We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashioned comfort”
Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Colon Hotel
Ranked #78 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Old fashioned comfort”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a lovely room overlooking the cathedral square for our six night stay. We enjoyed being able to observe some of the interesting activities in the square, such as the circle dancing on Saturday evening. Our room could get a bit stuffy, so we thought of leaving the floor length windows on our balcony slightly open at night. However, we found that too noisy - not from activities in the square, but from the cathedral bells ringing every fifteen minutes. Closing the balcony doors muffled all sounds very well, and noise did not bother our sleep. The bed was very comfortable and the room was kept very clean. The buffet breakfast which came with our room was excellent, with enough variety that we enjoyed it all six mornings. The evening price-fixed meal was also very good on our first day when jet lag made going out unappealing. There is some merit in the criticism in a recent review of the front desk staff. They were polite, pleasant and professional, but we were not encouraged to ask for extra services. There seemed to be many mature men who staffed the desk, and altho we were there for six nights, we never learned anyone's name other than the friendly bell staff. The great location helped make our week in Barcelona a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Do not be discouraged from chosing a room overlooking the square because of noise. The square is bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest:

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our facilities, as well as our team’s efficient and friendly service. At Hotel Colón we like to take care of our guests so they can get the best possible experience while visiting Barcelona.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other fellow travelers with such a detailed post. It will be a real pleasure to have you stay back at the hotel next time you visit Barcelona.

We look forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    715
    162
    57
    30
See reviews for
421
803
147
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The position of this hotel couldn't be more pleasant, facing the front door of the beautiful cathedral. The room, for our four night stay was pleasant and comfortable: we chose to be on the back of the hotel to avoid noise in the cathedral square. For us to have comfortable chairs on which to sit - is crucial and the Colon had them. A very generous balcony was the perfect place to relax after a day of sightseeing.
Interesting to read "friendly staff" in other reviews. The two bell staff were the most helpful to us.
We were surprised by the lack of assistance from the mature male reception staff. E.g. Could you please assist us with getting tickets to the Familia Sagrada? we asked. No! The response from one of the grey haired men at Reception. Um, er ... Uh, could you tell us how we might do that? Our friends who were in Barcelona recently said to ask at our hotel. No! We can't help! Later a young woman who spoke good English was at the desk and we asked her assistance ... which she generously gave. Yes if we could get the tickets and forward the PDF file to her she'd be happy to print them for us. We had several similar experiences with the male staff which was perplexing in a 4 star hotel! ( we wondered who chooses how many stars and what they truly mean ... We' d never really thought of it before!). The cafe across the square named the Bisbee had good meals at non astronomical prices. We understand a roof garden is under construction.

Room Tip: If you are troubled by noise, ask for a room away from the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest:

From all of us here at Hotel Colón, we´d like to thank you for choosing us for your stay while in Barcelona. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants.
We've took a note about the front desk staff and we´ve passed it along to the department in charge so they can take proper action.

On the other hand, we are happy to learn you took advantage of our top-notch location to enjoy the many touristic attractions this wonderful city has to offer. From your review we can tell you made the most of it!
We would love to see you again next time you are in town. Hopefully you´ll give us a chance to show you our improvements!


Looking forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at Colon Hotel for two nights in April, 2014. Our room on the 5th floor had a lovely view of the Barcelona Cathedral. The location is perfect, within walking distance of practically everything we wanted to see. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckyinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Colón and your kind feedback. We are honored to know we inspired you to leave a comment for the first time.
For any leisure traveler interested in visiting Barcelona's many cultural and tourist attractions, our hotel is definitely an excellent choice, you´ll find La Sagrada Familia just a few minutes away, as well as many restaurants, bars and shops.

We look forward to having you stay with us on your next trip to Barcelona.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed one night at the Hotel Colon. I can not fault the service, the room and the fantastic view over the square towards the cathedral. My only disappointment was that the room was not ready when we arrived and we would have benefitted from a freshen up after our flight before spending a day sightseeing in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Colón and your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our amenities and facilities. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants.

We look forward to accommodating you , so please don´t hesitate in contacting us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateshead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel is in a great location where day to day there is a hub of activity in the Cathedral square. The different routes that we took to explore the city from the hotel were just a short distance in each direction to great shopping and eating areas. The hotel building itself compliments the architecture of the city's superb buildings. Facilities in the hotel were great as were the hotel's staff, who were very friendly and could not do enough to help. The rooms were clean, tidy and spacious with great shower room facilities and the free wifi service was much appreciated. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thanks for staying with us at Hotel Colón. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service and enjoyed your stay in Barcelona. For us it is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy while with us.

As you remarked in your comment we are strategically located near the Plaza de la Catedral, Plaza Catalunya, and las Ramblas, with numerous restaurants, bars, museums, and clubs within walking distance. And for a change in scenery, our “easy-to-use” public transportation will take you to virtually all other attractions in the city in minutes.

We´ll be looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is wonderfully placed, right in front of the Cathedral. It is in the very heart of the Gothic area and therefore it is perfect to explore it on foot. On the negative side, I'd say that they are expensive (i.e. you pay just for the location and the view); the décor is a bit tired especially in the communal areas, the internet connection is often lost and it is very slow. Service is hit and miss, it depends on who you deal with. We had the superior room with terrace and view on the Cathedral; absolutely superb. However, when we got it it was stuffy and hot (indicating that it had not been used for a while, but more importantly that they did not prepare it for us). In my opinion, it is a bit overpriced, unless you care for nothing but the view and the location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catello L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest:

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service, as well as our facilities. At Hotel Colón we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Barcelona.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at TripAdvisor with such kind comment. Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city, since we´d love the chance to accommodate you, once more.

We look forward to see you again!
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hotel is ideally located for any short trip to visit and explore Barcelona in the heart of the old town. It is right in the piazza with the Cathedral, within walking steps to Las Ramblas, and Opera house amongst other things. Just visited the hotel prior to Easter week for three days/three nights. The staff was very friendly and consistently helpful. David and the fellow night staff on those three nights were beyond helpful by suggesting places to eat, routes to take with the buses and trains, providing information to local attractions, and being friendly faces during a trip. Hotel has a restaurant with an outdoor seating area that was perfect for absorbing the culture, especially on Saturday afternoon and Sunday mornings where traditional Catalan music and dancing is performed—a true treat! The only cons were the slower wifi in and around the hotel and the the lack of included breakfast thanks to our booking arrangement (through hotels.com and eventually expedia). Do call the hotel and check before you go just to secure this feature. No fear, there is a wonderful chocolate shop around the corner for breakfast or directly across the way for coffee, breakfast and meals all day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranciDora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your stay at the Hotel Colón and for sharing your impressions and insider tips with fellow travellers on TripAdvisor. Guest reviews are a gift to us for they allow us to check the level of service we wish to deliver against the service perceived by our guests.
Next time you plan to visit our city, please let us know in advance and we´ll be happy to arrange any especial request you might have.

We look forward to accommodating you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,670 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#68 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#48 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#41 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#32 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#24 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Property: Colon Hotel
Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#59 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colón is a classic and traditional 4 stars hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona, right opposite the Gothic Cathedral. It was founded in 1951 and during its 90 plus years of history, it has housed big names such as Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Jean Paul Sartre, Sofía Loren, Jane Fonda, Francis Ford Coppola, Santiago Calatrava, and Arata Isozaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing