We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a five-star experience”
Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Our five-day vacation stay at this well-located hotel was largely pleasant, mostly due to the very professional and helpful staff. The large opulent lobby area impresses with old-style luxury hotel atmosphere and plenty of comfy sofas, while the rooms are nice but not particularly special as compared to other five-star hotel rooms. The room seemed smaller than indicated which probably reflects including in the advertised size, the "dead" space hallway leading into the room and the large bath area, which included both a shower and a regular bathtub. The shower only had a tiny plastic soap dish to hold the soap, shampoo, conditioner - not to mention my face wash, razor, shaving lotion - so some things had to be put on the shower floor and other things kept falling off the tiny dish. I guess this is a typical design with no function issue. The smallish working desk didn't have a desk lamp; the only lighting being ceiling downlights that could only all be turned on at once, making it difficult for one person to work at the desk while the other went to bed earlier or got up later. After I requested a desk lamp, the hotel did put one in. Ask for one when you check-in to avoid loss of sleep and irritation!. More irritating is that this pricey hotel charges for in-room wifi (15 Euro per day) while offering a cable-internet connection in the room. When paying over 400 Euro a day for a smallish room, I expect to get the wifi free. I also disliked the bedding, this must be the first 5-star hotel I have stayed in that does not have high-quality sheets and duvets. The sheets felt and looked basic, no choice of pillows, and worst of all, there was only a thin brown blanket(doesn't feel "fresh" or comfy) stretched across the king-size bed. Perhaps I am spoiled (I spend about 75 hotel nights a year in 4 or 5 star hotels), but I like a down or feather duvet - one for each side of the bed but big enough to share. Surprisingly there were only 2 bath towels and 2 hand towels in the room - no wash cloth and no extra bath towel for drying hair (we were two in the room). The towels were standard size and rather worn: thin and even fraying on the edges. The closet and clothing storage area is located in the bath area, which some may find less convenient. The armchair in our room was soiled from use (brownish discoloration on the arm rests and the front of the seat area), making it unattractive to sit on. The breakfast cost 28 Euro per person, and was pretty standard fare. I would have liked more fruits - I was disappointed there were no berries (all over Europe there are Spanish strawberries sold cheaply now). The breakfast room is a canvas covered outdoor garden and a bit cold. One morning we were put by the door to the patio where smokers go and it was very cold with the door frequently opening (and often being left open). I was surprised that when we sat in the lobby, no one ever came up and asked if we would like to order some coffee or a drink (a couple of times we sat for 20 - 30 minutes and staff would merely walk by, even though the lobby was nearly empty). But when I tracked down the bartender and ordered tea, it was very nicely served. The location of the hotel is good. Barcelona boasts many high-end and other hotels may offer more real luxury for the price. If you want heavy drapes, lots of gold and gild, embossed wall-paper, and "old-world luxury", this hotel may suit you. If so, ask for a high-floor room (only 6 floors) to avoid traffic noise, (you can still hear the subway rumble if the room is quiet and you're not distracted. This did not bother us but might a light sleeper.)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaralouStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

968 - 974 of 1,783 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

Do you ever overlook the pictures of other tourists who have been in the hotel? Then don't do for this hotel as El Palace is much much better than the pictures taken by tourists. The luxury of El Palace is not only in the grand building and old-style design but in all details you could find in this hotel: bed, bed linen, lights in the room, shower amenities, toiletries, etc. Besides the staff only adds to the perfectness, as all of them will treat you as the most welcomed guest in the hotel.

If you find the official photos of the hotel intriguing then I promise - you won't be disappointed. And there is no much more things to add, as this is the hotel that has to be enjoyed not described :)

If You stay in the hotel then the breakfast (although for additional cost) is a must. This will be only one more extra treat for you. Unfortunately I didn't have opportunity to enjoy the restaurant by R. Fornell (as there were the private party) but would like to think that this is a very special experience, as well.

(One more thing to add, that rarely is mentioned in the hotel reviews in the positive light: the smell.) The scent in this hotel was very special: so fresh and clean.

I truly enjoyed every second of stay in this hotel and would definitely like to return to celebrate the very special occasions of my life.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ieva_ABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed at the El Palace Hotel in March 2012. The hotel was wonderful from the doorman to front desk to the concierge to the restaurant and bar staff. Our room was spacious, well appointed, and in almost new condition. We only stayed one night, a stopover to catch a cruise out of Barcelona, and wish we'd had more time to explore the city and take advantage of a great hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randyk47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

If you like opulent interiors with silk and velvet drapes, cozy beautiful furniture of the last centuries combined with technology and convenience of the modern civilization than El Palace hotel in Barcelona will impress you. Contemporary big bathrooms with a separate toilet, with cascade shower for those who like being washed by the rain, or a more traditional (the boring one) as well. The lavish rooms are big, equipped with Mirror/TV and fireplace, and very, very quite thanks to the little hallway separating the entry and the room itself by a door. The beds are very comfortable. We had our breakfast in a garden area of the hotel. So delicious and the verity is of great restaurants. Don't forget to enjoy the Rein de Rein lounge downstairs where local jazz bands often perform. Special thanks to Javier, who was so helpfull not only with our luggage, but with other things, like recommendations and letting us feel very welcome and taken care of. Next time i'm in Barcelona, El Palace is my home.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLumiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Our family holiday started in Barcelona. We arrived early, as usual, normal check in time was 3pm. I asked for 1 room for my elderly parents, they accommodated my request and found a room. All the staff were very courteous and assisted in finding us restaurants and attractions.
The buffet breakfast is excellent.
The rooms were quite spacious, the facilities have been renovated.
The location is close to Catalunya Square, easy walking distance to La Rambla.
Definitely will come back.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing Gran Via and on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thirawit l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This hotel is completely centrally located. The staff is top notch. Francisco at the Concierge station got us front row tix to a Catalan guitar concert in the Music Hall, an expert guide for a walking tour of the sites, the best restaurant recommendations, etc. Room service was at the door minutes after calling. The entire place was completely restored just 2 years ago and simply looks like the 1919 Ritz but brand new.

Room Tip: ask for a room that doesn't look out to the 'central court'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here over Easter. The hotel has been remodelled,, but has tried to capture the service levels of the bygone ritz era. The staff are lovely, particularly the bar man, we did not capture his name, and service is impeccable. Reception staff slightly arrogant, but the bar staff, concierge, the guy who helps with your luggage, to the breakfast staff are all great and make up for it.

Breakfast is lovely in the breakfast room, room service is incredibly quick and efficient. The rooms are not overly spacious, but the bathrooms are huge and the shower and toiletries fantastic.

The staff are dressed in a very old fashioned way,,,with bow ties, tails, white dinner jackets etc, but everything is very personal. It's simply a very old fashioned, personal service. The hotel, although busy, never really feels it, other than at breakfast.

The location is great, walking distance to everything, and you will spend your days out and about easily. We had an interior room on the third floor and there was absolutely no noise at all, it was deadly quiet.

So if you are looking for an old fashioned, refined, personal service, this hotel is one of the best. If you are looking for trendy and fun, then this is not for you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank froggyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#118 of 515 in Barcelona
6,473 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 515 in Barcelona
1,408 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 515 in Barcelona
311 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#21 of 515 in Barcelona
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £165 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palace Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing