We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a room with a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Ranked #57 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a room with a view!”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

After disembarking from our Regent cruise in Barcelona, we continued to the Hotel Arts. Since we were using Marriott points for our stay, we were hoping for an upgrade. Of course, our room wasn't ready, so we checked our bags with the bellman. I insisted on leaving our valuables since I had read so much about the crime on La Rambla. When we returned after lunch, we found our carryons and briefcase were missing. After much panic, we discovered that our belongings had been sent to another room. I will never again leave our passports and valuables with a hotel clerk.
But the wait was worth it since our room was beautiful! The view of the beach and Gothic Quarter was much nicer than I had expected. The bathroom was huge and the room even had a desk and sitting area. The window seat was a nice addition to the room and great for watching the sunset in the evening.
The concierge, Carlos, was very helpful during our stay. I do recommend that you hire a private guide for a walking tour of the city. The concierge has a list of accredited guides who are very professional and will tailor the tour to your tastes. Carlos also recommended several great restaurants and helped us avoid the tourist traps.
We found the restaurants and bar to be very expensive in the hotel. We did eat in the Enoteca our last night and had the best meal of our trip.
We will return to Barcelona and stay at the Hotel Arts.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the port and Gothic Quarter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at Hotel Arts Barcelona, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear travelgirl563,

Thank you for writing us about your experience. I appreciate your feedback because it helps us to improve ourselves.

I am glad that your stay at Hotel Arts was enjoyable, despite of the initial misunderstanding for which I would like to apologize. It will be my pleasure to forward your acknowledgements to our Service- and Concierge staff and to Carlos in particular.
Should you have any further comments on your visit to Hotel Arts, please do not hesitate to contact me by mail to hotel.arts[at]ritzcarlton.com or by phone calling +34 93 221 1000.

Thank you for your visit to Hotel Arts and in case your travels bring you back to Barcelona, please do not hesitate to contact me personally in order to make your reservation.

Yours sincerely,

Brunella Zinato
Hotel Manager
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,982
    988
    342
    128
    82
See reviews for
1,003
1,560
131
1,107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (951)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Davie, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We arrived at this magnificent building and the first thing that caught our eye was the view, across from the marina beautiful sparkling water. The interior of the hotel is lovely and elegant, The place is very smartly done. Not that you need TV but we did have an issue with it I called the desk and it was promptly and courteously taken care of. Our room was lovely and comfortable it had a an wonderful view and a lovely sitting area and work desk, the bathroom was very spacious and modern. My husband used the gym and said it was well equipped and clean. The hotel was clean and very quiet. I appreciated the beautiful fresh and different flowers every day. We had dinner in the hotel nothing to write home about. I would recommend walking across the street to the marina and enjoying the fair they offer there instead. Our overall stay was pleasant and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkg720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

went to a medical conference in Barcelona at this famous hotel. It was our third visit, and the hotel has fantastic staff and great rooms, Well we were first of all shown a room which even the porter had not seen before.
It was noisy on the 2nd floor and very tired. Initially the management would not move us, until I threatened to post picture of the room on tripadvisor and facebook.

i have never seen such a reaction. I do not know what the collective noun is for so many hotel executives, but we were immediatley transferred to a glorious room with a great view.

Thank you trip advisor. We had a great stay, and will definitely return again.

Room Tip: make sure you do not agree to a room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitricoxide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelArts, Gerente at Hotel Arts Barcelona, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear nitricoxide,

thank you for having sent us your feedback. We appreciate the contributions of all our guests to this online community since their reviews help us to evaluate and improve our service.

I am glad that we could remedy the reclamation on your room and that we could give you an enjoyable stay.

We would be glad to welcome you back soon and to read your future reviews on your experience at Hotel Arts.

Yours sincerely,

Brunella Zinato
Hotel Manager
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Family spent 3 nights at Hotel Arts. It's a very nice hotel. The pool is small and runs out of chairs. The concierge line was usually very long and slow. Everyone at the hotel was very helpful once you were able to ta to them. We had a great time, but was expecting more.

Room Tip: We had a suite and they delivered 2 small beds for the kids. Worked pretty well. However the shade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at Hotel Arts Barcelona, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Geoff W,

Thank you for having taken your time to send us your personal observations. I appreciate your comments since they help us to improve ourselves.

I apologize that your visit to Hotel Arts was not up to your expectations and I ask you to accept my most sincere apologies.

Should you have any further comments on your visit to Hotel Arts, I kindly invite you to write us to hotel.arts[at]ritzcarlton.com; you can also contact us by phone calling +34 93 221 1000; It will be my pleasure to personally receive your feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Brunella Zinato
Hotel Manager
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

A perfect weekend in Barcelona at a proper 5 Star hotel, with a superb location and amazing staff.
Pros:
-Staff: Lots of them and all super friendly and helpful. Could not fault them, or praise them highly enough.
-Location: About 20 Mins from the airport by taxi, right on the beach, walking distance to city centre, or a €5-6 taxi. Amazing views.
-Pool area: Lovely area with nice seating and atmosphere. Friendly staff, that will help you pick out and set up your lounger with towels, water etc, and that are constantly circulating and easy to get their attention if you need anything.
-Food: We ate at the pool bar 3 days and had great food and wine.
-Rooms: Clean Spacious, great views, all the mod cons (Bang and Olufsen entertainment system and a life saving Nespresso machine)
-Bedding: super comfortable
Gym: A great Gym, well equipped with the usual top end “TechnoGym” equipment. Plenty of towels and bottled water.

Cons: (you have to get picky or be unlucky to find any)
-TV: A few extra English channels on the TV would be nice (This is being really picky, and in such a nice place who needs TV)
-Price: Maybe a little pricey for some items, like drinks by the pool etc. But if this is what you're at, in this location, then you should be prepared for it and it's not unrealistic. Breakfast if not included worked out at about €34. That said rooms were well priced for the standard and location.
Check your bills when signing for food and drink by the pool, there appeared to be a little confusion at times between the various members of staff. We were both, over and under billed. These were all genuine mistakes and corrected with apologies a plenty.

I can’t say enough good things about the staff, they are amazing, and a major part of what made our whole experience so good. Every one of them, from the porters and front door staff, to reception, waitresses and the pool attendants. Nothing was a problem and everything was done with a smile.
It’s the small things done well that separate out good service, for example: We arrived very early on Saturday morning fully expecting not to have a room ready. To our surprise they had a room, but told us, if we would like to change and go to the pool area they would call us when they had a nicer sea view room available on a higher floor. This is as you would expect at a descent 5 star hotel but you don’t always get it. At the Arts it was all done with ease and a smile without even having to ask. Similarly we had an evening flight and there was no problem getting and late checkout at 4pm.

Having looked at other hotels in this category we decided to go with the Arts, mainly as we only had two nights and wanted somewhere primarily to chill out and relax with a nice pool and still be near the city. The Arts ticked all these boxes and more!

We can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: Try and go as high as possible and get a sea or partial sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripper1Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Upgraded to two bedroom apartment - most amazing views. Nothing to complain about apart from 15 min wait for a sun bed!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny,ny
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed in Hotel Arts Barcelona. It is a Ritz Carlton hotel and the service is commensurate with what you'd find at a RC. For example, if you ask someone where the bathroom is, they will walk you there, not just point you in the right direction. The room was very comfortable, large bathroom, and each night we were given bottles of water for free (though everything else needed to be paid for, including the coffee maker in the room). We ended up in a corner room which I think is just a bit bigger than some of the other rooms. I think that was by chance. I had booked through Amex's Platinum & Centurion Card's Fine Hotel & Resorts program, so maybe we got a upgrade to the corner? Using FH&R did include breakfast for all days, as well as an 85Euro credit to be used at their restaurants (we used it for Enoteca). The breakfast was plentiful - breads, pastries, meats, cheeses, cereals, fruit, vegetables, eggs, crepes. As per Spain's customs, we usually had lunch late, around 2pm, and the breakfasts held us til then, no problem. As far as location, it is on the beach, a bit away from the center of town and many attractions. We didn't mind it. The metro stop was 2 blocks away. We bought a 10-trip card and used it. We also used cabs at night. One annoying thing about the using cabs - the way the driveway of the hotel is situated forces cabs to then drive nearly a full circle around one-way streets to get on the right street to go to any of the sites/restaurants -so basically you're charge nearly 4Euros and are right back in front of the hotel before you are really on your way. Our view on to the water was amazing, and we took advantage of the pool a couple of the days to just relax for a couple of hours. Wifi was expensive too, with somewhat spotty reception but we were able to check emails and Facetime with the kids, so was worth it to us. The 6 Senses Spa was but very expensive. While the massage was good, I think it was nearly double what I'd pay in NY for similar.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#106 of 512 in Barcelona
6,211 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#121 of 512 in Barcelona
2,342 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 512 in Barcelona
1,279 reviews
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arts Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arts Barcelona

Property: Hotel Arts Barcelona
Address: Marina 19 - 21, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#49 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Arts Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pristine Hotel Arts Barcelona guides guests through relaxation through a myriad of luxurious accommodations. Surrounded by the picturesque backdrop of Barcelona, the landscape will leave you in awe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Marriott, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Arts Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arts Hotel Barcelona
Arts Barcelona Hotel
Best Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing