We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Incredibly beautiful, luxurious hotel at an exceptional price!”
Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow! Incredibly beautiful, luxurious hotel at an exceptional price!”
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We reserved El Palace for our last night of our tour of Spain. I had read that the hotel had just completed a renovation, which is what I always look for in hotels (new always trumps worn). What I didn't realize is that El Palace used to be the Ritz, so the renovation went all out luxury.

Before I describe the room, etc., I should say that this hotel is extremely well situated, just a few blocks from the Gaudi buildings and the Passeig de Gracia. You can easily walk to everything from here.

For no reason at all, we were upgraded to a junior suite, which was one of the most spectacular rooms we have stayed in. The king-sized bed had the requisite fine crisp sheets, ample pillows, and super comfortable mattress. The room was large enough to have a love seat, coffee table, and two chairs for relaxing in. Blackout silk drapes assured total darkness over large soundproof windows (that opened!), but the most sophisticated lighting system I have seen in a hotel room assured plenty of light at night. The suite had a huge closet/cloakroom with a full length mirror and tons of storage. The limestone clad bathroom was so spacious and perfectly clean and new, I could have lived in it. Two sinks, a jacuzzi tub, toilet in its own stall, and a huge shower, with double rain-head showers, a long bench and two handheld showers created all this comfort. What luxury!

In the morning, the breakfast was delicious (as it was all over Spain). However, I have to give special kudos to the pastry chef. I am a food writer specializing in bread, and had some of the best chocolate croissants I have ever eaten. Also, the bread in Spain tends toward mediocrity (why?), so I was delighted to finally get some delicious crispy, very fresh, whole wheat rolls. The buffet was served in the garden room, with a full array of juices, cured meats and fish, fruit, hot beverages, English breakfast items like baked beans, eggs, and sausages, and of course that incredible bakery.

Completing this experience was of course a very professional and competent staff.

Did I say that our room was under 250 euro? How is this deal possible with this level of luxury and service?

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theobsessivetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,315
    239
    61
    31
    18
See reviews for
342
897
47
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Just returned from a long weekend at the Palace hotel. It was wonderful, can't fault it. The public areas were opulent, the rooms extremely comfortable - our bathroom was fantastic- and the service was tremendous. The staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb500Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Let me state the obvious right away – this is not a cheap hotel, but you cannot beat the value you get for your money. We stayed in a number of 5-star hotels on our trip, and Barcelona’s El Palace was undoubtedly the best.

We were traveling with a child, and we were driving so we had a a car which can be quite a problem in Barcelona. From the moment we pulled in front of El Palace, the hotel staff took care of us every step of the way! Instead of having us deal with messy narrow underground parking in Barcelona, they parked the car for us every time, and took it out on moments notice. The moment they noticed we’re with a small child (4 year old) they upgraded us to a junior suite. Room was wonderful – quiet and spacious, clean and modern, with jet bath and rain shower, and with an extra bed set up for our boy. Waiting for us was complimentary Cava (Spanish bubbly), and each day on our return to the room we found chocolates which only made every day even better! Staff was extremely friendly and helpful on every step, including making friends with our kid. And lastly, restaurant and scotch bar are hard to beat.

You may have heard that in Barcelona you should stay on La Rambla. Take my advice – do NOT stay there! It is one huge tourist trap, with bad and overprices restaurants, and really nothing you should see... ever. You should explore Barri Gotic and Born areas (which BTW, has some of the best restaurants), and Ports, but stay away from La Rambla.

El Palace is located on large street, so easy to find, but a few blocks detached from over-touristy and over-crowded La Rambla. You’re only two blocks (5 mins on foot) away from Plaza Catalunia and from entrance into Passeig de Gracia, which has both attractions (Gaudi’s houses), great restaurants, and great shopping. Metro station is very close to hotel, so you’re also close to wherever else you want to get to. Even better, taxis in Barcelona are dirt cheap and getting from and to El Palace is trivial, and you won’t have to suffer and pay for stop’n’go crawling through La Rambla.

Overall, quality of service as well as hotel and room quality made our stay in El Palace absolutely wonderful, and we highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Barcelona. Next time we come to Barcelona, we are definitely coming back to El Palace!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiladinP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

A very beautiful, comfortable hotel. 5 star hotel for sure. The location was excellent and easy to get anywhere. The breakfast was great. The quality of service and accomodations were excellent. The restuarant recommendations by the staff were perfect.
Taberna da Cura had great suckling pig, and other great dishes. Check out all the Gaudi sights.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lastresortname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Feel free to book this hotel, it was a real positive experience. I would have to say that the staff were the most outstanding feature. Almost everyone was bilingual and easy to communicate with. The concierge staff were the best, offering directions, making reservations etc.
The room was large and clean with a recently renovated, large bathroom. I loved the location on the Grand Via. It was a 2 - 4 block walk to many desirable spots be they the metro, the Placa de Catalunya or the Bus Turistica. I appreciated that the location was near enough to be convenient but not directly in the busy, noisy main drag.
If I had to say anything negative, it would be that the breakfast is way over priced but there are numerous breakfast bars within 1 to 2 blocks of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstridBrooklyn_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

The hotel was completely renovated in 2008. The rooms are new, spacious and very comfortable. There is a closet inside the bedroom and the bathroom is quite large. All the equipments (TV, bath, etc) are new and very modern. No doubt a 5 star hotel that deserves this category. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiviaCSTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2010

From the time we stepped out of our car, the service was fabulous. Everyone we dealt with during our stay was friendly and helpful. We had heard great things about the Concierge and they lived up to the high bar that had been set. The rooms were very comfortable and VERY quiet, which made for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
177 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#96 of 513 in Barcelona
6,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Property: El Palace Hotel
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palace Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing