We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our absolute favorite hotel”
Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Our absolute favorite hotel”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Everything about this hotel is truly exceptional. It is located conveniently close to Placa Catalunya, shopping, the Gothic section and wonderful dining. From the moment we arrived, no matter who we encountered, the staff could not have been more helpful, pleasant and engaging. The hotel itself is wonderfully appointed. The first floor lounge is beautiful and we always looked forward to relaxing both there and in our room after a day of exploring Barcelona. Our room itself was tastefully decorated and the shower was perhaps the nicest I have ever found in Europe. We really enjoyed Barcelona, but I have no doubt that we will revisit just to stay at the El Palace again. This is our favorite hotel in Europe.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulplf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,338
    240
    61
    32
    19
See reviews for
353
903
50
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel is located in an area close to most of the tourist attractions, without being right in the heart of the hustle and bustle. We arrived late at night and to be honest I was a little bit concerned but I should not have been, the staff wee helpful from the off and once we had dropped off the gas we set off for a recommended tapas bar, which was excellent. All of this happened at around midnight!
As to the hotel itself, the room we had was very nicely appointed and spacious, a decent TV, plus a really good bathroom with all facilities. There was free wifi too and a strong connection.
We did not sample the breakfast so I cannot comment on that, neither did we avail of any of the other facilities so again it would be wrong for me to comment. On that basis I have only given a 'very good' rating but it is borderline 'excellent' even then.

Room Tip: Our room was high up so we had no outside ness at all, even though we faced the busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Its been a while since my last trip to Barcelona so it took me some time to decide which hotel would be best for my this trip. I was impressed by the TripAdvisor comments and ratings and decided to book hoping for the best. I was completely blown away by this hotel. It is better than 5 stars. The lobby, the restaurant on the patio and the downstairs jazz and cigar lounge are breathtaking. The room was spacious, modern with a huge closet and bathroom and we just had a deluxe room. The location is great and away from the hustle and bustle of La Rambla but an easy walk to all the sights and the waterfront. I suggest using UBER while in Barcelona it works like a charm and cheaper and more efficient than Taxi's. Book this hotel and you too will feel like you have the keys to the Palace.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neilgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

El Palace is a wonderful hotel - well located, well maintained. Our room was large and the bathroom was well lit and modern. Breakfasts were good with lots of choices and the service was first rate. The only issue I have with the hotel was that they did not provide bottled water in the room. Every other 5 star hotel we stayed at did and this was a bit of a surprise. Aside from this, El Palace is a first rate hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillytravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the El palace for 5 nights with our 3 children , I would recommend this hotel and I would definitely return . Outstanding service and very clean 5 star hotel.the location was perfect just away from the maddening crowds

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grtone72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I travelled to Barcelona for our Birthday present to each other. So we wanted an extra special Hotel and the El Palace delivered on all counts. We stayed here between 15-18 July 2014. The El Palace was previously known as The Ritz and the plaque on the floor is still there. We arrived quite early in the morning and so our room wasn't ready (which we expected) but the desk staff couldn't have been apologetic enough, our bags were held for us and they promised to have the room done within an hour and half, and they did. The room (which was more like a mini suite) was beautiful with a walk in dressing room/bathroom. The bed was huge and comfortable. The bathroom had a huge shower a bath and double basins and they provided l'occitane products which were replenished every day if needed. I cannot praise ALL the staff enough from the Doorman to the Reception to the Bar to the Maids. Everyone always had a smile for you and nothing was too much trouble. They certainly made our stay in Barcelona extra special.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I truly enjoyed staying at this hotel , which is locate don GRANVIA which is like almost like a 10-15 minute walk to LA RAMBLA. This hotel is best suited for guests who appreciate gourmet food than fast food ! It was built in 1919 and they have been successful in maintaining the look and the style , which nowadays most hotels do forget to cater to. The breakfast is a MUST , just to sit at the black and white restaurant with chandeliers , marble and outdoor canopy seating . If you want to live in chaos than stay in a hotel located in LA RAMBLA where all the activity is . But if you want to enjoy your stay peacefully then this is worth it.

Room Tip: the classic rooms are perfect for 2 people , if you are travelling with more then try and stay in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 512 in Barcelona
209 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 512 in Barcelona
1,275 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#104 of 512 in Barcelona
6,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Property: El Palace Hotel
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palace Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing