We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arts Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Ranked #50 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2009

My husband and I spent some time at The Arts Barcelona in July 07. It is a beautiful hotel. The room was fabulous, very modern and the views were amazing. The lobby is nice and there are a few different spots to hang out down there for a drink or a snack.

The pool is fabulous as it the poolside service. It does get pretty busy, so it is a good idea to get down there early to secure chairs. Room service was very good. We had a really good pasta and dessert. It was quite tasty!

The hotel is in a great location because you can walk along the sea and check out the beaches or you can walk in the other direction and check out all the shops and restaurants. There is a little strip mall type thing right across the street where we went for snacks, magazines etc.

Overall, this was a great hotel, what you would expect from Ritz Carlton. I would go back!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillyMcWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,762
    935
    313
    123
    76
See reviews for
903
1,450
117
1,049
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (915)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2009

A magnificent property with lovely views and one of the most gracious staffs in Spain. There are several categories of rooms. If possible, request a corner room when making reservations. These rooms are somewhat larger and have panoramic views (I find that the best rooms end in the number 1 -- e.g., 901) and are on the southeast side of the building.where you can be soothed by the rising sun and watch the local boat traffic. High floors are also preferable.

Despite precautions, my wallet was snatched in the subway while I was staying there (a pervasive problem in Barcelona). The hotel staff was incredibly gracious, efficient and supportive when it was discovered. The concierge became my new best friend, as we tackled the numerous bank and family notifications. He made sure that I was comfortable and relaxed and even went so far as to contact the restaurant where I had dinner reservations to ensure that I was treated well. It was a painful experience, but I am forever thankful that it happened while I was a guest here.

  • Liked — Beautiful room. Tour de force bathrooms
  • Disliked — steep parking and internet fees. Rooms need a visible clock.
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank misdirected_baggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

I have visited Barcelona many times and I always try to stay at the Hotel Arts...It is a great city for a long weekend...Good weather, great architecture, amazing food and a beach in the center of town...To top it all off you have the Hotel Arts to top it all off...It is just outside of the center of town but close enough to the main attractions...It is a modern high rise hotel with great views of the sea and with an amazing pool...Rooms are nice but nothing special but have great views...Best of all, it is right across the street from the beach...You can enjoy the city or relax at the hotel...Your choice, that is why it is such a great place.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bobd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

The hotel exudes snob appeal from the moment we arrived with our rented car that we were looked down from the staff. For the prices we paid, I expected the service to be so much more and to lose the attitude.
Our first room that we stayed one night was in need of much improvement. There were dust bunnies falling from the popcorn ceiling and cigarette burns through out every upholstered piece in the room. Our view on th 14th floor looking out to the Mediterrian Sea was breath-taking and priceless.
After choking and getting quite disgusted with the filthy room, we complained to the front desk. The staff quickly tried their best to resolve the problem and did so. We were moved to a far better and more suitable accomodation on the 24th floor. We appreciated the grand jesture and smart move by the staff. Yet some burn marks were still evident and the room looked worn.
There were great products from natural sea sponges, body lotions and wonderfully scented soaps to enjoy. A fabulous tub as well to enjoy a wonderful bath with fragrent bath salts.
Our stay included daily buffet breakfast which was very good. The ham selections complete with fur and bone was priceless to look at. We did not sample the ham offerings;we enjoyed the fresh fruits, pasteries and hot beverages. There were some guests that touched everything, even one poked his own fork into dishes. Quite disgusting.
We had tappas one afternoon at the hotel and it was very enjoyable, both service and food. Barcelona is a fantastic city and we enjoyed exploring it.
In my opinion, the hotel could be a more positive experience and clean if everyone could attend to their jobs and make sure the guests come first in the hospitality business that is what its all about!

  • Liked — Our second room was outstanding -spacious
  • Disliked — first room-dusty
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sterlingtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights using Marriott Rewards points and it was the best decision that I could have made. We took a taxi from the airport which was 25 euros and the bellman grabbed our bags and had them ready to go to check in before we even got out of the cab. When we checked in the offered us water and treats, and were very accommodating with our room preference. We had a deluxe room on the 22nd floor, with a view of the city and mountains as well as the Mediterranean Sea. The room was very spacious with tons of amenities. The bathroom was amazing, and had every toiletry possible in case you forgot something. There were 2 robes for use while we stayed there. The lights in the room could be turned on after entering the room on the wall or from the night stand in between the beds. The tv/radio/cd player was fantastic and the maid came in every night to put bottled water on the nightstand and turn the beds down. The service, especially the concierge was above and beyond any hotel I have ever stayed at, including some 5 star's in NYC. The metro stop Ciudat/Olympico is only 2 blocks from the hotel and can take you directly downtown in a few minutes. There are some touristy places to eat right near the hotel but I recommend taking a cab or taking the metro down to Barrio Gotico for some authentic food.

  • Liked — The service and the amentities and of course the beach!
  • Disliked — The restaurants right near it- too touristy
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Frenarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2008

This hotel was an amazing experience in everyway! The staff was more than excellent, friendly, always smiling, to be honest I felt pampered in every way. The food was excellent with a great assortment everyday. The rooms were clean, very comfortable and with everything you would need to be more comfortable. They has a dvd player.. comfortable linens.. even sea salt to put in the tub!! The location can't be beat. Its right in the port area where all the restaurants are and clubs. Walking around the hotel is amazing as there is art everywhere you look.

  • Liked — The tub
  • Disliked — Nothing was great
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hollythetravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich / Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2008

The hotel is in a great location and the pool is great (although prices are a bit steep there...) The room we had was spacious, but nothing exceptional, I preferred the public areas to the room. Concierge was very helpful. One issue we had was that our room was not made - despite repeated requests, and we had to wait at 4am in the morning as we insisted on fresh towels etc. The area is quite lively in the evening and there are tons of bars and clubs just around the corner (although there are definitely better places to visit in Barcelona). I would go there again.

  • Liked — Pool scene and location
  • Disliked — Details of service
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddog2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#89 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,912 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#122 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arts Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arts Barcelona

Property: Hotel Arts Barcelona
Address: Marina 19 - 21, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#44 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Arts Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pristine Hotel Arts Barcelona guides guests through relaxation through a myriad of luxurious accommodations. Surrounded by the picturesque backdrop of Barcelona, the landscape will leave you in awe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Marriott, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Arts Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arts Hotel Barcelona
Arts Barcelona Hotel
Best Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing