We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Palace Hotel
Ranked #11 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights in Barcelona this past June. Everything about the hotel was first rate. Our room was quiet and spacious. It had all the amenities that you would expect in a 5 star hotel. The concierge staff was extremely helpful with directions and making dinner reservations for us. The included breakfast was very good and offered buffet as well as eggs to order. The ambiance of the breakfast dining room was lovely. We enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whycook2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,279
    232
    58
    32
    18
See reviews for
337
863
47
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the palace hotel in Barcelona . The hotel is very elegant and beautiful. We were welcomed upon arrival and although it was early, our room was ready. The concierge was very helpful in recommending restaurants, sightseeing and arranging a car and driver for one trip. They showed us on the map where we were located and how best to get around. Katerina, one of the managers, made a point to introduce herself and sent us champagne and fruit to our room, since we are members of the leading hotels of the world. The buffet breakfast was good and served in a beautiful room or in the garden. Our only complaint was that if we wanted one section of the buffet which included eggs and a few other hot items, it was an extra 14 euros per person which is high for eggs. The rest of the buffet was included. We could pretty much walk to most tourist attractions. We would definitely recommend this beautiful hotel and excellent staff!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
293 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The El Palace Hotel is the Old Ritz hotel and the style of the hotel is very grand, beautiful chandeliers everywhere and the stair case in the lobby is very grand.
At the check in we were greeted with friendly service and the room key was issued by the Concierge in the main lobby of the hotel. We had room 210 which was on the corner of the hotel overlooking the street. The room was very quiet with excellent black out drapes. Even though the room faces the street, the windows have excellent double seals which block out all the street and traffic noise. We slept without any disturbance during our 5 nights in Barcelona. The room was quite spacious with a writing desk and king size bed and with a large wardrobe, which was in an adjoining room. The bathroom had a full size bath with a separate walk in shower, single vanity and a separate toilet in the corner of the bathroom behind a glass door. There is an entry hall from the room door into the bedroom area which has sensor lights which help light your way at night.
We opted to pay for breakfast which was about 28 euros which sounded expensive, until we checked out the prices at a nearby restaurant. Once we added up the items we would have with tea and juice etc., it worked out much the same price and much easier at the hotel. At breakfast there was a very good selection of fruits, cereals, pasties, breads, hot foods etc. You can order an omelette or poached eggs if you wish. The breakfast staff are very accommodating and nothing is too much trouble.
The hotel’s location is very good and central to the main tourist sites in the main centre of Barcelona with the metro stations only a short walk away. The cost of the hotel is a bit more, but it is worth spending the extra.
We highly recommend the El Palace Hotel for your stay in Barcelona

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

El Palace knows how to treat their customers. From the moment we arrived we were pampered. Each and every staff member is attentive but not overbearing. Every request we made was addressed promptly. The concierge services, as well as all the other services, were exemplary. The hotel itself is beautiful and immaculate. Even our late lunch the day of our arrival was fantastic, although we're not sure if we enjoyed the food or the service more. Whenever we are in Barcelona we will absolutely be staying at El Palace.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pagasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booked a long weekend here due to the reviews on trip advisor
Maybe one of the best hotels I've stayed in, great friendly staff, great location, with very plush surroundings
Go for the breakfast option, you pay a little more but well worth having breakfast - sets you up for the busy day ahead
The only thing I would criticise is the Wi Fi signal in the room, but that's it
4 nights in a Wonderful City, in a Fantastic Hotel
Would go back here in an instant

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigbadal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights in the hotel as a treat and can only describe it as faultless. The staff were extremely helpful without being intrusive and the rooms superb. Yes, expensive, but great value.

The hotel has retained all of its former glamour and a great way to spend a long weekend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco Region, Peru
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The lobby of the hotel will definitely leave you breathless. It's like living to a palace. The title of the hotel cannot be more representative of what you will see. The breakfast is one of the most diverse I have ever tasted. Of course, it's pricey but you have to take it at least for one day. The rooms are big enough, we stayed at a junior suite. The best part of the room was the extra spacious bathroom. The view was to the inside part of the hotel-nothing particular. Walking distance to the Casa Battlo and to the central square.

Room Tip: Taste the breakfast and the michelin awarded restaurant (if open).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#9 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Property: El Palace Hotel
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palace Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing