We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the El palace for 5 nights with our 3 children , I would recommend this hotel and I would definitely return . Outstanding service and very clean 5 star hotel.the location was perfect just away from the maddening crowds

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Grtone72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 640 of 1,779 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I travelled to Barcelona for our Birthday present to each other. So we wanted an extra special Hotel and the El Palace delivered on all counts. We stayed here between 15-18 July 2014. The El Palace was previously known as The Ritz and the plaque on the floor is still there. We arrived quite early in the morning and so our room wasn't ready (which we expected) but the desk staff couldn't have been apologetic enough, our bags were held for us and they promised to have the room done within an hour and half, and they did. The room (which was more like a mini suite) was beautiful with a walk in dressing room/bathroom. The bed was huge and comfortable. The bathroom had a huge shower a bath and double basins and they provided l'occitane products which were replenished every day if needed. I cannot praise ALL the staff enough from the Doorman to the Reception to the Bar to the Maids. Everyone always had a smile for you and nothing was too much trouble. They certainly made our stay in Barcelona extra special.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I truly enjoyed staying at this hotel , which is locate don GRANVIA which is like almost like a 10-15 minute walk to LA RAMBLA. This hotel is best suited for guests who appreciate gourmet food than fast food ! It was built in 1919 and they have been successful in maintaining the look and the style , which nowadays most hotels do forget to cater to. The breakfast is a MUST , just to sit at the black and white restaurant with chandeliers , marble and outdoor canopy seating . If you want to live in chaos than stay in a hotel located in LA RAMBLA where all the activity is . But if you want to enjoy your stay peacefully then this is worth it.

Room Tip: the classic rooms are perfect for 2 people , if you are travelling with more then try and stay in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

This is the last of our stays in Spain and it ain't no Langhams, Penninsula or the Ritz. If you are from Australia or America you will be disappointed. The most courteous person here is the American porter as you arrive ( he's lived here for 14 years).

The service in the lobby is average. The wine list is poor.
But the noise!! Construction from at least 9am-7:30pm. And it will be going on for quite some time to come. We've been moved twice and upgraded but it's still loud.
This is an old hotel. And yes old world charm but also old! The doors don't shut well, the mattresses are tired, etc etc. everything has been minimised from no face washers in rooms to no bottled water to no tissues even. It's not a palace, it's just an old Ritz that got sold on. Spend your hard earner $$$$ elsewhere. There are better choices.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank 45,743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights in Barcelona this past June. Everything about the hotel was first rate. Our room was quiet and spacious. It had all the amenities that you would expect in a 5 star hotel. The concierge staff was extremely helpful with directions and making dinner reservations for us. The included breakfast was very good and offered buffet as well as eggs to order. The ambiance of the breakfast dining room was lovely. We enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank whycook2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the palace hotel in Barcelona . The hotel is very elegant and beautiful. We were welcomed upon arrival and although it was early, our room was ready. The concierge was very helpful in recommending restaurants, sightseeing and arranging a car and driver for one trip. They showed us on the map where we were located and how best to get around. Katerina, one of the managers, made a point to introduce herself and sent us champagne and fruit to our room, since we are members of the leading hotels of the world. The buffet breakfast was good and served in a beautiful room or in the garden. Our only complaint was that if we wanted one section of the buffet which included eggs and a few other hot items, it was an extra 14 euros per person which is high for eggs. The rest of the buffet was included. We could pretty much walk to most tourist attractions. We would definitely recommend this beautiful hotel and excellent staff!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladyright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The El Palace Hotel is the Old Ritz hotel and the style of the hotel is very grand, beautiful chandeliers everywhere and the stair case in the lobby is very grand.
At the check in we were greeted with friendly service and the room key was issued by the Concierge in the main lobby of the hotel. We had room 210 which was on the corner of the hotel overlooking the street. The room was very quiet with excellent black out drapes. Even though the room faces the street, the windows have excellent double seals which block out all the street and traffic noise. We slept without any disturbance during our 5 nights in Barcelona. The room was quite spacious with a writing desk and king size bed and with a large wardrobe, which was in an adjoining room. The bathroom had a full size bath with a separate walk in shower, single vanity and a separate toilet in the corner of the bathroom behind a glass door. There is an entry hall from the room door into the bedroom area which has sensor lights which help light your way at night.
We opted to pay for breakfast which was about 28 euros which sounded expensive, until we checked out the prices at a nearby restaurant. Once we added up the items we would have with tea and juice etc., it worked out much the same price and much easier at the hotel. At breakfast there was a very good selection of fruits, cereals, pasties, breads, hot foods etc. You can order an omelette or poached eggs if you wish. The breakfast staff are very accommodating and nothing is too much trouble.
The hotel’s location is very good and central to the main tourist sites in the main centre of Barcelona with the metro stations only a short walk away. The cost of the hotel is a bit more, but it is worth spending the extra.
We highly recommend the El Palace Hotel for your stay in Barcelona

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#118 of 515 in Barcelona
6,464 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 515 in Barcelona
1,407 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 515 in Barcelona
307 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#22 of 515 in Barcelona
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £179 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palace Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing