We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colon Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Expo Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Central(Barcelona)
US$386
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$327
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
B-Hotel(Barcelona)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,168)
Filter reviews
2,168 results
Traveller rating
1,104
790
178
64
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,104
790
178
64
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscathedral viewbarcelona cathedralgothic quarterrooftop spacathedral bellsgreat locationsmall balconiespicasso museumbarri goticla ramblasuperior roomtop floorhop on hop off buswonderful hotelwalked everywherehotel restaurantcomfortable hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,257 - 1,262 of 2,168 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed here for one night in June on a week long holiday in Spain.

Pluses : great location. Opposite the Cathedral and easy to walk from here to a lot of central Barcelona. Oh - and the breakfast buffet was pretty good - with lots of fresh fruit, jamon, Spanish cheese and tomato bread (as well as English fare for those who wanted it).

The negatives: despite check in time being 2pm it took until 3.40 to get in. And then we were given a room with two single beds despite booking a double room. After a fuss, and another hour's wait we got a small double room. It was small, the pillows very uncomfortable, and all rather faded and dated.

I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie222Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear guest,

We are truly sorry to hear that we fell short to meet your expectations on your last visit. However, we´re afraid most of it was due to an unfortunate misunderstanding. The classic double room in Spain usually means two twin beds.

Anyway we have a great location close to most important tourist attractions in Barcelona. Hotel Colon is always glad to provide you a service of our restaurant with delicious breakfast.

We hope to see you in our hotel next time

Warm regards,

Hotel Colón-Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Just returned from a 5 days stay at the Hotel Colon, Barcelona. I chose this hotel for the location which was spot on. Away from the busy Las Ramblas, (about 2 blocks away) on a square in the Gothic Quarter opposite the Cathedral and only about a 10 - 15 minute walk to the Harbour. Definitely chose the rooms with Cathedral views, the view is worth it alone, however they say that they come with a balcony, which they do, but just be aware that there is only room to stand out on them. We had a 3rd floor room and it was perfect to be able to look out on the Square below. The hotel was clean and the room spacious with enough counter space in the bathroom for all my products, which made a lovely change! The AC was quiet and the temperature was perfect for the 30 degree heat outside. The staff are friendly and would help with any trips information you would like. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms with Cathedral View
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKMHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your opinion, we really appreciate it!

Our hotel was founded in 1951, and building is classic example of the edifice of 50th with unique and unforgettable atmosphere.

However, we are glad, that you enjoyed your stay in Hotel Colon and our staff was glad to serve you and make your visit comfortable.

We are looking forward to see you again.



Thank you,

Hotel Colón-Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We wanted a place near, but not on Las Ramblas. Booked a Cathedral View room at Hotel Colon based on earlier TripAdvisor reviews and was happy we did. Perfect location in Gotic section of town. Easy walk to Ramblas, El Born, and Barceloneta. Convenient subway stop near by gave us access to other parts of the city.

Got there very early. Desk checked us in, tagged our bags, and had them delivered to the room before we got there. Room was clean, quiet, comfortable (if a bit old) and had the great Cathedral view we were promised.

Every time we asked someone for something: directions, recommendations, ice, internet help ... it was delivered with a smile. Very well-coached staff from top to bottom.

Room Tip: Pay a few bucks more and book a Cathedral view on an upper floor.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delray2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We booked 5 nights at this hotel and loved every minute. We had a balcony at the front which enhanced the atmosphere. From here most tourist attractions are within easy reach and the tourist buses leave from the square. WiFi and safe are free and noise is not a problem due to double glazing throughout. Breakfast is excellent. Staff are very friendly and helpful. This charming hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are shaded in the afternoon. Avoid the rear as the sun beats on this side and use of the balcony is restricted.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear guest,

We are truly glad that you have enjoyed your time with us and that our friendly staff and installations help made your stay even more enjoyable.

As you well said it in you comment, our strategic location makes of us a perfect starting point to discover our city by foot. We're are in the middle of Gothic Quarter, in front of the Old Cathedral and only minutes away from the Ramblas, la Boquería Market and the Waterfront. Without a doubt a great place to stay.

We are looking forward to your next visit to Barcelona and hopefully will be able to have you back as our guest again. Please contact us in advance so we can make sure to arrange the room with the spectacular view.

Kind regards,

Hotel Colón -Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

A traditional hotel with imposing features and situation facing Barcelona Cathedral. The room was large and well appointed. Restaurant was worth visiting on one evening with live pianist providing discreet entertainment. Unfortunatey most people ate on terrace which resulted in us being only diners that evening - menu was value for money .

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Glasann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear guest,

How lovely of you to take the time and share such a kind review with the rest of the TripAdvisor community! We are happy to learn you enjoyed the time spent with us.

Besides our strategic location, comfortable rooms and classical approach to our decor, we must say we are very proud of our team, working hard to make of your stay with us a wonderful experience.

We do encourage all our guests to come dine with us at our exquisite restaurant. Our chefs will make sure to delight you with some of their most spectacular creations.

Please let us know next time you are in town, we would be delighted to have you stay with us once again.

Kind regards,

Hotel Colón - Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews