We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super unforgettable stay”
Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We just came back from our 10 days of vacation starting from Barcelona then to Nice, Monte Carlo, Venice and return home from Barcelona. Hotel El Palace was the first place that we stayed for two nights and I can't say enough of its elegance, super service, classy staff and amazing location. Unfortunately there was no space to book a room at this hotel on our last two days in Barcelona, we ended up to book in another hotel which was a totally different experience. At the El Palace hotel our room was not a city view in which the hotel management immediately moved us to another room that was just perfect. The comfort of the bed, spacious room, the luxurious bathroom, the most amazing breakfast, every thing was super . Our wonderful time at this hotel has motivated us to definitely return back to Barcelona, but this time with our two girls, knowing that Barcelona is the most beautiful place to visit and staying at this hotel will make it just perfect. Thanks for such a great service.

Room Tip: After staying in four other hotels on my vacation I would go for any room in this hotel
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebrahim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,738)
There are newer reviews for El Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

637 - 643 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

The El Palace is a special place, a real retreat. Our room was quiet and spacious. The concierge service was above and beyond what you would expect. The man at the concierge desk went so far as to buy show tickets for me with his personal credit card (for some reason my US card would not work online) and then I paid him cash. The location is very convenient and in a very safe section. The breakfast is wonderful - huge selection. The musician in the bar was very entertaining and personable. I highly recommend the El Palace.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 978Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Palace in March 2014 on the occasion of our wedding anniversary. The room and hotel are splendid, and the central location is perfect for sightseeing and evenings out.
But above all we enjoyed the friendly and professional service which made our stay at the hotel truly special.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Spo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I found it a wonderful Hotel, service was perfect and location is in a very good position! I do raccomand it. it is perfect for family, partners and friends. I am very happy with it! and Barcelona is absolutly a city that has to be seen

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a lovely stay at this former Ritz property. The room was comfortable, with all necessary appointments; the bathroom was luxurious, with both a shower and a tub as well as separate WC. We asked for washcloths (not standard in Europe) and they were occasionally provided, a very small issue. The included breakfast was quite acceptable, though it was only cold items; for an upcharge, one could have the hot food, which was really a lavish spread. Excellent coffee, of course. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BakerNomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is our second stay at the relatively recently renovated Hotel, restoring it to the elegance of the past with the amenities of today. From the breakfast area, to the tucked away bar downstairs at night, guests are in for a treat. Elegant settings for breakfast, and a fast paced, yet relaxed setting of that tucked away bar with superior bar tenders led by Danny Martin are fab ways to start and end the day. The entertainment is also sure to please with 'big' live music. Don't be afraid to put your drink choice and destiny in the hand of Danny for a 'imagination inspired' night cap! Service from front desk, to bell hops, and service staff are all befitting the 5 star rating.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 2 different rooms, both have met our expectation. Quiet, comfortable, generous ba...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is Hotel is Europe at it`s finest. Rooms do not come cheap here but you get what you pay for and this hotel gives you everything you pay for and more. The only drawback is the Gym which is small and offers only limited equipment. However, the basics are covered so giving that everything else is over the top I recommend this hotel highly.

The Hotel has a great history and is frequented by wealthy European Families and Business People. What I really like about this hotel is they have kept the old feel to it with period furnishings but with modern ammenities. While the Restaurants are inexpensive the service, food quality, and presentation merit the prices. I shall return and thanks for a wonderful stay in one of my favorite cities in Europe.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProjectJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 513 in Barcelona
264 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#1 of 513 in Barcelona
1,335 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#113 of 513 in Barcelona
6,361 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £213 - £532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palace Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing