We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I have stayed here 3 times previous, and found the hotel to be a really great place to stay. The cost is a little more than you would wish to spend, but its worth it. The rooms are large, and fairiy quite, even though the hotel is positioned on the corner of two main roads, we heard very little traffic. Breakfast is also amazing, with plenty of choice and Champagne if you want it. The staff are all very curtious and friendly. The only one issue we did have was wanting afternoon tea after a long morning and afternoon of shopping. Apparently, you need to order this 48 hours in advance. Sorry El Palace, this is not normal for a 5 star hotel. The staff did try to provide tea with some petit-fours, but it wasn't what we wanted. The only bad mark on the entire stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: Nice old fashioned hotel, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Best experience, hotel I have ever stayed at.recommend to anyone.staff lovely, hotel immaculate, felt like royalty.I visited this hotel for a week in 2010, never been here before, and I will come and stay here again, it is everything and more. The service, the food, the staff is just exceptional. The hotel is close to everything, and aircon is on when you need it in the hot summer months.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Upon arrival everything looks fine with this hotel, you step from the bustly street and its serine the atmosphere of calm and quiet. Check in was fine, then we were escorted to the room by a nice lady who gave me her business card. The room,,,,,was small and scruffy, we were in a deluxe suite, which to me looked like a basic room, the view was of air conditioners. The carpets look like they need to be renewned and the room was cramped, the mini bar was in a strange area. The shower had a overhead spray so you got soaked unless you used the hand held. The breakfast area...... work is commencing some place in the hotel so when you eat breakfast you hear the sounds of machinery constantly, and its a little chilly in there even for someone who is always warm like myself. The choice of food for breakfast could be better. Snack area....which is located just before the business area near the bar,,,the food here was excellent as was the service no faults there. Check out,,,we left this hotel and informed reception early in the morning that we wouldn't be staying that evening, we had booked direct with the hotel, they said it was only fair that we paid half towards that nights stay, which we did, felt a little ripped off. ALSO DO NOT EXCHANGE MONEY WITH THIS HOTEL THEY RIP YOU OFF generally this hotel is a little noisey in public areas also a little noisey in the bedrooms due to overlooking air conditioners

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NJBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palacebarcelona, Director General at El Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Ms. Tota,
First of all, we would like to thank you very much for having chosen El Palace Hotel during your stay in Barcelona last May and for your time for sharing with us your comments and experience.
We have carefully read all what you expose and we deeply regret for not having met your expectations on this occasion. One of the most important commitments for us is to make each single customer stay the most memorable one.
Considering your comments point by point, we would like to specify that the room you were staying is actually one of the biggest ones, a Junior Suite with 40sqm – 431ft2, one of the most quiet rooms as it is overlooking one of the typical Barcelonian Eixample’s patio, and as all the hotel it is decorated following the classic style that is one of the key selling points of our property. The carpets were bought new since our last and deep renovation which lasted two years reopening late 2009, so it was forecasted to restore them again between next year and 2016. However, your opinion is important for us and we have taken all necessary actions to make this project fastener.
On the other hand, and with regards to the breakfast area, as we mentioned the hotel building is located within the Barcelona area designed by Ildefons Cerdà, the famous and illustrious architect admired for its concept of building up edifices islands with a grid shape. The main concept conceived a garden in the middle of these buildings and our breakfast area is actually located into our indoor garden, maintaining the original streetlights from the 1919, and the typical wrought iron furniture so common in the 20’s. We are really sorry that in the adjacent building there were some works but this is an unforeseen circumstance outside the hotel power. Nevertheless we would like to mention that the Hotel is starting now a new era with a new management, so we will also study how we can improve the buffet breakfast being served now at this iconic area as the Garden Room is.
Finally, and with regards to the checkout process, normally the hotel has the policy to charge 1 night penalty fee for early and unexpected departures. Our Front Desk did a gesture of goodwill agreeing with you to only charge 50% of this amount; however we regret that you felt the currency exchange was not the appropriate one. Normally the exchange rate in a hotel is lower than in a bank; however subject on the amount of money you are changing it would be more or less convenient to exchange it at the hotel according to the bank commissions. Nevertheless if you consider this was not the appropriate one, we will kindly ask you to forward us which was the exchange rate applied and we will compare with the exchange rate should have been those days and find that it was not the proper one we will refund you the difference.
Ms. Tota, thanking you again for your comments you can rest assure that all the departments involved have been informed about all your feedback as it is with reviews like yours that we continuously improve our service. Should you give us the confidence to stay with us again you will be able to experience on a first hand that your suggestions have been taken into good consideration.

Hoping to have the pleasure of having you as a valued customer at the hotel upon another occasion in the future, receive my best wishes.

Yours sincerely,


Joan Valls
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a marvelous hotel in a very central location in Barcelona. The easy to use metro system is only two blocks away. Our room was spacious, spotless and perhaps most important, very quiet. And the staff was fantastic from our early morning arrival from the airport to the moment we left. Everyone seemed to go out of their way to satisfy. We included breakfast at all the hotels throughout our three week visit to Spain and Portugal and the one at the El Palace was by far the best. Selection, quality, service were all top notch. Concierge service was skillful and directed us to several great local restaurants. The lounge was a perfect setting for an end of evening stop and drink. This is a 5-star hotel that provides a 5-star experience. Highly recommend and when we return to Barcelona, this will be our choice for hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a marvelous hotel in a very central location in Barcelona. The easy to use metro system is only two blocks away. Our room was spacious, spotless and perhaps most important, very quiet. And the staff was fantastic from our early morning arrival from the airport to the moment we left. Everyone seemed to go out of their way to satisfy.

We included breakfast at all the hotels throughout our three week visit to Spain and Portugal and the one at the El Palace was by far the best. Selection, quality, service were all top notch. Concierge service was skillful and directed us to several great local restaurants. The lounge was a perfect setting for an end of evening stop and drink.

This is a 5-star hotel that provides a 5-star experience. Highly recommend and when we return to Barcelona, this will be our choice for hotel.

Room Tip: Although fronting on a busy street, the rooms in this hotel all seemed to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SantaFeFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a great location and ambiance. I loved this hotel. The decor was gorgeous without an ounce of pretension. Stayed here two nights during The Christmas holiday and the hotel was decorated beautifully. From an easily navigable location and so close to shops & great tapas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dlcuratolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent Hotel in Barcelona, extremely helpful and friendly staff. We stayed here before boarding a cruise to Rome. The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring Barcelona and we would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#1 of 519 in Barcelona
366 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 519 in Barcelona
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Passage Hotel & Spa
Yurbban Passage Hotel & Spa
#5 of 519 in Barcelona
179 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#15 of 519 in Barcelona
237 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £207 - £710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palace Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing