We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the greatest hotels”
Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2010

This hotel is a great place and it is realy five star hotel. We stayed there for a weekend in April, it was gift for my girlfriends birthsday. We had wonderful stay in this hotel and Barcelona is a beautiful city.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielKUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,170 - 1,176 of 1,816 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2010

I agree with Gradpop in his assessment of this hotel. We had multiple problems, beginning with the fact that they gave us a small room for two people/king size bed, when we had requested a room to accomodate three people. Initially we were told that they would not be able to fit a cot in the room, but magically that changed when I said we will pay extra ( ended up costing 80 euros extra a night for that cot!). Changing the room was also not an option.We were also promised an upgrade ( in writing on our reservation), but were told at check in that this was a "miscommunication". Finally, we were told by the concierge we may purchase internet service directly from the kubi supplier, which we did-but as Gradpop noted did not have adequate service (i.e. no or sporadic connection). We had to use the computer in the hallway-and on the last night discovered we could get service in the bathroom! When we told the hotel about this issue we were advised that they could not help us, because we purchased the service directly from Kubi. Gradpop might be interested to know that we were told they had never had this wi-fi issue before! Overall, a very frustrating experience. However courteous the staff may be, their ineffectual response to the errors/ problems that we encountered is simply unacceptable. We are returning to Barcelona again in one month, and will definitely NOT be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malm40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

This is one of the best, if not the best, hotel we have ever stayed in. Everything was perfect - service, staff, assistance, cleanliness, location, bar, restaurant .

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cracker32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We reserved El Palace for our last night of our tour of Spain. I had read that the hotel had just completed a renovation, which is what I always look for in hotels (new always trumps worn). What I didn't realize is that El Palace used to be the Ritz, so the renovation went all out luxury.

Before I describe the room, etc., I should say that this hotel is extremely well situated, just a few blocks from the Gaudi buildings and the Passeig de Gracia. You can easily walk to everything from here.

For no reason at all, we were upgraded to a junior suite, which was one of the most spectacular rooms we have stayed in. The king-sized bed had the requisite fine crisp sheets, ample pillows, and super comfortable mattress. The room was large enough to have a love seat, coffee table, and two chairs for relaxing in. Blackout silk drapes assured total darkness over large soundproof windows (that opened!), but the most sophisticated lighting system I have seen in a hotel room assured plenty of light at night. The suite had a huge closet/cloakroom with a full length mirror and tons of storage. The limestone clad bathroom was so spacious and perfectly clean and new, I could have lived in it. Two sinks, a jacuzzi tub, toilet in its own stall, and a huge shower, with double rain-head showers, a long bench and two handheld showers created all this comfort. What luxury!

In the morning, the breakfast was delicious (as it was all over Spain). However, I have to give special kudos to the pastry chef. I am a food writer specializing in bread, and had some of the best chocolate croissants I have ever eaten. Also, the bread in Spain tends toward mediocrity (why?), so I was delighted to finally get some delicious crispy, very fresh, whole wheat rolls. The buffet was served in the garden room, with a full array of juices, cured meats and fish, fruit, hot beverages, English breakfast items like baked beans, eggs, and sausages, and of course that incredible bakery.

Completing this experience was of course a very professional and competent staff.

Did I say that our room was under 250 euro? How is this deal possible with this level of luxury and service?

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theobsessivetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Just returned from a long weekend at the Palace hotel. It was wonderful, can't fault it. The public areas were opulent, the rooms extremely comfortable - our bathroom was fantastic- and the service was tremendous. The staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb500Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Let me state the obvious right away – this is not a cheap hotel, but you cannot beat the value you get for your money. We stayed in a number of 5-star hotels on our trip, and Barcelona’s El Palace was undoubtedly the best.

We were traveling with a child, and we were driving so we had a a car which can be quite a problem in Barcelona. From the moment we pulled in front of El Palace, the hotel staff took care of us every step of the way! Instead of having us deal with messy narrow underground parking in Barcelona, they parked the car for us every time, and took it out on moments notice. The moment they noticed we’re with a small child (4 year old) they upgraded us to a junior suite. Room was wonderful – quiet and spacious, clean and modern, with jet bath and rain shower, and with an extra bed set up for our boy. Waiting for us was complimentary Cava (Spanish bubbly), and each day on our return to the room we found chocolates which only made every day even better! Staff was extremely friendly and helpful on every step, including making friends with our kid. And lastly, restaurant and scotch bar are hard to beat.

You may have heard that in Barcelona you should stay on La Rambla. Take my advice – do NOT stay there! It is one huge tourist trap, with bad and overprices restaurants, and really nothing you should see... ever. You should explore Barri Gotic and Born areas (which BTW, has some of the best restaurants), and Ports, but stay away from La Rambla.

El Palace is located on large street, so easy to find, but a few blocks detached from over-touristy and over-crowded La Rambla. You’re only two blocks (5 mins on foot) away from Plaza Catalunia and from entrance into Passeig de Gracia, which has both attractions (Gaudi’s houses), great restaurants, and great shopping. Metro station is very close to hotel, so you’re also close to wherever else you want to get to. Even better, taxis in Barcelona are dirt cheap and getting from and to El Palace is trivial, and you won’t have to suffer and pay for stop’n’go crawling through La Rambla.

Overall, quality of service as well as hotel and room quality made our stay in El Palace absolutely wonderful, and we highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Barcelona. Next time we come to Barcelona, we are definitely coming back to El Palace!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiladinP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

A very beautiful, comfortable hotel. 5 star hotel for sure. The location was excellent and easy to get anywhere. The breakfast was great. The quality of service and accomodations were excellent. The restuarant recommendations by the staff were perfect.
Taberna da Cura had great suckling pig, and other great dishes. Check out all the Gaudi sights.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lastresortname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#1 of 520 in Barcelona
361 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 520 in Barcelona
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Passage Hotel & Spa
Yurbban Passage Hotel & Spa
#5 of 520 in Barcelona
174 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#14 of 520 in Barcelona
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £209 - £702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palace Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing