastic but there was just no atmosphere, the place felt dead and we were the only people in it making it hard to sit back and relax.

We stayed in a one bedroom suite and it was nice but just nice nothing amazing, the colours of the room were muted and the room felt dark and gloomy, the seating area only had one small sofa and two upright chairs so it wasn't a great place to lounge in. As it was our wedding anniversary my husband had (as a surprise) requested flowers, bubbly & cake in the room on arrival(he booked this two months in advance). They weren't there and when he tried to speak to reception got nowhere so he had to go downstairs and after a long conversation with them they explained they hadn't known if he wanted them on arrival or later in the day, its areas like this that they fall down in, a top 5 star hotel would do their utmost to make find out as it kind of ruined the surprise!

Other things such as a leaking radiator which had obviously been like it for some time as the carpet was discloured, not being able to get through to room service, a breakfast delivered without butter, salt, jam and milk and you can understand why I wasn't blown away.

The staff are friendly but they don't go out of their way to help, we had drink each night when we returned from dinner and bang on 12 the bar was shut, we weren't asked if we would like another drink.....

We were on the 6th floor and you can here the metro, not enough to stop me sleeping but it's there.

We had dinner in their michelin star restaurant and I wasn't impressed with it (please see my seperate review), the breakfast was good, it's in a good spot, walking distance to the shops etc. It was a nice stay but nothing special and for the money I don't think we would return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IrishKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

At 10 minutes walking distance from Las Rambas, you will find a pure gem.
Everything in this Palace ( and it deserves the term of Palace ), is incredible : space, design, We felt like a royal couple in our room, the bathroom is huge.
If you can afford it, just go for the Suite!
What about service? Every staff is helpful and incredibly gentle whatever you ask for.
I would definitely return and recommend this masterpiece.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#5 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#7 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#13 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Property: El Palace Hotel
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palace Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing