We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable yet luxurious accomodation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Ranked #55 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Affordable yet luxurious accomodation!”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I have never heard of this hotel before, but from the first moment I stepped into the hotel's lobby, I was blown beyond expectation. For about 190 Euros, I had expected a 3 or 4 star hotel, but not Arts Hotel. The staff was extremely patient, helpful and friendly, the hotel's location is also pretty strategic with a great view of the ocean, the hotel feels quite trendy with its art-deco modern style, and there's free wi-fi at the lobby. My room was in the corner of the building, so it was larger than usual with double windows for view. The toiletries were furnished by Acqua di Parma which was great, but for extra soaps they only gave us Neutrogena (??). My two complaints for this hotel are:
1. The body shower (not rainshower) just doesn't work. They shoot off waters from all directions, and on my first night the cold water was not working at all, had to wait till morning for them to come and fix it. This was a common problem encountered by my family who was also staying at the hotel.
2. My family and my rooms were all charged with extra stuff that we didn't purchase/take: umbrellas, mini bar. But after a complaint, they managed to void the charges. So I'd suggest for all visitors to double check their final hotel bills upon checking out.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms as high as possible and on the corner of the building, which gives you bigger rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,921
    976
    333
    125
    80
See reviews for
975
1,523
128
1,094
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (940)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We have spent 2 nights at the Mandarin Oriental and then moved to the Arts.

Nothing to compare service cleanleness athmosphere are fantastic at the MO and poor at the Arts as well as the pool is ridiculus for a 400 bedrooms hotel

I will never stay at the Arts again

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salvation_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelArts, Gerente at Hotel Arts Barcelona, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Dear Salvation_10

We would like to thank you for chosing to stay with us at Hotel Arts during your visit to Barcelona.

I regret that your stay did not meet your expectations, please accept my most sincere apologies.Your opinion is important to us because it helps us to improve the service we offer and would be glad to talk to you personally about your experience .

We kindly invite you to contact me calling +34 93 221 1000 or sending an e-mail to hotel.arts@ritzcarlton.com.

Yours sincerely,

Brunella Zinato
Hotel Manager
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The main pluses of this hotel are the location and the food. Other than that I wouldn't say it lives up to a 5-star rating - not in terms of service or room maintenance. The price for every little thing is just outrageous.

The location of this hotel is great - right on the beach, you have amazing views of the sea and the marina. It's a very short walk to the beach itself and the many restaurants that line it. The hotel's pool area is amazing, lots of loungers, then a garden area with very comfortable chairs to sit on.

The rooms are really large and lovely, the beds are comfortable, and the bathroom was huge.

I stayed here on business, and so we had catering throughout the day, rather than ordering food a la carte. The catering was amazing, the food was really tasty and always fresh.

The downside of this hotel was the service - the reception area was always busy and full of people, and the staff did not seem to cope with this efficiently. The luggage took a long time to arrive in the room. When I arrived at the hotel my room wasn't ready, so I was told that the reception would give me a call or even text me on my mobile when the room would be available - what a nice touch, I thought - except that the call or text was never made. Finally when I went to reception to ask about my room, they said it was ready and I got the keys.

I was really happy to see a Nespresso machine in my room, and would have expected this to be complimentary. However, actually using the machine would have cost me 4 euros for each coffee. I also would have expected a bottle of complimentary water, but again, you have to pay for water, and for everything else laid out in the room - such as a small pack of French biscuits for 11 euros!

The hotel's corridors looked a bit worn, the room as well. Overall the hotel needs to be updated and refreshed.

Staying in the Arts was ok, but I did not think that it lives up to what you would expect from a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hela1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed in the Hotel Arts at the end of our cruise and were delighted. The service was outstanding, the views amazing and the rooms were very large - particularly by European standards. The bathroom and shower were heavenly. The exercise facility and spa is the nicest we've ever experienced in any hotel. The hotel is right on the beach and walking distance to many restaurants and night clubs. It is also a two-block walk from the nearest metro station which is very clean and easy to use. The Hotel Arts is a Ritz Carlton hotel and guests can use Marriott points for free rooms and upgrades. Spoil yourself and stay here!

Room Tip: Use your Marriott Points for free rooms and upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We went to Barcelona for a birthday trip and stayed in the Arts as its in a great location and has always been my favourite in Barcelona. Things haven't changed, except for the price of food, which seems to have gone sky high. We had a very simple burger and salad by the pool on our last day and got no change from eur70.00 (and we didn't have drinks with it) - rip off - definitely ; even if they had fanned me with ostrich feathers while I was eating it and dropped peeled grapes in to my mouth, it wouldn't be worth that much. The pool location is lovely but don't dare to leave your sunbed unattended for more than a brief swim or the staff will swoop in and deposit someone else on your lounger - beds are at a premium! It was great to be able to have a midnight dip, however, without someone saying the pool was closed because it was dark - as long as the pool isn't being cleaned, you can swim, so we did! I would still stay at the Arts again, but would make sure I took a snack with me to the pool, as unless you are Midas, those prices are madness. Rooms were still very nice, although looking a little more tired than my last visit - time for a bit of a makever maybe. Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful, so all in all a delighful stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janer1000London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The location of the hotel is great if you plan to spend time on the beach and the amazing pool. The hotel is nicely designed as are the rooms. Mine had a spacious bathroom. I also loved the partial sea view. However you would expect a bit more care with cleaning. Parts of the room were dusty and there were some hairs in the bathroom which were not from me. The room was cleaned in the morning but there was no turn down service.

Service in the hotel can take some time. The luggage took around 30 minutes to arrive in my room and the service in the bar was slow. There were often longer waiting times for the reception and concierge but people were very friendly once you got a chance to speak with them. I loved the pool area with the lovely towels and snacks provided (sometimes you have to ask for your basket with water and apples). However on the weekends the pool area was too busy for my liking. There were some major events in the hotel with the occasional loud music during the day and night.

Prices in the hotel are high for everything. There is a rather hefty charge for using the internet. In the room itself you can purchase a range of products including CDs. Apparently they also charge for using the Nespresso machine in the room. I have not tried it but the minibar menu listed Nespresso coffee as an item. It might be nicer to include some of those extras in the room price.

Overall, a pleasant hotel with some room for improvement.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The staff were very pleasant. A few bad experiences: luggage took really long to arrive at the room, at least half an hour. The food at the marina restaurant is simply awful. We sat at the lobby bar and no one came to serve us for 15 mins. I had to go up to someone to order our drinks.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#95 of 513 in Barcelona
6,121 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#122 of 513 in Barcelona
2,312 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 513 in Barcelona
1,660 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arts Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arts Barcelona

Property: Hotel Arts Barcelona
Address: Marina 19 - 21, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#48 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Arts Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pristine Hotel Arts Barcelona guides guests through relaxation through a myriad of luxurious accommodations. Surrounded by the picturesque backdrop of Barcelona, the landscape will leave you in awe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Arts Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arts Hotel Barcelona
Arts Barcelona Hotel
Best Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing