We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Ranked #70 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Stayed in club room 3102 and club suite 3009

Absolutely fabulous! Almost flawless! An experience far beyond anything to compare with in Barcelona! Most important: An outstanding service! A genuine concern and a full concentration on their guests! Always with a smile and no stiffness! From everyone starting at the entrance!

Don’t know if it is because the number of foreign people hotel employs, but it is rare (read: impossible) to find this outstanding service at any other place in Barcelona. Bravo! We were very fortunate to stay at the club level which is an experience by itself. The immediate greeting with a warm and genuine care. The never ending smiles, the continued polite interest and the nice small conversations. The great service, knowledge and help. Fantastic! Excellent food and beverage in varied themes throughout the day. On top of this a magnificent view of the sea and the city on the 33rd floor! Thanks to all the club lounge staff for making a memorable stay.

Rooms are large and very comfortable with fantastic views. Got upgraded to a corner suite which was even more fantastic. The view of Barcelona is one of the best in town!
Restaurants are really good and service is excellent here as well. Again – always with a smile and very friendly! Didn’t try the bars, but they look great! Gym is perfect and well equipped. The spa is closest to heaven you can get in this hotel and the service is top notch! The view from their terrace is breathtaking!

Almost flawless… yes some issues to think about. This is a hotel originally constructed for business people, so in the summer when tourists arrive, including many families, the pool area is far far too small. There are some 500 rooms and maybe 70 sun loungers. There is a grassy area as well where it is possible to lay down, but no sun chairs. If you arrive later than 10 o’clock on a weekend – forget about it! No chance! Furthermore there is ONE shower which barely functions. Not sure the size of pool area can be rectified at all, but it’s a pretty important issue to look into. Then, remember to brink a big wallet, most you pay for in this hotel is quite expensive. Example: Smoothie 13 euro, hamburger 22 euro, gin and tonic 22 euro, small bar of chocolate 10 euro, water from mini bar 9 euro etc. Fortunately Club level food and drinks was complimentary, which came as a bonus! Although had dinner at Arola which was excellent and not overpriced in my opinion. The lobster cob salad at café veranda is not cheap, but hard to beat with a glass of Albarino and the great view! Also, location is not in the centre of town. Takes about 15 minutes to walk to Born area, and 5-7 minutes by taxi to pl Cataluña. However, it’s right on the beach(es), and there are some good restaurants and great nightclubs right outside the hotel.

Arts – we shall return!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,373 - 3,379 of 4,865 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2009

The Hotel Arts is a fantastic hotel. We originally were only supposed to stay for 2 nights but ended up staying for 5 since it was so pleasant. The hotel is located near the Olympic Port, which is a few metro stops away from the major tourist attractions but we found that it was actually nice to be a little out of the hustle and bustle of the center of the city and it's really easy to get to (10-15 min) by metro or cab. The rooms were extremely well appointed and tastefully modern and the Bang and Olufsen TV and stereo were a nice touch. The bathroom is great and the shower probably the hardest part of leaving Spain!

The service is good but not great, with the concierge being the biggest drawback. There were multiple times where the concierge did not seem to know what should have been basic information and it was even more frustrating since your experience depended on the individual you got and their competencies varied greatly. So basically, do your research so you don't have to rely on the concierge and stay at the Hotel Arts and you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaw380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We stayed in the Arts for 5 nights, it was fabulous, the staff were so friendly and professional. The room was spacious with fantastic views, the bathroom was a real treat..Breakfast was a delight. Pool area was very nice if a little packed but again the pool attendants were great at helping everyone find a bed whilst ensuring a supply of water and cool towels at all times. Would highly recommend this hotel, hope to return some day.....

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandPenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

My Husband treated me to a weekend away at this fab hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with the amazing bathroom and shower facilities. The food was wonderful and the breakfast buffet ensured we were spoilt for choice. The pool area is beautiful, however but we had to wait a short time for a bed but in the meantime we lay on the grass at the side of the pool. The staff are extremely friendly and attentive, and the small unusual touches of pastries and drinks at reception added to a wonderful stay. We certainly would recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suz39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

I chose to stay in this hotel based on the fact that this was supposedly the best 5 star hotel in Barcelona but the hotel did not live up to my expectations. Very chic decor throughout, but the hotel seemed to be an upmarket hotel catered for businessmen and conferences, rather than for leisure holidays.
Good location by the marina and beach, not within the hustle and bustle of the main city tourist sites. Had to commute everywhere by taxis which were easily available.
Stayed in a room on the 22nd floor with good view of the city and marina (see photos). Modern and functional but somehow lacked character. Despite closing the vents on the windowsill, I could still hear street traffic, and sometimes music from local bars disturbing my sleep. The washbasin tap was designed in such a way that water splashed everywhere unless you kept the flow to the minimum. The bed was heavenly but the pillows which came in all various sizes were not so comfortable (tried all of them).
Enjoyed a great meal in the Michelin-starred Arola restaurant which offered contemporary tapas selections and good Spanish wine. Spa treatments were expensive, over £120 for an hour's massage. Got a great window view of the city sitting inside the sauna!

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cuddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

This hotel is now at the top of my list for where to stay in Spian, the suites are huge and beautiful, the views from every window in our room were outstanding. Look it is worth the high price tag, I love free bee's and boy do they give it to the sweets in the lobby they supply bags with it my kid's went wild. Ice blocks by the pool not to mention our morning checkout there was a trolly by the front desk with tray of pastries and orange jucie no charge. The staff friendly and attentive no matter who you are and there was U2 and LL cool J staying there at the same time the place was buzzing the pool fab some days you would have to put your name down and wait an hour for a chair but they have a large grass area where you can lay your towel.
the only thing that let it down was the stians on the carpet in the room but the give you slippers thank goddness.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cool31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Our family of 4 (2 boys 6 & 8) stayed here for 5 nights in July along with another family with small children. We absolutely loved our stay. Rooms - especially the bathroom - are wonderful - shower is amazing. The breakfast buffet was included in our price, and we looked forward to the fantastic food each morning. Concierge made restaurant recommendations for dinners and they were excellent each night. The pool area is beautiful - although it gets busy throughout the day so we found it smarter to hit the pool earlier before going out for the day - impossible to get a chair on a sunny afternoon. Only downside - and it's not a big deal - was that our ocean facing room was on the 5th floor, so in the wee hours of the morning we could hear the blaring music of the nearby disco. Very minor issue - I think b/c of our jet-lag from north america we were waking at that time anyways. We still rate this hotel 5 stars. In fact, we moved on to a cruise after our stay here and felt a bit let down and spoiled after our stay at Hotel Arts. Barcelona is such a wonderful city to explore - enjoy your home base at Hotel Arts!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank champ27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#126 of 517 in Barcelona
6,554 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 517 in Barcelona
1,804 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#119 of 517 in Barcelona
2,488 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#203 of 517 in Barcelona
3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arts Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arts Barcelona

Address: Marina 19-21, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £200 - £712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Arts Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pristine Hotel Arts Barcelona guides guests through relaxation through a myriad of luxurious accommodations. Surrounded by the picturesque backdrop of Barcelona, the landscape at and near our hotel in Barcelona, Spain will leave you in awe. Visit us and explore our unique setting, inside of our hotel and all around as you discover the seafront and exquisite design and art nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Arts Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arts Hotel Barcelona
Arts Barcelona Hotel
Best Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing