We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Palace Hotel”
Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Palace Hotel
Ranked #10 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“El Palace Hotel”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband and I are spending our last night at this beautiful hotel tonight and want to complement the entire staff and premises. Celine, the manager, sought us out to introduce herself to us, and has been extremely courteous and friendly. We were upgraded to a junior suite, which is most comfortable. The recent renovations still give it the "old world charm" that we enjoy. We also visited several other hotels while here, and realize that this one is superior!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,358
    242
    62
    32
    19
See reviews for
359
914
50
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

RoomService - Bad. Nobody speak English they will bring you something else. Not too much to order.
Old personal rusty without energy
Breakfast - poor. Totally disappointing.
Room - junior suite with window in interior yard.
No coffee or tea maker in Room
200 ml free still water in Room only for two person
No weight scale in bathroom
Coffee Expresso in bar is like American Cofee

hotel is very clean , beautiful classical style looking very luxurious just they should fix some of minuses

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlinHauca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We've been threre at the end of January, everything was great, the hotel and the rooms are really well furnished and spotless.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OneAdvisedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed at El Palace for a week in January and found this to be a luxurious hotel in a great location. The rooms were very spacious and the beds were exceptionally comfortable. We even had a huge walk in closet. I am so pleased that we chose this hotel over other options. The staff were friendly, helpful and quick to respond to our needs. My husband advised the hotel that we were celebrating my 60th birthday and retirement and on our arrival were given a complimentary bottle of champagne. When we return to Barcelona, we will definitley stay here again!

Room Tip: We requested a room on a higher floor due to previous comments about the subway noise and were given...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank YYCLassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Only a few minutes walk form the main shopping street of Las Ramblas, this hotel shouldn't be described a hotel, it's more like stepping into a palace. We had a long 13 hour flight and all we wanted was to get to the hotel and do a bit of sightseeing. When we stepped in, your were greeted by a glistening chandelier, accompanied by two guards. The lounge was draped with green and purple hues and was the main highlight of the hotel. We actually got upgraded and we got a fabulous room. The room itself was elegant and very spacious with an oversized bath and rain shower. A definite choice in the heart of Barcelona!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy_Cumming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This hotel is just superb, the decor and the staff are fantastic. The only snobbish chap was one on reception on the 7th Jan, the day of arrival who refused to accept our bed and breakfast booking because it was from some inferior travel-agent!! Apart from that we had a superb stay with breakfast not quite the 5 star rating.

Room Tip: Would recommend this hotel to anyone!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPC80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We loved this hotel actually but we found it just a block or two too out of the main area. It was all within walking distance but after a long day, two blocks felt like more then that. I would stay here again but be more prepared for the location. There were always taxis outside and we got around ok.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billB36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 513 in Barcelona
238 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#111 of 513 in Barcelona
6,294 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Property: El Palace Hotel
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Jet2Holidays , World Independent Hotel Promotion, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palace Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing