We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and geat service but it hits your wallet hard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Ranked #65 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We went to Barcelona for a birthday trip and stayed in the Arts as its in a great location and has always been my favourite in Barcelona. Things haven't changed, except for the price of food, which seems to have gone sky high. We had a very simple burger and salad by the pool on our last day and got no change from eur70.00 (and we didn't have drinks with it) - rip off - definitely ; even if they had fanned me with ostrich feathers while I was eating it and dropped peeled grapes in to my mouth, it wouldn't be worth that much. The pool location is lovely but don't dare to leave your sunbed unattended for more than a brief swim or the staff will swoop in and deposit someone else on your lounger - beds are at a premium! It was great to be able to have a midnight dip, however, without someone saying the pool was closed because it was dark - as long as the pool isn't being cleaned, you can swim, so we did! I would still stay at the Arts again, but would make sure I took a snack with me to the pool, as unless you are Midas, those prices are madness. Rooms were still very nice, although looking a little more tired than my last visit - time for a bit of a makever maybe. Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful, so all in all a delighful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janer1000London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,136 - 3,142 of 4,797 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

The location of the hotel is great if you plan to spend time on the beach and the amazing pool. The hotel is nicely designed as are the rooms. Mine had a spacious bathroom. I also loved the partial sea view. However you would expect a bit more care with cleaning. Parts of the room were dusty and there were some hairs in the bathroom which were not from me. The room was cleaned in the morning but there was no turn down service.

Service in the hotel can take some time. The luggage took around 30 minutes to arrive in my room and the service in the bar was slow. There were often longer waiting times for the reception and concierge but people were very friendly once you got a chance to speak with them. I loved the pool area with the lovely towels and snacks provided (sometimes you have to ask for your basket with water and apples). However on the weekends the pool area was too busy for my liking. There were some major events in the hotel with the occasional loud music during the day and night.

Prices in the hotel are high for everything. There is a rather hefty charge for using the internet. In the room itself you can purchase a range of products including CDs. Apparently they also charge for using the Nespresso machine in the room. I have not tried it but the minibar menu listed Nespresso coffee as an item. It might be nicer to include some of those extras in the room price.

Overall, a pleasant hotel with some room for improvement.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The staff were very pleasant. A few bad experiences: luggage took really long to arrive at the room, at least half an hour. The food at the marina restaurant is simply awful. We sat at the lobby bar and no one came to serve us for 15 mins. I had to go up to someone to order our drinks.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Somehow this hotel has 5 stars and plaques from the Hospitality institute for service, but they certainly have not kept up anything that deserved this. Not sure how they got the stars-just by the facilities offered or by actual guest experiences. Just comparing to other hotels with similar prices, this one did not compare. We had two rooms, a suite and a deluxe room connecting. It seemed that things were run quite haphazardly and nothing was smooth. Had to wait for check-in at the front desk. No one showed us the particulars in our rooms such as buttons for drawing the shades, iPod plug-ins, and the usual details one is made aware of. There was no hotel directory for restaurant hours, spa hours,etc. We were not even aware there was a babysitting service or that we are supposed to have complimentary bottles of water in the room. Anything we thought the hotel might offer, we had to call downstairs as we were not made aware of any services/facilities. Housekeeping was inconsistent. We only had turndown service 2 nights of the 6, AFTER we called for it. Our used glasses were not replaced. Only one bath towel was left for us one day and the face towels were completely forgotten. SO-it was unacceptable that so many details were overlooked. The lobby was too often packed with people checking in-out. Everything was the price of a 5 star place including extras for every thing in the room. The good things I can say was that Vincent at The Veranda restaurant was amazing in taking care of us each morning. The staff in general were pleasant. The food was delicious and of excellent quality. I have never stayed anywhere else in Barcelona so I cannot compare in that sense. When I complained to the manager, he was nicely receptive and tried to take care of things but it should never have come to that.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JinaChicago_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelArts, Gerente at Hotel Arts Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Dear JinaChicago_Illinois

Thank you very much for your comment. We appreciate the feedback of our guests since it helps us to reflect and improve the service we offer. We are sorry that we apparently missed to make you aware of the services of Hotel Arts and we also regret your complaints on our housekeeping service. We assure you to check up on the irregularities you mentioned in order to avoid them in the future. In fact, our concierge staff is instructed to introduce to our guests all the features of the rooms and suites on their arrival and our team of guest relations is at the disposal of our guests to assist them with any personal enquiry.

In order to resolve the situation of your experiences with regard to your stay at Hotel Arts, we would be glad if you would allow us to personally contact you within the next few days. We apologize for your inconveniences and we thank you for having shared your experience with us.

Yours sincerely,
Brunella Zinato
Hotel Manager
Hotel Arts Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed there 7/2-7/5/2011. Service was poor, not up to Ritz Carlton standards. Food just o.k., took 20 minutes to get a cup of coffee at the cafe. Rooms need updating. If you stay there on Marriot points beware, they will not take care of you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marti074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelArts, Gerente at Hotel Arts Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Dear marti074

Thank you for your comment. The opinion of our guests is important to us because we are concerned to give our guests a nice and satisfying stay. Unfortunately we apparently could not convince you with our service, yet. For that reason we would like to get more details on your experience at Hotel Arts in order to resolve the reclamations with regard to your stay. We invite you to contact us calling +34 93 221 1000; if you prefer to send us an e-mail, please write to hotel.arts@ritzcarlton.com.

We look forward to receive your call or your e-mail.

Yours sincerely,
Brunella Zinato
Hotel Manager
Hotel Arts Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Arts the day before leaving on our cruise and the day we returned. Both stays were lovely. They remembered it was our anniversary on the second stay and brought dessert and drinks to our room. We had a lovely view both times overlooking the Mediterranean and the city. The staff was extremely helpful showing us places to visit. Would return here if back in Barcelona, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justme2Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

My husband and I loved everything about the Hotel Arts Barcelona. The room was clean and contemporary in style. Every evening the room was set to a relaxing mood with music and lighting. The spa was lovely and the women there were very accommodating and friendly. The floral arrangements in the lobby were something I will never forget. Beauty everywhere you looked at this hotel. We found the service to be friendly, but we never experienced any problems that needed to be remedied.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCTaysom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#118 of 515 in Barcelona
6,463 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#119 of 515 in Barcelona
2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#201 of 515 in Barcelona
3,082 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 515 in Barcelona
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arts Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arts Barcelona

Address: Marina 19-21, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £168 - £1,003 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Arts Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pristine Hotel Arts Barcelona guides guests through relaxation through a myriad of luxurious accommodations. Surrounded by the picturesque backdrop of Barcelona, the landscape at and near our hotel in Barcelona, Spain will leave you in awe. Visit us and explore our unique setting, inside of our hotel and all around as you discover the seafront and exquisite design and art nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Arts Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arts Hotel Barcelona
Arts Barcelona Hotel
Best Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing