We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Colon Hotel
Ranked #78 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We loved the location and the Gothic Quarter, would highly recommend this neighborhood to anyone visiting Barcelona. Stayed 3 nights in a junior suite overlooking the cathedral and the room was spacious. The furniture is a bit dated but that didn't bother us at all. We were hoping that the sofa bed would be more comfortable but it had the typical 3 inch mattress. The staff was lovely and quickly attended to our needs. We flew in and out of Barcelona and for our last two nights stayed in the Exiample area and we really preferred the Gothic Quarter. We really enjoyed the views from our three balconies although they were small. It was noisy some nights but again that was not a big issue for us.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parislover_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other fellow travelers.

The Colon Hotel location is strategic for leisure travelers, all the main touristic attraction in the down town area are just blocks away, and it takes you a few minutes to go from shopping in Plaza Cataluña.

Now, if walking is not your cup of tea, the easy-to-use metro system will take you were you want faster than you can say "I love Barcelona", and the nearest metro station is only 3 minutes away from the hotel. And as you pointed out in your review: having the Cathedral as a view.. Breathtaking!.

We would love to have you as our guest once again the next time you visit our wonderful city, so please don´t hesitate in contacting us in advance!.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    705
    162
    55
    29
See reviews for
415
782
145
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

My favourite hotel in my favourite city. Location is excellent, opposite the gothic cathedral and a 10-minute walk from Placa de Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The reception staff are helpful and friendly. Some of the rooms are a bit quirky but all have bath and shower, minibar, room safe, air con, double glazing and plenty of wardrobe space and drawers. Discounts available for early booking (www.hotelcolon.es).

Room Tip: Only some doubles/twins have a cathedral view. Some singles overlook what the hotel calls a courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H11LSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boca raton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Directly across from the cathedral, in the middle of the Gothic Quarter and steps from the
Born, this hotel couldn't be in better position for excursions and eating. The rooms are clean
and the bathrooms well-appointed. The rooms with the terrace are wonderful for relaxing and
great views of the cathedral square. Each concierge was helpful and the tour buses stop
right at the corner. We stayed during a festival and enjoyed all the festivities right beneath
our terrace!

Room Tip: room 604 has a huge, well appointed terrace but a somewhat smaller room than one with French balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanieboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Guest:

First of all we´d like to thank you for you stay at the Hotel Colon. We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and that you appreciated our facilities, as well as our team’s efficient and friendly service.

It is true; in a big city like ours location is a key element when it comes to maximizing exciting experiences. We are located right in the mythical Barri Gotic.
The pleasure of visiting most of downtown attractions by foot, and just let yourself wander down the historical - yet modern- Barcelona.

We would love to have you stay with us on your next visit, so please don´t hesitate in contacting us. We look forward to see you again!.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
253 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Colon for four nights, from September 30th thru October 4th. We booked a room on the 6th floor that had an outside terrace almost as large as the room, and we used it for impromptu meals, as we don't like to eat all of our meals in restaurants. The desk clerks were always helpful and courteous. We walked to almost every site there was in Barcelona from this hotel, which may have been pushing it a bit. We walked to three of Gaudi's famous buildings, Casa Batllo, Casa Mila, and La Sagrada Familia Cathedral, all in one morning from our hotel, and after lunch the same day, walked up to the Parc Guell. This was a bit difficult since you are walking up hill, but it was worth it. We decided to take a taxi back to our hotel, and it cost less than 10 Euros to do so. We took a half day of riding on the Hop on Hop off bus to see parts of the city that were too far to walk to. Later in the week, we walked to the seaside, going down La Rambla to the monument with Christopher Columbus on top, continuing our walk along the water to the beaches. Took us a couple of hours but we were in no hurry. Great places to eat near the hotel. We went to 4Gats, only three blocks away, and to restaurants along the port, where hundreds of sailing boats are moored, within 25 minutes walking from the hotel. We walked to the Zoo and to the Picasso museum, again within 20 minutes of the hotel. It's location directly across the pedestrian square in front of the old Cathedral, makes this the best location in town. It was a bit high in cost for the room, but I knew that before making the reservation. We got a discount for booking more than 4 weeks ahead of our arrival date. The taxi from the airport was just over 35 Euros, including bag fees, and the ride was less than 30 minutes in traffic. Barcelona is a great city to visit, and the Colon Hotel is a great place to stay. Unfortunately, I cannot comment on their restaurant, as we did not dine there for any meal.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the views. As far as I can tell, all rooms face the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your stay at the Hotel Colon and for sharing your impressions and insider tips with fellow travelers on TripAdvisor.

As you described above, for any leisure traveler interested in a long or a just-passing-by visit to Barcelona, our hotel is definitely an excellent choice: we are located in the downtown area, only minutes away from shops, restaurants and many other hotspots.

If you find yourself planning your next stop-over in Barcelona (or hopefully a longer visit), please don't hesitate in contacting us. We would love to have you back as a guest!.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September. For a 4 star hotel I found the service average and hotel overpriced. We stayed 2 nights & rubbish left on the stairs remained there for our entire trip. The hotel could use a good clean. Breakfast was average. Location is good. Would look elsewhere for accommodation, we also stayed at a 3 star hotel on Las Ramblas which was a better location, better priced & cleaner. Look elsewhere for a hotel in Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnie8862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your stay at the Hotel Colon and for sharing your impressions and insider tips with fellow travellers on TripAdvisor. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants.

We have taken note of your comments and we´ve passed it along to the department in charge so they can take proper action.

We would love to see you again next time you are in town. Hopefully you´ll give us a chance to show you our improvements.

Looking forward to hearing from you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We changed hotels from another suggested as it was too far out of town. This hotel is in the perfect location and we booked one of the suites that over look the Cathedral with a terrace. Specticular view! The location was excellent and we had no complaints about the service or the facilities. We loved Barcelona and when we go back we will definitely stay at the Colon Hotel--and can't imagine any hotel in Barcelona being better located or more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Go for the suite with a terrace--it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at the Colon Hotel and your kind feedback.
We are glad to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service and enjoyed our facilities.

As you said our hotel is definitely an excellent choice: we are located in the downtown area, only minutes away from shops, restaurants and many other hotspots.

We would love to have you as our guest once more.
Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

we took the aerobus from the airport to the city center. walked for 3 minutes to the hotel located right in the barcelona cathedral square. No frills in this hotel. You check in they give you a map and make your day trips and come back to rest. Very helpful with the information to get around Barcelona. subways within reach. we did not take a taxi anywhere. No coffee machine. Our room was on the top overlooking the cathedral and the square. It was very interesting to watch everyone and we had an excellent time.

Room Tip: higher floors have better veiws
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winefrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at Colon Hotel in Barcelona and your explanatory feedback.

As you described in your comment for any leisure traverler interested in visiting many cultural attractions our hotel is an excellent choice.

We look forward to having you with us on your next trip to Barcelona.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#97 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,606 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#65 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#46 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Property: Colon Hotel
Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#59 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colón is a classic and traditional 4 stars hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona, right opposite the Gothic Cathedral. It was founded in 1951 and during its 90 plus years of history, it has housed big names such as Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Jean Paul Sartre, Sofía Loren, Jane Fonda, Francis Ford Coppola, Santiago Calatrava, and Arata Isozaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing